April 26 to 30, 2021

What happened last week

Equity markets fluctuated amid a barrage of Q1 corporate earnings reports

On top of first quarter earnings’ results from tech giants such as Tesla, Apple, Facebook and Shopify, investors also had to digest economic data and a monetary policy update from the U.S. Federal Reserve. Markets reacted unevenly with new records highs, but also a few pull backs.

Anticipation was high to begin the busiest week of the corporate earnings season on Monday. Powered by Tesla, both the S&P 500 and the Nasdaq closed with record highs, while Canada’s TSX narrowly missed its own record. Only the Dow Jones Industrial Average closed in negative territory. The electric car and clean energy company was the first tech behemoth to release first-quarter data, reporting a net income of US$438 million and a 74% sales increase. In Q1, the company generated US$10.39 billion in revenue.

Markets were flat Tuesday as investors sifted through results from Alphabet Inc. and Microsoft. Google’s parent company beat Wall Street estimates on the strength of digital ad sales; a result of advertisers bolstering their online presence during the pandemic. It’s first-quarter revenue rose to US$45.6 billion (excluding traffic acquisition costs), exceeding expectations of US$42.6 billion. Microsoft’s biggest quarterly spike in personal computer sales in two decades helped it reach US$41.7 billion in revenue. Facebook and Apple were next to report on Wednesday, announcing revenue of US$26.2 billion and US$89.6 billion respectively, while hauling in net income of US$9.5 billion and US$23.6 billion. Shopify also released its first-quarter results. Canada’s tech darling posted revenue of US$988.6 million which helped propel the TSX to a new record high. The Wall Street indexes didn’t fare as well with comments from the Federal Reserve (the Fed) on the U.S. economy leading to declines for the Dow, S&P and the Nasdaq.

The Fed stayed the course in its latest policy statement

Following a two-day meeting that concluded Wednesday, the central bank decided to maintain status quo with interest rates and its bond-buying program. This announcement came despite the bank acknowledging the accelerating economic recovery and the progress on COVID-19 vaccinations in the U.S. “We are 8.5 million jobs below February 2020,” Fed Chair Jerome Powell said. “We are a long way from our goals.” Powell once again downplayed the rise of inflation, with the bank maintaining its outlook that price increases will not persist for a long enough period of time to necessitate an interest-rate hike.

Economic data and commodity prices captured headlines

On Thursday, the U.S. Labor Department reported that first-time jobless claims fell by 553,000 over the previous week, the lowest level since the pandemic started. On the same day, the Commerce Department released data showing U.S. GDP grew at a 6.4% annualized rate in the first quarter. These reports, along with a proposed US$1.8 trillion spending package from President Joe Biden, helped U.S. equity markets bounce back. Canada’s TSX fell 0.5%.

The Canadian dollar stayed above 80 cents U.S. throughout the week, bumped by copper, which hit a 10-year high on Tuesday. The May copper contract rose to US$4.49 a pound, its highest price since 2011, representing a 91% increase from this time last year. Canadian retail sales and the GDP reading for the month of February, also made news. Retail sales were up 4.8% to $55.1 billion and GDP grew 0.4%, as reported by Statistics Canada. Both were positive signs for the Canadian economy.

All four major North American benchmarks were in negative territory at Friday’s close, but on a weekly basis, the TSX and the S&P 500 still managed to eke out a small gain.


The stock and bond market*
INDEX CLOSE WEEK YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 19,108.33 0.03% 9.61%
Dow Jones Industrial Avg. 33,874.85 -0.50% 10.68%
S&P 500 Index 4,181.17 0.02% 11.32%
Nasdaq Composite 13,962.68 -0.39% 8.34%
10-yr GoC Yield 1.54% 0.03% 0.87%
10-yr U.S. Treasury Yield 1.65% 0.07% 0.72%
WTI Crude Oil (US$/bbl) 63.49 2.17% 30.85%
Canadian Dollar US$0.8140 1.66% 3.64%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 2.45%

*Weekly performance ending April 30, 2021. Sources: www.bloomberg.com, www.bankofcanada.ca and www.treasury.gov.


What’s ahead

Economic indicators for Canada and the U.S: Mid-week, both countries are scheduled to release their latest trade data and employment figures. Investors will watch closely for signals on the pace of economic recovery in North America.

Circle these dates

  • May 17: Bank of Canada Financial System Review released
  • May 24: Canada’s TSX closed for Victoria Day holiday
  • May 31: U.S. markets closed for Memorial Day holiday

Key take-away

Review your time horizon and your risk tolerance. No one can predict when the markets will rise or fall, or by how much. This makes timing the market next to impossible. That’s why an investment strategy, from the outset, should be based on your goals, your risk tolerance and your time horizon. Our financial representatives are here to help.


This article is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this article constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice.

Mutual funds are offered through Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. Segregated funds and annuities are administered by Co-operators Life Insurance Company. Co-operators Life Insurance Company and Co-operators Financial Investment Services Inc. are committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information that we collect, use, retain and disclose in the course of conducting our business. Please refer to our privacy policy for more information.

The Co-operators® is a registered trademark of The Co-operators Group Limited and is used with permission.

Du 26 au 30 avril 2021

Dernières nouvelles

Les marchés boursiers ont fluctué face à la déferlante des résultats d’entreprises au premier trimestre

Outre les résultats du premier trimestre des géants de la technologie tels que Tesla, Apple, Facebook et Shopify, les investisseurs ont également dû digérer des données économiques et une mise à jour de la politique monétaire de la Réserve fédérale américaine. Les marchés ont réagi en dents de scie avec de nouveaux records, mais aussi quelques replis.

La semaine la plus chargée de la saison de publication des résultats s’est ouverte lundi avec beaucoup d’impatience. Sous l’impulsion de Tesla, le S&P 500 et le Nasdaq ont affiché des records à la clôture, tandis que l’indice TSX canadien a frôlé son record personnel. Seul le Dow Jones Industrial Average a clôturé en territoire négatif. La société de voitures électriques et d’énergie propre a été le premier mastodonte du secteur de la technologie à publier ses données pour le premier trimestre, avec un bénéfice net de 438 millions de dollars américains et une augmentation des ventes de 74 %. Au premier trimestre, la société a dégagé un chiffre d’affaires de 10,39 milliards de dollars américains.

Les marchés ont stagné mardi tandis que les investisseurs passaient au crible les résultats d’Alphabet Inc. et de Microsoft. La société mère de Google a battu les estimations de Wall Street grâce à la vigueur des ventes de publicités numériques, les annonceurs ayant renforcé leur présence en ligne pendant la pandémie. Le chiffre d’affaires du premier trimestre a atteint 45,6 milliards de dollars américains (excluant le coût d’acquisition du trafic), dépassant les attentes de 42,6 milliards de dollars américains. La plus forte hausse trimestrielle des ventes d’ordinateurs personnels de Microsoft en vingt ans a permis à l’entreprise de réaliser un chiffre d’affaires de 41,7 milliards de dollars américains. Facebook et Apple leur ont emboîté le pas mercredi, avec un chiffre d’affaires de 26,2 et de 89,6 milliards de dollars américains, et un bénéfice net de 9,5 et de 23,6 milliards de dollars américains, respectivement. Shopify a également dévoilé ses résultats du premier trimestre. La coqueluche de la technologie canadienne a déclaré un chiffre d’affaires de 988,6 millions de dollars américains, qui a contribué à propulser le TSX à un nouveau sommet. Les indices de Wall Street étaient à la traîne, les commentaires de la Réserve fédérale (la Fed) sur l’économie américaine ayant pesé sur le Dow Jones, le S&P et le Nasdaq.

La Fed a maintenu le cap dans sa dernière mise à jour sur la politique monétaire

À l’issue d’une réunion de deux jours qui s’est achevée mercredi, la banque centrale a décidé de maintenir le statu quo sur les taux d’intérêt et son programme d’achat d’obligations. Elle a fait cette annonce tout en reconnaissant l’accélération de la reprise économique et les progrès de la vaccination COVID-19 aux États-Unis. « Nous sommes 8,5 millions d’emplois en dessous du niveau de février 2020, a déclaré le président de la Fed, Jerome Powell. Nous sommes encore loin de nos objectifs. » M. Powell a une fois de plus minimisé la montée de l’inflation, et la banque a maintenu ses perspectives selon lesquelles les augmentations des prix ne persisteront pas suffisamment longtemps pour nécessiter une hausse des taux d’intérêt.

Les données économiques et les prix des matières premières ont fait les manchettes

Jeudi, le département américain du Travail a annoncé 553 000 premières demandes d’inscription au chômage de moins par rapport à la semaine précédente, soit le plus bas niveau depuis le début de la pandémie. Le même jour, le département du Commerce a publié des données faisant état d’une croissance annualisée du PIB de 6,4 % au premier trimestre. Ces rapports, conjugués à la proposition d’un plan de dépenses de 1 800 milliards de dollars américains par le président Joe Biden, ont aidé les marchés boursiers américains à rebondir. Au Canada, l’indice TSX a perdu 0,5 %.

Le dollar canadien s’est maintenu au-dessus de la barre des 80 cents américains tout au long de la semaine, soutenu par le cuivre qui a atteint mardi un sommet sur 10 ans. Le cours du cuivre a atteint un sommet sans précédent depuis 2011 de 4,49 $ US la livre en mai, soit une augmentation de 91 % par rapport à la période correspondante de l’année précédente. Les ventes au détail et le PIB canadiens de février ont également fait l’actualité. Les ventes au détail étaient en hausse de 4,8 %, à 55,1 milliards de dollars, tandis que le PIB a augmenté de 0,4 %, selon Statistique Canada. Ces deux chiffres sont des signes positifs pour l’économie canadienne.

Les quatre grands indices nord-américains ont terminé la semaine en territoire négatif vendredi. Cependant, sur une base hebdomadaire, les indices TSX et S&P  500 ont parvenu à dégager un léger gain.


The stock and bond market*
INDICE CLÔTURE SEMAINE CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S&P/TSX 19 108,33 0,03 % 9,61 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 33 874,85 -0,50 % 10,68 %
Indice S&P 500 4 181,17 0,02 % 11,32 %
Indice composé Nasdaq 13 962,68 -0,39 % 8,34 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 1,54 % 0,03 % 0,87 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 1,65 % 0,07 % 0,72 %
Cours du baril de pétrole brut WTI ($ US/baril) 63,49 2,17 % 30,85 %
Dollar canadien 0,8140 $ US 1,66 % 3,64 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada : 2,45 %

* Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 30 avril 2021. Sources : www.bloomberg.com, www.banqueducanada.ca et www.treasury.gov.


Ce qui nous attend

Indicateurs économiques pour le Canada et les États-Unis : Les deux pays devraient publier leurs derniers chiffres sur le commerce et l’emploi en milieu de semaine. Les investisseurs surveilleront de près les signaux indicateurs du rythme de la reprise économique en Amérique du Nord.

Dates importantes

  • 17 mai : Publication de la Revue du système financier de la Banque du Canada
  • 24 mai : Fermeture de la Bourse de Toronto pour le jour de la fête de la Reine/Journée nationale des patriotes
  • 31 mai : Fermeture des bourses américaines en raison du Memorial Day

À retenir

Revoyez votre horizon de placement et votre tolérance au risque. Personne ne peut prévoir à quel moment et dans quelle mesure les marchés fluctueront. Il est donc pratiquement impossible d’en anticiper les hausses et les baisses. C’est pourquoi votre stratégie de placement devrait dès le départ reposer sur vos objectifs, votre tolérance au risque et votre horizon de placement. Nos représentants sont à votre écoute.


Cet article se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres.

Les fonds communs de placement sont offerts par l’intermédiaire de Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. Les fonds distincts et les rentes sont administrés par Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie. Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie et Services d’investissement financier Co-operators inc. s’engagent à protéger la vie privée de leurs clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de leurs affaires. Veuillez consulter notre politique de protection des renseignements personnels pour en savoir plus.

Co-operatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co-operators limitée, utilisée avec permission.