Jan. 18-22, 2021

What happened last week

Markets welcomed a change in leadership for the U.S. economy

North American stock markets hit record highs mid-week as Joe Biden became the 46th President of the United States. The positive performance also stemmed from optimism that the new administration’s proposed US$1.9 trillion pandemic relief package will soon get congressional approval, well-received senate testimony from Treasury Secretary nominee Janet Yellen, and strong fourth quarter corporate earnings reports.

On Monday, with U.S. markets closed for Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Canada’s S&P/TSX Composite stood as the lone North American market in action, gaining 35 points on the strength of the health care and technology sectors. China’s fourth quarter economic results, which beat expectations and helped the country’s gross domestic product grow by 2.3% in 2020, also factored in Monday’s headlines. China was the only major economy to avoid contraction last year.

Pandemic relief and corporate earnings supported inauguration highs

All eyes were on Janet Yellen’s confirmation hearing before the Senate Finance Committee on Tuesday. In her testimony, the former chairperson of the U.S. Federal Reserve said, “Without further action we risk a longer, more painful recession now and longer-term scarring of the economy later.” She encouraged Senate lawmakers to “act big” on coronavirus relief plans. Yellen also downplayed concern that President Biden would raise taxes – a major criticism during his campaign. Yellen said, as Treasury Secretary, she wouldn’t pursue a complete repeal of Donald Trump’s 2017 tax cuts, but corporations and the wealthy “need to pay their fair share.” All four major North American indexes closed in positive territory.

As President Biden was sworn in on Wednesday, markets gathered steam with the Dow Jones Industrial Average and the S&P 500 both capturing their best inauguration-day gains since President Ronald Reagan took office in 1985. For the Nasdaq, it was the best inauguration-day on record, though it also received a boost from Netflix’s fourth quarter earnings report. The company, which now has over 200 million subscribers, reported enough revenue to finance its day-to-day operations without borrowing and creating debt.

Markets remained near record highs on Thursday but slipped Friday on escalating concerns related to COVID-19 and lockdown restrictions.

President Biden revoked the permit allowing the Keystone XL extension

One of President Biden’s first actions was to sign an executive order revoking the Keystone XL pipeline extension permit. The cancellation of the on-again, off-again project has implications that reach the heart of Canada’s energy sector. In a press conference, Alberta Premier Jason Kenney said, “This is a gut punch to the Alberta and Canadian economies.” Former President Donald Trump reinstated the permit in 2019 (reversing an Obama administration cancellation). The Alberta government then invested US$1.1 billion of taxpayer money into construction of the pipeline to transport up to 830,000 barrels of oil per day from Alberta to Nebraska. In a statement from Ottawa, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said, “We are disappointed, but acknowledge the President’s decision to fulfill his election campaign promise on Keystone XL.”

The Bank of Canada held its benchmark rate at 0.25%

In the first meeting of eight planned for 2021 to set its benchmark rate, Canada’s central bank kept its benchmark rate at 0.25%, upheld the current pace of its bond-buying program at $4 billion per week, and reconfirmed the economy is on a two-year timeline to fully recovery. While the bank’s economic growth estimate for 2021 remained relatively stable, its outlook for 2022 jumped from 3.7% to 4.8%, indicating a more positive vision for next year. Access to the COVID-19 vaccine and a ramped-up timeline for inoculations were the main factors for the improved 2022 forecast. Speaking to reporters, Bank of Canada Governor, Tiff Macklem, said, “There is clear reason to be more optimistic about the direction of the economy over the medium term, but we're not there yet. The resurgence in COVID-19 cases weighs heavily on the near-term economic outlook.”


The stock and bond market*
INDEX CLOSE WEEK YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 17,845.91 -0.35% 2.37%
Dow Jones Industrial Avg. 30,996.98 0.59% 1.28%
S&P 500 Index 3,841.47 1.94% 2.27%
NASDAQ Composite 13,543.06 4.19% 5.08%
10-yr GoC Yield 0.84% 0.03% 0.17%
10-yr U.S. Treasury Yield 1.10% -0.01% 0.17%
WTI Crude Oil (US$/bbl) 51.98 -0.73% 7.13%
Canadian Dollar US$0.7864 0.09% 0.13%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 2.45%

*Weekly performance ending Jan. 22, 2021. Sources: www.bloomberg.com, www.bankofcanada.ca and www.treasury.gov.


What’s ahead

U.S. Federal Reserve meetings and statement on WednesdayFederal Reserve chairperson Jerome Powell is on record saying an interest-rate increase hike isn’t planned, nor is scaling back its bond-purchasing program. The bank’s attention now turns to working with a new administration.

An update on Canadian monetary policy Also happening on Wednesday, the Bank of Canada will announce an interest-rate decision. In its last update, the central bank held its benchmark interest rate at 0.25%, while renewing its pledge to keep rates in check until the economy has fully recovered.

Circle these dates

  • Feb 15: North American markets closed for holidays
  • March 16-17: U.S. Federal Open Market Committee meeting
  • April 2: North American markets closed for Good Friday
  • Apr. 30: 2020 income tax filing deadline

Key take-away

Setting goals is the foundation of a strong financial roadmap While your goals may shift as life moves forward, taking the time to define them at the beginning of your journey (and revisiting them along the way) allows you to stay focused and achieve success.


This article is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this article constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice.

Mutual funds are offered through Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. Segregated funds and annuities are administered by Co-operators Life Insurance Company. Co-operators Life Insurance Company and Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. are committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information that we collect, use, retain and disclose in the course of conducting our business. Please refer to our privacy policy for more information.

The Co-operators® is a registered trademark of The Co-operators Group Limited and is used with permission.

du 18 au 22 janvier 2021

Les dernières nouvelles

Les marchés ont réagi favorablement au changement d’administration pour l’économie américaine

Les marchés boursiers nord-américains ont atteint des sommets en milieu de semaine lorsque Joe Biden est devenu le 46e président des États-Unis. Ces résultats positifs ont également bénéficié de l’optimisme suscité par l’approbation imminente par le Congrès du plan de relance de 1 900 milliards de dollars proposé par la nouvelle administration, par l’accueil favorable du témoignage de Janet Yellen, candidate au poste de secrétaire au Trésor, devant le Sénat, et par les résultats solides des entreprises au quatrième trimestre.

Lundi, alors que les marchés américains étaient fermés pour la journée Martin Luther King Jr., l’indice composé S&P/TSX du Canada, qui était le seul marché nord-américain en action, a gagné 35 points grâce à la vigueur des secteurs de la santé et de la technologie. Les résultats économiques de la Chine au quatrième trimestre, qui ont dépassé les attentes et soutenu une croissance du produit intérieur brut de 2,3 % en 2020, ont également fait la une des journaux lundi. La Chine est la seule grande économie à avoir évité une contraction l’année dernière.

L’aide liée à la pandémie et les résultats des entreprises ont soutenu les sommets atteints lors de l’investiture présidentielle

Mardi, tous les yeux étaient tournés vers l’audience de confirmation de Janet Yellen devant le comité sénatorial des finances. Dans son témoignage, l’ancienne présidente de la Réserve fédérale américaine a déclaré : « Sans autre action, nous risquons une récession plus longue et plus douloureuse maintenant – et des cicatrices à long terme de l’économie plus tard ». Elle a invité les législateurs du Sénat à « agir en grand » pour relancer l’économie mise à mal par le coronavirus. Mme Yellen a également minimisé les craintes que le président Biden augmente les impôts – une critique majeure durant sa campagne. Mme Yellen a déclaré qu’en tant que secrétaire au Trésor, elle ne demanderait pas une abrogation complète des réductions d’impôts consenties par Donald Trump en 2017, mais que les entreprises et les riches « doivent payer leur juste part ». Les quatre principaux indices nord-américains ont ainsi terminé en territoire positif.

Lors de la prestation de serment du président Biden mercredi, les marchés se sont emballés. Le Dow Jones Industrial Average et le S&P 500 ont tous deux enregistré leurs meilleurs gains à l’occasion d’une investiture présidentielle depuis l’entrée en fonction du président Ronald Reagan en 1985. Le Nasdaq a connu sa meilleure journée jamais enregistrée à l’occasion d’une investiture présidentielle. Toutefois, il a également bénéficié d’un coup de pouce des résultats du quatrième trimestre de Netflix. La société, qui compte désormais plus de 200 millions d’abonnés, a déclaré des revenus suffisants pour financer ses activités quotidiennes sans emprunter ni créer de dette.

Les marchés sont restés proches de leurs records jeudi, mais ont chuté vendredi en raison des préoccupations croissantes liées à COVID-19 et aux mesures de confinement restrictives.

Le président Biden a révoqué le permis de prolongement de l’oléoduc Keystone XL

L’un des premiers gestes du président Biden a été de signer un décret révoquant le permis de prolongement du pipeline Keystone XL. L’annulation de ce projet récurrent a des conséquences qui touchent le cœur du secteur énergétique canadien. Lors d’une conférence de presse, le premier ministre de l’Alberta, Jason Kenney, a déclaré qu’il s’agissait d’un « coup de poing » pour l’économie de l’Alberta et du Canada. L’ancien président Donald Trump avait rétabli le permis en 2019 (renversant une annulation de l’administration Obama). Le gouvernement de l’Alberta avait alors investi 1,1 milliard de dollars américains de l’argent des contribuables dans la construction du pipeline pour transporter jusqu’à 830 000 barils de pétrole par jour de l’Alberta au Nebraska. Le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a déclaré : « Nous sommes déçus, mais acceptons la décision du président de tenir sa promesse électorale sur Keystone XL ».

La Banque du Canada a maintenu son taux directeur à 0,25 %

Lors de la première des huit réunions prévues en 2021 pour fixer son taux directeur, la banque centrale du Canada a maintenu celui-ci à 0,25 % ainsi que le rythme actuel de son programme d’achat d’obligations à 4 milliards de dollars par semaine. Elle a aussi confirmé que l’économie est sur une trajectoire de deux ans pour se redresser complètement. Les estimations de croissance économique de la banque pour 2021 sont restées relativement stables, toutefois ses perspectives pour 2022 ont bondi de 3,7 % à 4,8 %, indiquant une vision plus positive pour l’année prochaine. L’accès au vaccin contre la COVID-19 et l’accélération du calendrier des inoculations constituent les principaux facteurs de l’amélioration des prévisions pour 2022. S’adressant aux journalistes, le gouverneur de la Banque du Canada, Tiff Macklem, a déclaré : « Nous avons des raisons évidentes d’être plus optimistes en ce qui concerne l’évolution de l’économie à moyen terme. Mais nous n’y sommes pas encore. L’augmentation des cas de COVID-19 pèse lourdement sur les perspectives économiques à court terme ».


Marché boursier et obligataire*
INDICE CLÔTURE SEMAINE CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S P/TSX 17 845,91 -0,35 % 2,37 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 30 996,98 0,59 % 1,28 %
Indice S&P 3 841,47 1,94 % 2,27 %
Indice composé NASDAQ 13 543,06 4,19 % 5,08 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 0,84 % 0,03 % 0,17 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 1,10 % -0,01 % 0,17 %
Cours du pétrole brut WT I ($ US/baril) 51,98 -0,73 % 7,13 %
Dollar canadien 0,7864 $ US  0,09 % 0,13 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada : 2,45 %

* Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 22 janvier 2021. Sources : www.bloomberg.com, www.banqueducanada.ca et www.treasury.gov.


Ce qui nous attend

Réunions et déclaration de la Réserve fédérale américaine mercredi : Le président de la Réserve fédérale, Jerome Powell, a déclaré publiquement qu’il ne prévoyait pas de hausse des taux d’intérêt et qu’il ne réduirait pas son programme d’achat d’obligations. La banque se prépare maintenant à travailler avec une nouvelle administration.

Dates importantes

  • 15 février : Clôture des marchés boursiers nord-américains pour le jour férié
  • 16 et 17 mars : Réunion du Comité de politique monétaire de la Réserve fédérale
  • 2 avril : Clôture des marchés boursiers nord-américains pour le jour férié du Vendredi saint
  • 30 avril : Date limite de dépôt des déclarations de revenus de 2020

À retenir

Une feuille de route financière solide repose sur des objectifs. Même si vos objectifs évoluent au cours de votre vie, il faut prendre le temps de les définir dès le départ (et les revoir de temps à autre) pour garder le cap et atteindre votre but.


Cet article se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres.

Les fonds communs de placement sont offerts par l’intermédiaire de Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. Les fonds distincts et les rentes sont administrés par Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie. Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie et Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. s’engagent à protéger la vie privée de leurs clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de leurs affaires. Veuillez consulter politique de protection des renseignements personnels pour en savoir plus.

Co-operatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co-operators limitée, utilisée avec permission.