Jan. 25-29, 2021

What happened last week

GameStop stock saga overshadowed corporate-earnings and economic updates

It was a wild week that saw North American equity markets absorb a barrage of fourth-quarter corporate-earnings reports, the first U.S. Federal Reserve economic update for 2021, and shares of retail outlet GameStop surge 412%. All three stories played a role in the markets’ dramatic swings, but most eyes were fixed on GameStop and the controversy it generated.

With 65% of S&P 500 companies expected to release fourth-quarter earnings reports between Jan. 25 and Feb. 5, investors were in wait-and-see mode to start the week. On Monday, optimism picked up throughout the day, led by gains in Microsoft, Facebook and Apple stocks (pushing the S&P 500 and Nasdaq to record highs). Trading proved to be choppy over the week’s first two trading sessions, however. Investors looking for clues regarding the direction of the U.S. economy received indicators on Wednesday, in the U.S. Federal Reserve’s (the Fed’s) first policy update of the year, and in earnings reports from corporate heavyweights, like Apple, Tesla and Facebook (all of which beat expectations).

The Fed held its key interest rate steady

As analysts expected, the central bank held its key interest rate near zero and continued its bond-buying program at the current pace of US$120 billion in purchases per month. But markets still saw a significant pull-back on Wednesday, after the Fed released its statement: “The pace of the recovery in economic activity and employment has moderated in recent months, with weakness concentrated in the sectors most adversely affected by the pandemic.” In a press conference after the meeting, Chairman Jerome Powell added, “You cannot adapt motels, sports venues, movie theaters, restaurants, bars. That is millions and millions of people. You are just going to have to defeat the pandemic ... We have not done it yet. We need to finish the job. It is within our power to do that as a country this year.” While this wasn’t the only factor negatively affecting markets on Wednesday, all four of the major North American benchmark stock exchanges tumbled more than 2% by the closing bell – their worst collective performance in months.

GameStop drama continued to play out through the week

From the Reddit forum WallStreetBets (where much of the story originates) up to the White House, the GameStop story echoed far beyond financial circles. Likened to David vs. Goliath, or Main Street vs. Wall Street, the story picked up steam on Monday, as investors and analysts – watching GameStop shares suddenly surge – opened the discussion on “froth in the market,” a phrase used to describe the scenario when asset prices are believed to be higher than their true value. On Wednesday, GameStop shares then surged another 135%, ballooning its market capitalization to US$24 billion. Meanwhile, hedge funds that bet on the share price falling (or short selling) are believed to have lost US$5 billion so far this year, according to research firm S3. The resulting controversy has reached the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; on Wednesday, the commission said that it was “aware of and actively monitoring” the situation. President Joe Biden’s economic team also said it was monitoring developments.

On Thursday, GameStop's remarkable six-day rally came to a dramatic stop, losing nearly US$11 billion in market value – after Robinhood Markets, Interactive Brokers Group Inc., and other online brokers took action to curb the trading of the stock (and other surging stocks, including AMC Entertainment and Canada's own Blackberry) on their respective trading apps. This sent the GameStop stock down 44%, while triggering multiple volatility-related trading halts on the NYSE. In a swift reversal, many brokerages said that they would ease restrictions on Friday, opening the door for another surge. The ongoing volatility led to another day of steep losses for North American markets.


The stock and bond market*
INDEX CLOSE WEEK YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 17,337.03 -2.85% -0.55%
Dow Jones Industrial Avg. 29,982.62 -3.27% -2.04%
S&P 500 Index 3,714.24 -3.31% -1.11%
NASDAQ Composite 13,070.69 -3.49% 1.42%
10-yr GoC Yield 0.84% 0.00% 0.17%
10-yr U.S. Treasury Yield 1.11% 0.01% 0.18%
WTI Crude Oil (US$/bbl) 52.14 0.31% 7.46%
Canadian Dollar US$0.7825 -0.50% -0.37%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 2.45%

*Weekly performance ending Jan. 29, 2021. Sources: www.bloomberg.com, www.bankofcanada.ca and www.treasury.gov.


What’s ahead

Canadian and U.S. trade-deficit data for December. In November, Canada’s trade deficit narrowed to $3.34 billion, from a downwardly revised $3.73 billion in October. The U.S. trade deficit expanded to US$68.1 billion from $63.1 billion (the biggest trade gap since August 2006). Both countries are scheduled to release December’s figures this week.

Circle these dates

  • Feb 15: North American markets closed for holidays
  • March 16-17: U.S. Federal Open Market Committee meeting
  • April 2: North American markets closed for Good Friday
  • Apr. 30: 2020 income tax filing deadline

Key take-away

Be informed (not influenced) by the news: Media and news reports can be informative and beneficial, but they shouldn’t be a driving force in your decision-making around investing. Market performance always needs to be put into perspective, with your goals at the centre. Speaking with a financial representative can add far greater value than merely following the headlines.


This article is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this article constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice.

Mutual funds are offered through Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. Segregated funds and annuities are administered by Co-operators Life Insurance Company. Co-operators Life Insurance Company and Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. are committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information that we collect, use, retain and disclose in the course of conducting our business. Please refer to our privacy policy for more information.

The Co-operators® is a registered trademark of The Co-operators Group Limited and is used with permission.

Du 25 au 29 janvier 2021

Les dernières nouvelles

La saga des actions GameStop a éclipsé les résultats des entreprises et les mises à jour économiques

Les marchés boursiers nord-américains ont connu une semaine folle au cours de laquelle ils ont dû absorber un déferlement de rapports des résultats pour le quatrième trimestre, la première mise à jour économique de la Réserve fédérale américaine pour 2021 et la hausse de 412 % des parts des magasins de détail GameStop. Ces trois événements ont joué un rôle dans les fluctuations spectaculaires des marchés, mais la plupart des regards étaient tournés vers la controverse suscitée par GameStop.

Les investisseurs ont commencé la semaine en mode attentiste alors que 65 % des sociétés du S&P 500 devaient publier leurs résultats du quatrième trimestre entre le 25 janvier et le 5 février. Lundi, ils ont connu un regain d’optimisme tout au long de la journée, stimulés par les gains des actions de Microsoft, Facebook et Apple (qui ont propulsé les indices S&P 500 et Nasdaq à des records). Les deux premières séances de bourse de la semaine ont toutefois été mouvementées. La première mise à jour de la politique de l’année de la Réserve fédérale américaine (la Fed) et les rapports des résultats des géants comme Apple, Tesla et Facebook (qui ont tous dépassé les attentes) ont donné mercredi des indicateurs aux investisseurs à la recherche d’indices quant à l’orientation de l’économie américaine.

La Fed a maintenu son taux directeur

Comme s’y attendaient les analystes, la banque centrale a maintenu son taux directeur près de zéro et a poursuivi son programme d’achat d’obligations au rythme actuel de 120 milliards de dollars d’achats par mois. Cependant, la déclaration de la Fed a tout de même entraîné un repli significatif des marchés mercredi : « Le rythme de la reprise de l’activité économique et de l’emploi s’est modéré ces derniers mois, la faiblesse étant concentrée dans les secteurs les plus durement touchés par la pandémie. » Lors d’une conférence de presse à l’issue de la réunion, le président Jerome Powell a déclaré : « Vous ne pouvez pas adapter les hôtels, les salles de sport, les cinémas, les restaurants, les bars. Cela représente des millions et des millions de personnes. Et donc vous allez juste devoir vaincre la pandémie. » Il a ajouté que la lutte n’était pas terminée et qu’il fallait finir le travail, mais qu’il était dans le pouvoir du pays d’y parvenir cette année. Bien que ce ne soit pas le seul facteur à avoir eu une incidence négative sur les marchés mercredi, les quatre principales bourses de référence nord-américaines ont perdu plus de 2 % à la clôture, leur pire performance collective depuis des mois.

L’histoire de GameStop a connu des rebondissements tout au long de la semaine

Depuis le forum de Reddit WallStreetBets (à l’origine d’une grande partie de l’histoire) jusqu’à la Maison-Blanche, l’histoire de GameStop a résonné bien au-delà des cercles financiers. Comparée à David et Goliath, l’histoire a pris de l’ampleur lundi, lorsque les investisseurs et les analystes – en voyant les actions GameStop monter en flèche – ont ouvert la discussion sur les « bulles » du marché, une expression utilisée pour décrire un scénario dans lequel les prix des actifs sont considérés être plus élevés que leur valeur réelle. Mercredi, les actions GameStop ont encore grimpé de 135 %, gonflant leur capitalisation boursière à 24 milliards de dollars américains. Pendant ce temps, les fonds spéculatifs qui parient sur la baisse du prix des actions (ou la vente à découvert) auraient perdu 19,75 milliards de dollars américains depuis le début de l’année, selon le cabinet de recherche S3. La controverse qui en résulte est parvenue à la Commission américaine des opérations de bourse (Securities and Exchange Commission), qui a déclaré mercredi qu’elle était consciente de la situation, qu’elle surveillait activement. L’équipe économique du président Joe Biden a également déclaré qu’elle suivait l’évolution de la situation.

Jeudi, la remarquable reprise de six jours de GameStop s’est interrompue brutalement, pour perdre près de 11 milliards de dollars américains en valeur marchande – après que Robinhood Markets, Interactive Brokers Group Inc. et d’autres courtiers en ligne aient pris des mesures pour freiner les opérations sur le titre (et d’autres actions en hausse, dont AMC Entertainment et la société canadienne Blackberry) sur leurs applications respectives. Le titre de GameStop a ainsi chuté de 44 %, tout en déclenchant de nombreuses interruptions des échanges pour cause de volatilité à la Bourse de New York. Faisant volte-face, de nombreuses maisons de courtage ont déclaré qu’elles comptaient assouplir les restrictions le vendredi, ouvrant ainsi la voie à une nouvelle flambée. La volatilité persistante a provoqué une autre journée de pertes prononcées sur les marchés boursiers nord-américains.


Marché boursier et obligataire*
INDICE CLÔTURE SEMAINE CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S&P/TSX 17 337,03 -2,85 % -0,55 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 29 982,62 -3,27 % -2,04 %
Indice S&P 3 714,24 -3,31 % -1,11 %
Indice composé NASDAQ 13 070,69 -3,49 % 1,42 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 0,84 % 0,00 % 0,17 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 1,11 % 0,01 % 0,18 %
Cours du pétrole brut WT I ($ US/baril) 52,14 0,31 % 7,46 %
Dollar canadien 0,7825 $ US  -0,50 % -0,37 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada : 2,45 %

* Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 29 janvier 2021. Sources : www.bloomberg.com, www.banqueducanada.ca et www.treasury.gov.


Ce qui nous attend

Données sur le déficit commercial du Canada et des États-Unis pour décembre. En novembre, le déficit commercial du Canada a baissé à 3,34 milliards de dollars, comparativement à 3,73 milliards de dollars en octobre. Le déficit commercial des États-Unis s’est creusé de 63,1 à 68,1 milliards de dollars (la pire chute depuis août 2006). Les deux pays devraient publier leurs résultats pour décembre cette semaine.

Dates importantes

  • 15 février : Clôture des marchés boursiers nord-américains pour le jour férié
  • 16-17 mars : Réunion du Comité de politique monétaire de la Réserve fédérale
  • 2 avril : Clôture des marchés boursiers nord-américains pour le jour férié du Vendredi saint
  • 30 avril : Date limite de dépôt des déclarations de revenus de 2020

À retenir

Utilisez l’actualité pour rester informé (et non pour prendre vos décisions) : Gardez en tête que les médias et les reportages peuvent être informatifs et utiles, mais qu’ils ne devraient pas gouverner vos décisions de placement. Le rendement des marchés doit toujours être mis en perspective dans le contexte de vos objectifs. Dès lors, il peut être beaucoup plus profitable de parler à un représentant que de se contenter de suivre l’actualité.


Cet article se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres.

Les fonds communs de placement sont offerts par l’intermédiaire de Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. Les fonds distincts et les rentes sont administrés par Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie. Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie et Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. s’engagent à protéger la vie privée de leurs clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de leurs affaires. Veuillez consulter notre politique de protection des renseignements personnels pour en savoir plus.

Co-operatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co-operators limitée, utilisée avec permission.