April 19 to 23, 2021

What happened last week

Markets pulled back from record highs, as global cases of COVID-19 surged

Concern over rising COVID-19 infections around the world, and uncertainty around the pace of economic recovery, weighed on investor sentiment. Financial markets fluctuated, with mixed economic reports coming out of the U.S., and with the federal budget and monetary-policy updates making headlines in Canada.

Energy prices struggled for direction throughout the week: West Texas Intermediate crude futures flipped between modest gains and losses, as the world’s third-largest oil importer, India, battled a spike in coronavirus cases. The country of 1.3 billion people posted the world’s largest one-day jump for infections, with 314,644 new COVID-19 cases on Wednesday, according to Johns Hopkins University.

Despite a rally on Wednesday that saw modest gains for all four North American benchmark indexes, equity markets lost some momentum early Thursday as mixed economic data was reported in the U.S. A better-than-expected decline in weekly jobless claims was offset by data showing that March sales of previously owned U.S. homes slipped to a seven-month low.

Stock markets lost more ground on Thursday afternoon, following headlines that the Biden administration might double the capital-gains tax for those earning US$1 million or more. Friday brought a modest rebound in equity markets on the strength of positive manufacturing and new-home sales data out of the U.S.

The federal budget outlined historic spending levels to spark economic recovery

On Monday, Finance Minister Chrystia Freeland presented the Canadian government’s first budget in two years. It was aimed at defeating COVID-19, recovering lost jobs, and transitioning to a greener, more-resilient economy. The document outlines the largest peace-time government-spending plan in Canadian history, projecting a $354.2-billion deficit for 2020-21, followed by a $154.7-billion shortfall in the next fiscal year. To help pay for this, the budget proposes luxury-tax measures, starting January 1, 2022, that are expected to raise billions of dollars in revenue from: a 3% tax on the revenues of large digital companies, a 10-to-20% tax on luxury cars and personal aircraft with sale prices of $100,000 or more, and personal-use boats with price tags of more than $250,000. Read our Federal Budget 2021 report to learn more on what the budget means for Canadians.

As part of the government’s debt-management strategy to lock in debt at current rates, the budget also included plans to issue a record amount of long-term debt in 2021. The government plans to issue $121 billion in bonds that mature in 10 years or later. This is up from $107 billion in the fiscal year that ended March 31. Yields on longer-term government bonds rose, as investors anticipated the new supply; the 10-year benchmark yield reached its highest level in two weeks, following the release of the budget details. According to the budget: “The government will closely monitor financial markets and may issue more long-term debt if market conditions are favourable.”

The Bank of Canada announced a tapering of emergency monetary support

In its latest monetary-policy update, on Wednesday, the Bank of Canada announced that it would reduce its government-debt purchases by 25% to $3 billion and move up timing for a possible interest-rate increase. The bank’s forecast for the Canadian economy’s return to pre-pandemic conditions is ahead of central banks in other major economies, including the U.S. The Bank of Canada reiterated its guidance that it won’t raise its benchmark interest rate, currently at 0.25%, until the recovery is complete and until inflation is sustainable at 2%. But it now projects that to happen sooner. The bank revised its growth estimate to be higher for 2021, by more than two percentage points, to 6.5%. It noted in its report: “Based on the Bank’s latest projection, this is now expected to happen sometime in the second half of 2022.” The Canadian dollar rose to its highest level since January, following the update.


The stock and bond market*
INDEX CLOSE WEEK YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 19,102.33 -1.29% 9.57%
Dow Jones Industrial Avg. 34,043.49 -0.46% 11.23%
S&P 500 Index 4,180.17 -0.13% 11.29%
Nasdaq Composite 14,016.81 -0.25% 8.76%
10-yr GoC Yield 1.51% -0.02% 0.84%
10-yr U.S. Treasury Yield 1.58% -0.01% 0.65%
WTI Crude Oil (US$/bbl) 62.14 -1.57% 28.07%
Canadian Dollar US$0.8007 0.11% 1.95%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 2.45%

*Weekly performance ending April 23, 2021. Sources: www.bloomberg.com, www.bankofcanada.ca and www.treasury.gov.


What’s ahead

U.S. Federal Reserve statement on Wednesday: At the U.S. central bank’s last Federal Open Market Committee meetings, in March, policy-makers agreed to hold its key overnight interest rate at a target range of 0.25% or lower. The U.S. central bank pledged to hold that rate until 2023, while maintaining the pace of its bond-purchase program – until there is proof of “substantial further progress” on its employment and inflation goals.

Circle these dates

  • April 30: income-tax filing deadline
  • May 17: Bank of Canada Financial System Review released
  • May 24: Canada’s TSX closed for Victoria Day holiday
  • May 31: U.S. markets closed for Memorial Day holiday

Key take-away

Never try to time the market. Attempting to recoup a loss, by cashing out when the markets are down and reinvesting when they rebound, doesn’t work. Most seasoned financial professionals will recommend that you “stay the course,” keeping your end goal in mind.


This article is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this article constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice.

Mutual funds are offered through Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. Segregated funds and annuities are administered by Co-operators Life Insurance Company. Co-operators Life Insurance Company and Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. are committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information that we collect, use, retain and disclose in the course of conducting our business. Please refer to our privacy policy for more information.

The Co-operators® is a registered trademark of The Co-operators Group Limited and is used with permission.

Du 19 au 23 avril 2021

Dernières nouvelles

Les marchés sont retombés de leurs sommets en raison de l’augmentation des cas de COVID-19 dans le monde

Les inquiétudes soulevées par l’augmentation des infections à la COVID-19 dans le monde et les incertitudes entourant le rythme de la reprise économique ont miné le sentiment des investisseurs. Les rapports économiques mitigés en provenance des États-Unis, ainsi que le budget fédéral et les mises à jour de la politique monétaire qui font les gros titres au Canada ont déstabilisé les marchés financiers.

Les prix de l’énergie ont fluctué tout au long de la semaine : Les contrats à terme sur le pétrole brut West Texas Intermediate ont oscillé entre des pertes et des gains modestes tandis que l’Inde, troisième plus grand importateur de pétrole au monde, luttait contre une flambée de cas de coronavirus. Ce pays de 1,3 milliard d’habitants a enregistré la plus forte hausse des infections au monde en une journée, avec 314 644 nouveaux cas de COVID-19 mercredi, selon l’Université Johns Hopkins.

Malgré une reprise modeste mercredi pour les quatre grands indices de nord-américains, les données économiques mitigées en provenance des États-Unis ont ralenti l’élan des marchés boursiers. La baisse plus importante que prévu des inscriptions hebdomadaires au chômage a été contrebalancée par des données indiquant que les ventes de maisons existantes aux États-Unis ont atteint en mars leur plus bas niveau en sept mois.

Les marchés boursiers ont continué de perdre du terrain jeudi après-midi, après l’annonce que l’administration Biden pourrait doubler l’impôt sur les gains en capital pour ceux qui gagnent un million de dollars américains ou plus. La vigueur des données positives du secteur manufacturier et des ventes de nouvelles maisons aux États-Unis a ensuite soutenu leur légère reprise vendredi.

Le budget fédéral prévoit des dépenses historiques pour relancer l’économie après la pandémie

Lundi, la ministre des Finances Chrystia Freeland a présenté le premier budget du gouvernement canadien en deux ans, qui visait à vaincre la COVID-19, à récupérer les emplois perdus et à assurer la transition vers une économie plus verte et plus résiliente. Le document présente le plus vaste plan de dépenses publiques en temps de paix de l’histoire du Canada, avec un déficit prévu de 354,2 milliards de dollars pour 2020-2021, suivi d’un manque à gagner de 154,7 milliards de dollars pour l’exercice suivant. Pour aider à payer ce déficit, le budget propose des mesures fiscales sur le luxe, à partir du 1er janvier 2022, qui devraient générer des milliards de dollars de revenus : une taxe de 3 % sur les revenus des grandes entreprises numériques, une taxe de 10 à 20 % sur les voitures de luxe et les avions personnels dont le prix de vente est de 100 000 $ ou plus ainsi que sur les bateaux à usage personnel dont le prix est supérieur à 250 000 $. Lisez notre rapport sur le budget fédéral 2021 pour en savoir plus sur ce que le budget signifie pour les Canadiens.

Dans le cadre de la stratégie de gestion de la dette du gouvernement visant à bloquer la dette aux taux actuels, le budget prévoit également l’émission d’un montant record de la dette à long terme en 2021. Le gouvernement prévoit émettre 121 milliards de dollars d’obligations qui viendront à échéance dans 10 ans ou plus. Ce montant est supérieur aux 107 milliards de dollars de l’année financière terminée le 31 mars. Les rendements des obligations d’État à long terme ont augmenté alors que les investisseurs anticipaient la nouvelle offre; le rendement de référence à 10 ans a atteint son plus haut niveau en deux semaines, après la publication des détails du budget. Selon le budget : « Le gouvernement surveillera de près les marchés financiers et pourrait émettre plus de titres de créance à long terme si les conditions du marché sont favorables. »

La Banque du Canada a annoncé une réduction progressive du soutien monétaire d’urgence

Dans sa dernière mise à jour de la politique monétaire, mercredi, la Banque du Canada a annoncé qu’elle réduirait ses achats de titres d’État de 25 % pour les ramener à 3 milliards de dollars et qu’elle devancerait le calendrier d’une éventuelle hausse des taux d’intérêt. Les prévisions de la banque concernant le retour de l’économie canadienne aux conditions d’avant la pandémie sont en avance sur celles des banques centrales des autres grandes économies, notamment les États-Unis. La Banque du Canada a réitéré son orientation selon laquelle elle ne relèvera pas son taux d’intérêt de référence, actuellement de 0,25 %, jusqu’à ce que la reprise soit complète et que l’inflation se maintienne durablement à 2 %. Cependant, elle prévoit maintenant que ce moment se produira plus tôt. La banque a révisé ses estimations de croissance à la hausse pour 2021, de plus de deux points de pourcentage, à 6,5 %. Elle note dans son rapport que selon ses dernières projections, cela devrait se produire dans le courant du deuxième semestre de 2022. Le huard a atteint un sommet depuis janvier à la suite de cette mise à jour.


The stock and bond market*
INDICE CLÔTURE SEMAINE CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S&P/TSX 19 102,33 -1,29 % 9,57 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 34 043,49 -0,46 % 11,23 %
Indice S&P 500 4 180,17 -0,13 % 11,29 %
Indice composé Nasdaq 14 016,81 -0,25 % 8,76 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 1,51 % -0,02 % 0,84 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 1,58 % -0,01 % 0,65 %
Cours du baril de pétrole brut WTI ($ US/baril) 62,14 -1,57 % 28,07 %
Dollar canadien 0,8007 $ US 0,11 % 1,95 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada : 2,45 %

* Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 23 avril 2021. Sources : www.bloomberg.com, www.banqueducanada.ca et www.treasury.gov.


Ce qui nous attend

Déclaration de la Réserve fédérale américaine mercredi : Lors des dernières réunions en mars du comité de politique monétaire de la Réserve fédérale, les décideurs ont convenu de maintenir son taux de financement à un jour dans une fourchette cible de 0,25 % ou moins. La banque centrale américaine s’est engagée à maintenir ce taux jusqu’en 2023, tout en conservant le rythme de son programme d’achat d’obligations – jusqu’à ce que des progrès supplémentaires substantiels prouvés aient été accomplis en vue de la réalisation de ses objectifs en matière d’emploi et d’inflation.

Dates importantes

  • 30 avril : Date limite de dépôt des déclarations de revenus de 2020
  • 17 mai : Publication de la Revue du système financier de la Banque du Canada
  • 24 mai : Fermeture de la Bourse de Toronto pour le jour de la fête de la Reine/Journée nationale des patriotes
  • 31 mai : Fermeture des bourses américaines en raison du Memorial Day

À retenir

N’essayez pas d’anticiper les fluctuations du marché. Essayer de compenser une perte en retirant vos placements lorsque les marchés piquent du nez et en les réinvestissant lorsqu’ils rebondissent est une stratégie perdante. Les experts financiers les plus aguerris vous recommanderont de « maintenir le cap » en gardant à l’esprit vos objectifs à long terme.


Cet article se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres.

Les fonds communs de placement sont offerts par l’intermédiaire de Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. Les fonds distincts et les rentes sont administrés par Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie. Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie et Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. s’engagent à protéger la vie privée de leurs clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de leurs affaires. Veuillez consulter notre politique de protection des renseignements personnels pour en savoir plus.

Co-operatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co-operators limitée, utilisée avec permission.