Jan. 4-8, 2021

What happened last week

Markets hit record highs despite the riot at the U.S. Capitol

In stark contrast to last week’s distressing events in Washington, D.C., North American financial markets remained upbeat as investors looked past the rioting to focus on the long-term implications of the Democratic Party winning control of both houses of the U.S. Congress.

On Monday, despite pre-market activity that pointed toward sharp gains on the first day of 2021 trading, the Dow Jones Industrial Average and the S&P 500 closed with their biggest declines dating back to Oct. 28. The Nasdaq also took a tumble, while Canada’s TSX remained the lone major North American index to close in positive territory. In an unpredictable week, the days that followed saw markets turn upward and reach record highs.

Georgia Senate election results shifted the balance of power in the U.S. Congress

Leading all nations with the highest rate of COVID-19 infections and deaths, the United States continues to grapple with the pandemic that has put millions of Americans out of work. With the Democratic party promising to raise stimulus cheques if they won the two open Senate seats in Georgia’s Jan. 6 runoff election, markets bounced back Tuesday as investors bet on a Democratic sweep and a much-needed economic boost. The Democratic win, which became official on Wednesday, saw Georgia elect their first black senator, Rev. Raphael Warnock, and the youngest senator since Joe Biden, Jon Ossoff. But this news was overshadowed by the actions of a pro-Trump mob that stormed Capitol Hill the same day.

Unfazed by the riot, markets surged to record highs on Wednesday and Thursday, with the Dow breaking the 31,000 level (with its fastest 1,000 point-gain), the S&P 500 surpassing 3,800 points for the first time, the Nasdaq closing above 13,000 points, and Canada’s TSX climbing over the 18,000-point threshold to set its first record since the pandemic started. Reuters and Bloomberg reports both suggested that investors believed the Capitol riot – even though tragic and drawing worldwide condemnation – was an isolated event without long-term implications for the U.S. economy. Instead, the Democratic wins in Georgia, along with Joe Biden’s formal recognition as the next U.S. President, removed lingering uncertainty about the future leadership of the world’s largest economy. A statement from President Donald Trump (after the riot) promising a peaceful transition of power on Jan. 20 helped solidify the situation further.


The stock and bond market*
INDEX CLOSE WEEK YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 18,042.07 3.49% 3.49%
Dow Jones Industrial Avg. 31,097.97 1.61% 1.61%
S&P 500 Index 3,824.68 1.83% 1.83%
NASDAQ Composite 13,201.98 2.43% 2.43%
10-yr GoC Yield 0.81% 0.14% 0.14%
10-yr U.S. Treasury Yield 1.13% 0.20% 0.20%
WTI Crude Oil (US$/bbl) 52.24 7.67% 7.67%
Canadian Dollar US$0.7871 0.22% 0.22%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 2.45%

*Weekly performance ending Jan. 8, 2021. Sources: www.bloomberg.com, www.bankofcanada.ca and www.treasury.gov.


What’s ahead

U.S. economic data: Several reports, to be released this week, will offer insight into different aspects of the U.S. economy, including inflation, oil and energy supply, housing, trade, employment, retail sales and manufacturing

Circle these dates

  • Jan. 20: Inauguration of Joe Biden as President of the United States
  • • Jan. 20: Bank of Canada interest-rate announcement and Monetary Policy Report
  • • Jan. 26-27: U.S. Federal Reserve meetings and statement

Key take-away

Take the emotion out of it. Sound investment decisions depend on logic, whereas poor investing is most often the result of emotion. Investing in a philosophy and process that makes sense long-term provides peace of mind, knowing your investments can perform through any type of market scenario.


This article is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this article constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice.

Mutual funds are offered through Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. Segregated funds and annuities are administered by Co-operators Life Insurance Company. Co-operators Life Insurance Company and Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. are committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information that we collect, use, retain and disclose in the course of conducting our business. Please refer to our privacy policy for more information.

The Co-operators® is a registered trademark of The Co-operators Group Limited and is used with permission.

du 4 au 8 janvier 2021

Les dernières nouvelles

Les marchés ont atteint des sommets records malgré les émeutes au Capitole américain

Marquant un contraste saisissant avec les événements perturbants qui ont secoué Washington la semaine dernière, les marchés financiers nord-américains sont restés optimistes alors que les investisseurs, au-delà des émeutes, se sont concentrés sur les conséquences à long terme de la victoire du Parti démocrate sur les deux chambres du Congrès américain.

Lundi, malgré une activité préalable à l’ouverture des marchés annonciatrice de fortes hausses le premier jour de l’année 2021, le Dow Jones Industrial Average et le S&P 500 encaissaient à la clôture leurs pires baisses depuis le 28 octobre. Le Nasdaq a également perdu des plumes, tandis que l’indice TSX du Canada était le seul grand indice nord-américain à terminer la journée en territoire positif. Au cours d’une semaine imprévisible, les marchés se sont redressés dans les jours suivants pour atteindre des records.

Les résultats de l’élection sénatoriale en Géorgie ont modifié l’équilibre des pouvoirs au sein du Congrès américain

Aux prises avec le plus haut taux d’infections et de décès causés par la COVID-19 au monde, les États-Unis continuent de lutter contre la pandémie qui a mis des millions d’Américains au chômage. Avec la promesse du Parti démocrate d’augmenter les chèques de relance s’il remportait les deux sièges ouverts au Sénat lors du deuxième tour des élections du 6 janvier en Géorgie, les marchés ont rebondi mardi, les investisseurs ayant misé sur une victoire démocrate et un coup de pouce économique bien nécessaire. Avec la victoire des démocrates devenue officielle mercredi, la Géorgie a élu son premier sénateur noir, le révérend Raphael Warnock, et son plus jeune sénateur depuis Joe Biden, Jon Ossoff. Toutefois, la nouvelle a été éclipsée par les actions d’une foule pro-Trump qui a pris d’assaut le Capitole ce même jour.

En revanche, les marchés ne se sont pas laissé ébranler par l’émeute et ont atteint des niveaux records mercredi et jeudi : le Dow Jones a franchi la barre des 31 000 points (avec sa plus rapide progression de 1 000 points), l’indice S&P 500 a dépassé pour la première fois les 3 800 points, le Nasdaq a clôturé au-dessus de 13 000 points et l’indice TSX canadien a franchi le seuil des 18 000 points pour établir son premier record depuis le début de la pandémie. Selon les rapports de Reuters et de Bloomberg, les investisseurs estiment que l’émeute du Capitole – bien que tragique et condamnée dans le monde entier – constituait un événement isolé sans conséquence à long terme pour l’économie américaine. Au lieu de cela, la victoire des démocrates en Géorgie, ainsi que la reconnaissance officielle de Joe Biden comme prochain président des États-Unis, ont levé l’incertitude qui subsistait quant à l’orientation future de la plus grande économie mondiale. Une déclaration du président Donald Trump (après les émeutes) promettant une transition pacifique du pouvoir le 20 janvier a contribué à consolider la situation.


 
Marché boursier et obligataire*
INDICE CLÔTURE SEMAINE CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S P/TSX 18 042,07 3.49 % 3.49 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 31 097,971,61 % 1,61 %
Indice S&P 3 824,68 1,83 % 1,83 %
Indice composé NASDAQ 13 201,98 2,43 % 2,43 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 0,81 % 0,14 % 0,14 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 1,13 % 0,20 % 0,20 %
Cours du pétrole brut WTI ($ US/baril) 52,24 7,67 % 7,67 %
Dollar canadien 0,7871 $ US  0,22 % 0,22 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada : 2,45 %

* Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 8 janvier 2021. Sources : www.bloomberg.com, www.banqueducanada.ca et www.treasury.gov.


Ce qui nous attend

Données sur l’économie américaine  : Plusieurs rapports attendus cette semaine offriront un aperçu dans différents aspects de l’économie américaine, notamment l’inflation, les réserves pétrolières et énergétiques, l’immobilier, le commerce, l’emploi, les ventes au détail et le secteur de la fabrication.

Dates importantes

  • 20 janvier : Investiture de Joe Biden comme président des États-Unis
  • 20 janvier : Annonce du taux directeur par la Banque du Canada et publication du Rapport sur la politique monétaire
  • 26-27 janvier : Réunions et déclaration de la Réserve fédérale américaine

À retenir

Ne vous laissez pas guider par les émotions. Les bonnes décisions de placement reposent sur un raisonnement logique, alors que les mauvaises se prennent souvent sur le coup de l’émotion. Le fait d’investir selon une philosophie et une approche viables à long terme procure une certaine tranquillité d’esprit aux investisseurs, sachant que vos placements sont solides, peu importe l’actualité sur les marchés.


Cet article se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres.

Les fonds communs de placement sont offerts par l’intermédiaire de Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. Les fonds distincts et les rentes sont administrés par Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie. Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie et Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. s’engagent à protéger la vie privée de leurs clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de leurs affaires. Veuillez consulter politique de protection des renseignements personnels pour en savoir plus.

Co-operatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co-operators limitée, utilisée avec permission.