August 9 to 13, 2021

What happened last week

Stock markets hovered around record levels

The major North American equity indexes continued to perform within a tight range – at or near record levels – as investors kept a close eye on risks to the global economic outlook. Global stocks were up 90% from the pandemic lows of March 2020, but questions around the sustainability of the rally dampened sentiment. Inflation, its potential impact on central bank policy in the U.S., and rising COVID-19 infections around the world were top-of-mind for investors through the week.

Oil prices remained volatile with the demand outlook uncertain

After falling over 7% in the previous week, prices for benchmark West Texas Intermediate crude remained under pressure during a resurgence in global COVID-19 infections and rapidly changing demand forecasts. Over the course of 2021, demand has picked up in major economies such as the U.S. and Europe, reducing excess inventory built up during the pandemic and sending prices higher. That trend has slowed in recent weeks as virus variants threaten economic recovery. According to an International Energy Agency report released Thursday, global demand for the commodity “abruptly reversed course” in July. The agency lowered estimates for global consumption in the second half of the year by 550,000 barrels a day.

Markets digested U.S. inflation data in stride

According to data released by the Labor Department on Wednesday, prices paid by U.S. consumers rose in July, but at a slower pace than economists expected. The consumer price index increased 0.5% since June and 5.4% compared to a year ago. The data suggest that ongoing challenges including material and labour shortages, along with supply-chain bottlenecks, will likely continue to push prices higher in the months ahead. On the other hand, some of the price pressures related to the early stages of economic reopening are dissipating.

Global financial markets are keeping a close eye on U.S. inflation and its potential impacts on the world’s largest economy, especially the Federal Reserve’s (the Fed’s) timeline for reducing monetary support for the economy, and President Joe Biden’s multi-trillion-dollar government spending programs. The Fed has repeatedly indicated that it believes inflation will be temporary and that near-zero interest rates will remain in place until the economic recovery has made “substantial further progress”. Market sentiment remains cautious over the outlook. Investors are concerned that surging price levels could force the Fed to raise rates earlier than planned to cool down the economy. Inflation could also make it harder for President Biden to win support for another US$3.5 trillion in government spending if lawmakers believe that it could add to price pressures, in addition to the trillions of dollars of fiscal stimulus already distributed since the start of the pandemic. President Biden pointed to the July report as a sign the pace of inflation is slowing when he spoke about his economic plans from the White House on Wednesday.


The stock and bond market*
INDEX CLOSE WEEK YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 20,518.07 0.21% 17.69%
Dow Jones Industrial Avg. 35,515.38 0.87% 16.04%
S&P 500 Index 4,468.00 0.71% 18.95%
NASDAQ Composite 14,822.90 -0.09% 15.01%
10-yr GoC Yield 1.19% -0.05% 0.52%
10-yr U.S. Treasury Yield 1.29% -0.02% 0.36%
WTI Crude Oil (US$/bbl) 68.44 0.23% 41.06%
Canadian Dollar US$0.7991 0.29% 1.74%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 2.45%

*Weekly performance ending August 13, 2021. Sources: www.bloomberg.com, www.bankofcanada.ca and www.treasury.gov.


What’s ahead

Economic data: Manufacturing, housing, employment, and retail-sales figures will be released for both Canada and the U.S. Investors will also assess an inflation reading for July from Statistics Canada.

Circle these dates

  • September 6: Canadian and U.S. markets closed for Labour Day
  • September 8: Bank of Canada interest-rate announcement
  • September 21 to 22: U.S. Federal Reserve meetings and statement

Key take-away

All investing involves some risk. How much risk you can handle is based on your personal financial situation, including the stability of your income, the value of your current assets, and the total debt that you hold. Your risk capacity can change over time and, when needed, is something you can reassess with your Co-operators financial representative.


This article is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this article constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice.

Mutual funds are offered through Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. Segregated funds and annuities are administered by Co-operators Life Insurance Company. Co-operators Life Insurance Company and Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. are committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information that we collect, use, retain and disclose in the course of conducting our business. Please refer to our privacy policy for more information.

The Co-operators® is a registered trademark of The Co-operators Group Limited and is used with permission.

Du 9 au 13 août 2021

Dernières nouvelles

Les marchés boursiers sont restés à des niveaux records

Le rendement des principaux indices boursiers nord-américains est demeuré stable – à des niveaux records ou presque – alors que les investisseurs suivaient de près les risques qui pèsent sur les perspectives économiques internationales. Les Bourses mondiales ont surmonté à 90 % le creux causé par la pandémie en mars 2020, mais les incertitudes quant à la durabilité de cette reprise ont de quoi laisser perplexe. L’inflation, ses répercussions potentielles sur les politiques de la Banque centrale des États-Unis et la recrudescence des cas de COVID-19 dans le monde ont été les principales préoccupations des investisseurs cette semaine.

Le cours du pétrole est resté volatil et les perspectives de demande incertaines

Après avoir chuté de plus de 7 % la semaine précédente, le cours du pétrole brut de référence West Texas Intermediate était encore sous pression, alors que les cas de COVID-19 se multipliaient partout dans le monde et que la demande prévue fluctuait rapidement. En 2021, la demande de puissances économiques comme les États-Unis et l’Europe a repris, ce qui a entraîné une réduction des stocks excédentaires accumulés pendant la pandémie ainsi qu’une hausse des prix. Cette tendance a ralenti ces dernières semaines, alors que les variants menacent la reprise économique. Selon un rapport de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie publié jeudi, la demande mondiale a « abruptement changé de trajectoire » en juillet. L’agence a revu à la baisse son estimation de la consommation mondiale de 550 000 barils par jour pour la seconde moitié de l’année.

Les données sur l’inflation aux États-Unis n’ont pas ébranlé les marchés

Selon les données publiées par le ministère du Travail des États-Unis mercredi, les prix payés par les consommateurs ont augmenté en juillet, mais moins rapidement que ce que les économistes avaient prévu. L’indice des prix à la consommation a augmenté de 0,5 % depuis juin, et de 5,4 % comparativement à l’an dernier à pareille date. Les données semblent indiquer que les problèmes persistants comme la pénurie de matériaux et de main-d’œuvre et les difficultés d’approvisionnement devraient faire augmenter les prix davantage dans les mois à venir. D’autre part, la tension des prix propre au début de la reprise économique s’est en partie résorbée.

Sur les marchés financiers mondiaux, on surveille de près l’inflation aux États-Unis et ses répercussions potentielles sur la plus grande puissance économique au monde, en particulier le moment où la Réserve fédérale américaine (la « Fed ») cessera de soutenir l’économie, ainsi que les programmes de dépenses de plusieurs billions de dollars du président Joe Biden. La Fed continue de répéter que l’inflation devrait être temporaire, et que les taux d’intérêt de près de zéro pour cent resteront en place jusqu’à ce que la reprise économique ait nettement progressé. Les marchés demeurent toutefois prudents quant aux perspectives. Les investisseurs craignent que la flambée des prix force la Fed à augmenter les taux d’intérêt plus tôt que prévu afin de tempérer l’économie. L’inflation risque également de compliquer la tâche au président Biden s’il souhaite obtenir 3,5 billions de dollars américains supplémentaires en aide gouvernementale si les législateurs craignent que cela accentue la tension des prix, en plus des billions de dollars déjà distribués pour stimuler l’économie depuis le début de la pandémie. Lorsqu’il a parlé de ses plans économiques à la Maison-Blanche mercredi, Joe Biden a affirmé que le rapport de juillet semblait indiquer un ralentissement de l’inflation.


Marché boursier et obligataire*
INDICE CLÔTURE SEMAINE CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S&P/TSX 20 518,07 0,21 % 17,69 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 35 515,38 0,87 % 16,04 %
Indice S&P 500 4 468,00 0,71 % 18,95 %
Indice composé Nasdaq 14 822,90 -0,09 % 15,01 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 1,19 % -0,05 % 0,52 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 1,29 % -0,02 % 0,36 %
Cours du pétrole brut WTI ($ US/baril) 68,44 0,23 % 41,06 %
Dollar canadien 0,7991 $ US 0,29 % 1,74 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada : 2,45 %

* Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 13 août 2021. Sources : www.bloomberg.com, www.banqueducanada.ca et www.treasury.gov.


Ce qui nous attend

  • Données économiques : Les chiffres des secteurs manufacturier, du logement, de l’emploi et de la vente au détail seront dévoilés pour le Canada et les États-Unis. Les investisseurs vont également calculer l’inflation selon les données de Statistique Canada pour juillet.

Dates importantes

  • 6 septembre : Fermeture des bourses canadiennes et américaines pour la fête du Travail.
  • 8 septembre : Annonce du taux directeur de la Banque du Canada
  • 21 et 22 septembre : Réunions et déclaration de la Réserve fédérale américaine

À retenir

On ne peut investir sans risque. Le niveau de risque que vous pouvez assumer dépend de votre situation financière personnelle, notamment la stabilité de votre revenu, la valeur actuelle de vos actifs et le total de vos dettes. Comme elle peut changer au fil du temps, votre propension au risque peut être réévaluée avec votre représentant de Co-operators, au besoin.


Cet article se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres.

Les fonds communs de placement sont offerts par l’intermédiaire de Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. Les fonds distincts et les rentes sont administrés par Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie. Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie et Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. s’engagent à protéger la vie privée de leurs clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de leurs affaires. Veuillez consulter notre politique de protection des renseignements personnels pour en savoir plus.

Co-operatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co-operators limitée, utilisée avec permission.