Impact Investing

Impact investments provide capital to initiatives that intentionally and measurably address the world’s most pressing environmental and social challenges. These investments generate an appropriate, risk-adjusted financial return and are reported on annually.

Impact investing not only supports our vision to be a catalyst for a sustainable society, but also broadens the returns of our investments beyond purely financial gains and into the realm of social and environmental benefits. The Co-operators areas of focus for impact investments are:

  • Climate change
  • Community development
  • Health and wellness
  • Education
  • Food, agriculture and natural resources

In 2017, our investment management company, Addenda Capital, launched the Addenda Impact Fixed Income Pooled Fund – the first of its kind in Canada – which now manages impact investments totaling $45.6 million in assets. We also surpassed our 2015-2018 target to invest 6–10% of our invested asset portfolio into impact investments. Of our $9.44 billion in invested assets, a total of 13.1% is now invested in securities that have both compelling investment returns and a measurable, positive environmental and/or social impact.

Investissement d’impact

Les investissements d’impact procurent du capital pour les projets qui s’attaquent, de façon intentionnelle et mesurable, aux problèmes sociaux et environnementaux les plus criants de la planète. Ces investissements produisent un rendement financier approprié, ajusté au risque, et font l’objet d’un rapport annuel.

L’investissement d’impact ne soutient pas uniquement notre vision d’être un promoteur actif d’une société durable, mais il élargit aussi le rendement de nos investissements au-delà des gains purement financiers, jusque dans le domaine des avantages sociaux et environnementaux. Les axes stratégiques de Co-operators en matière d’investissement d’impact sont les suivants :

  • Changements climatiques
  • Développement communautaire
  • Santé et mieux-être
  • Éducation
  • Alimentation, agriculture et ressources naturelles

En 2017, notre société de gestion de placements, Addenda Capital, a lancé le Fonds commun Addenda revenu fixe – investissement d’impact, le premier du genre au Canada, qui gère maintenant des investissements responsables totalisant 45,6 millions de dollars en actifs. Nous avons également dépassé notre objectif 2015-2018 visant à consacrer de 6 à 10 pour cent de nos actifs investis aux investissements d’impact. À l’heure actuelle, 13,1 % de nos 9,44 milliards de dollars de capital investi sont placés dans des titres ayant à la fois un bon rendement et des retombées environnementales ou sociales positives et mesurables.