Insurance Group Claims Investments About us

Protect your lifestyle with critical illness insurance

Nobody wants to spend time thinking about the possibility of a major illness. But life is unpredictable. And it pays to be protected and prepared, if you or a family member are diagnosed with a life-altering illness and you’re suddenly unable to work. The right critical illness insurance can offer financial stability at an especially challenging time, allowing you to focus on what’s most important: a strong and full recovery.

What We Offer

If you’re shopping for critical illness insurance in Canada, Critical Assist® or Critical Assist® – Head Start from Co‑operators is a great place to start. Adding to your standard coverage (for a wide range of conditions) are valuable benefits, like family-counselling services and direct access to medical experts. Read more about our solutions below and see if critical illness insurance is worth it for you.

Critical Assist®

Critical Assist® provides you and your family with a tax-free1 lump-sum payout if you’re diagnosed with one of 25 covered illnesses, or one of four Early Assist conditions. It can range from $25,000 to $2,000,000, depending on your level of coverage. If the illness falls under our Early Assist program, you’re eligible for a partial payment of 10% of the policy face amount, up to a maximum of $50,000. Our Early Assist program offers financial support for these less severe conditions and allows your policy to remain in force should you need to make a claim for the full amount in the future. In either case, the benefit can be used any way you wish. For example, it can help you:

  • Pay off a mortgage or loan
  • Cover childcare, housekeeping and other day-to-day costs
  • Subsidize additional health care that isn’t covered by a provincial plan
  • Keep up on TFSA, RRSP and RESP contributions

What's covered?

Critical Assist® provides coverage for 25 full-payout conditions. Here is the list of critical illnesses that are covered:

  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Aortic surgery
  • Aplastic anemia
  • Bacterial meningitis
  • Benign brain tumour
  • Blindness
  • Cancer (life-threatening)
  • Coma
  • Coronary artery bypass surgery
  • Deafness
  • Heart attack
  • Heart valve replacement
  • Kidney failure
  • Loss of independent existence2
  • Loss of limbs
  • Loss of speech
  • Major organ failure while on waiting list
  • Major organ transplant
  • Motor neuron disease
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Occupational HIV infection
  • Paralysis
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Severe burns
  • Stroke

Note: Coverage for full-payout conditions (except for loss of independent existence2) begins on the policy date3 and ends at expiry (age 75). Once you've received payment for a full-payout condition, your Critical Assist® coverage ends.

Beyond the covered conditions listed above, you’re also covered for four Early Assist partial-payout conditions. That means a partial benefit – equal to 10% of the face amount, up to a maximum of $50,000 – is payable, upon diagnoses of one of the following:

  • Coronary angioplasty
  • Non-invasive cancers:
    • Ductal carcinoma in situ of the breast (DCIS)
    • Stage T1a or T1b (stage A) prostate cancer
    • Stage 1A malignant melanoma (melanoma less than or equal to 1.0 mm in thickness)

Note: The policy will continue to cover you after a partial payment is made. You are eligible for only one Early Assist partial payment. There is no reduction of the policy face amount, if an Early Assist benefit is paid.

What's available?

At Co-operators, we offer four Critical Assist® plans to suit your needs:

  • Level premiums for 10 years and renewable for successive 10-year periods to age 75 (CA 10)
  • Level premiums for 25 years and renewable for successive 20-year periods to age 75 (CA 25)
  • Level premiums to age 75 (CA 75)
  • Level premiums for 20 years with coverage to age 75 (CA 20-Pay)

Note: The policy is available for ages 18 through 65 for CA 10 and CA 75, or ages 18 through 50 for CA 25 and CA 20-Pay.

Critical Assist® - Head Start

Critical Assist® – Head Start is designed to bring financial peace of mind, if your child is diagnosed with a covered condition. This helps you meet new or ongoing expenses, while you focus on your child’s illness and recovery. Benefits are paid in a tax-free1 lump sum and can range from $25,000 to $250,000, depending on the level of coverage you choose. You can initiate a plan for any child between the age of 30 days and 17 years. Every policy expires at the anniversary nearest age 75.

What's covered?

In addition to the 25 full-payout covered conditions and the four Early Assist partial-payout conditions, Critical Assist® – Head Start offers full-payout coverage for seven childhood-specific conditions:

  • Autism
  • Cerebral palsy
  • Congenital heart disease
  • Cystic fibrosis
  • Muscular dystrophy
  • Rett syndrome
  • Type 1 diabetes mellitus

1Tax rules and regulations may change at any time.

2Coverage for Loss of Independent Existence begins at age 18. It is defined as a definite diagnosis of the total inability to perform, by oneself, at least two of the six activities of daily living (bathing, dressing, toileting, bladder and bowel continence, transferring, or feeding) for a continuous period of at least 90 days with no reasonable chance of recovery.

3There is no coverage for cancer or benign brain tumours during the first 90 days following issue or every reinstatement of the policy. There is no coverage for Parkinson’s Disease during the first year following issue or every reinstatement of the policy.

Coverage for Autism and Rett Syndrome ends one day prior to the Insured child’s third birthday.


What else you should know

A variety of additional features can be accessed through different Critical Assist and Critical Assist® – Head Start policies:

Premium payback at death
If you pass away while your policy is in force, and if no full-payout claim has been paid, we will refund all of the premium payments you’ve made. This money will be paid directly to your beneficiary.
Conversion privileges
It’s easy to convert a 10-year or 25-year policy into longer-term coverage. Choose from level premiums to age 75 or level premiums for 20 years. No additional underwriting or proof of insurability is required.
Teladoc Medical Experts
You have instant access to Teladoc Medical Experts, a global network of more than 50,000 leading medical specialists. These experts can confirm your diagnosis, offer additional information and guidance about your condition, and help you find medical support in your area.
Counselling benefit
Upon diagnosis of a covered condition, you or your family members can take advantage of up to three hours of complimentary phone counselling.
Optional riders and benefits
You can customize your 75-year policy or 20-pay policy by adding optional critical illness riders and benefits, including: the Premium Payback at Expiry rider, the Premium Payback at Surrender rider, the Disability Premium Waiver benefit, and the Automatic Waiver of Premium (upon owner’s death or disability).
Find your critical illness coverage

Download our Getting Started Guide to initiate the life insurance discussion with your loved ones.

Download our Advisor Discussion Guide to help start the conversation with your financial advisor.

Affordable and flexible life insurance

Preparation and protection go hand in hand. With us as your partner, you can build the right plan for a better financial future.
Get a term life quote

Talk to us today

For personalized solutions that fit your needs and budget,
connect with a financial representative near you.

Assurance Collective Réclamations Placements À notre sujet

Protégez votre mode de vie grâce à l’assurance maladies graves

Personne ne veut passer du temps à redouter une maladie grave. Mais la vie est imprévisible. Une protection et une préparation adéquates vous seront d’un grand secours advenant un diagnostic de maladie grave qui vous empêcherait de travailler, vous ou quelqu’un de votre famille. La bonne assurance contre les maladies graves peut vous offrir une stabilité financière à un moment particulièrement difficile, vous permettant de vous concentrer sur l’essentiel : un rétablissement durable et complet.

Ce que nous offrons

Si vous cherchez une assurance maladies graves au Canada, la garantie Assistance critiqueMC ou Assistance critiqueMC – Première protection de Co-operators constitue un excellent point de départ. Outre votre protection de base (qui couvre un vaste éventail d’affections), vous bénéficiez d’avantages précieux, comme des services de consultation familiale et un accès direct à des expertes et experts médicaux. Apprenez-en plus sur nos solutions ci-dessous et voyez si l’assurance maladies graves répond à vos besoins.

Assistance critiqueMC

L’Assistance critiqueMD vous offre, à vous et à votre famille, une somme forfaitaire non imposable1 si vous recevez le diagnostic d’une des 25 maladies couvertes, ou d’une des quatre maladies couvertes par la prestation d’assistance immédiate. Cette somme peut aller de 25 000 $ à 2 000 000 $, selon le niveau de protection choisi. En cas de maladie couverte par notre programme d’assistance immédiate, vous êtes admissible à un paiement partiel de 10 % du capital assuré de la police, jusqu’à concurrence de 50 000 $. Offrant un soutien financier pour ces maladies moins graves, notre programme d’assistance immédiate permet à votre police de demeurer en vigueur si vous devez présenter une demande de règlement pour le montant total ultérieurement. Dans un cas comme dans l’autre, vous pouvez utiliser la prestation comme bon vous semble, notamment pour :

  • Rembourser un prêt hypothécaire ou personnel
  • Couvrir les frais de garde d’enfants, d’entretien ménager et d’autres frais courants
  • Subvenir aux soins de santé supplémentaires qui ne sont pas couverts par un régime provincial
  • Maintenir vos cotisations à un CELI, à un REER ou à un REEE

Assistance critiqueMC couvre 25 affections ouvrant droit à la prestation intégrale. Voici la liste des maladies graves couvertes :

  • Accident vasculaire cérébral
  • Anémie aplastique
  • Brûlures graves
  • Cancer (mettant la vie en danger)
  • Cécité
  • Chirurgie de l’aorte
  • Coma
  • Crise cardiaque
  • Déficience d’un organe vital avec inscription sur une liste d’attente en vue d’une greffe
  • Greffe d’un organe vital
  • Infection à VIH contractée au travail
  • Insuffisance rénale
  • Maladie d’Alzheimer
  • Maladie du motoneurone
  • Maladie de Parkinson
  • Méningite bactérienne
  • Paralysie
  • Perte d’autonomie2
  • Perte de membres
  • Perte de la parole
  • Pontage aortocoronarien
  • Remplacement d’une valvule cardiaque
  • Sclérose en plaques
  • Surdité
  • Tumeur cérébrale bénigne

Remarque : La protection pour les affections ouvrant droit à la prestation intégrale (sauf pour la perte d’autonomie2) prend effet à la date d’entrée en vigueur de la police3 et prend fin à l’expiration (75 ans). L’Assistance critiqueMC prend fin lorsqu’une prestation intégrale est versée.

Outre les affections couvertes énumérées ci-dessus, vous bénéficiez également d’une protection pour quatre maladies donnant droit au paiement d’une prestation d’assistance immédiate. Cela signifie que vous recevrez une prestation partielle – correspondant à 10 % du capital assuré, jusqu’à concurrence de 50 000 $ – en cas de diagnostic de l’une des affections suivantes :

  • Angioplastie coronarienne
  • Cancers non invasifs :
    • Carcinome canalaire in situ (CCIS) du sein
    • Cancer de la prostate au stade T1a ou T1b (stade A)
    • Mélanome malin au stade 1A (mélanome d’une épaisseur inférieure ou égale à 1 mm)

Remarque : La police demeure en vigueur après le versement d’une prestation partielle. Cependant, une seule prestation partielle d’assistance immédiate peut être accordée. De plus, le versement d’une prestation partielle n’entraîne pas une réduction du montant d’assurance de la police.

Co-operators offre quatre régimes d’Assistance critiqueMC pour répondre à vos besoins :

  • Primes nivelées pendant 10 ans et renouvelables pour des périodes successives de 10 ans jusqu’à 75 ans (AC 10)
  • Primes nivelées pendant 25 ans et renouvelables pour des périodes successives de 20 ans jusqu’à 75 ans (AC 25)
  • Primes nivelées jusqu’à 75 ans (AC 75)
  • Primes nivelées pendant 20 ans avec protection jusqu’à 75 ans (AC 20 primes)

Remarque : Cette police est offerte aux personnes âgées entre 18 et 65 ans (AC 10 et AC 75) ou 18 et 50 ans (AC 25 et AC 20 primes) à l’établissement.

Assistance critiqueMC – Première protection

Assistance critiqueMC – Première protection est conçue pour vous apporter la tranquillité financière si votre enfant reçoit un diagnostic d’une des affections couvertes. Elle vous aide à faire face aux dépenses nouvelles ou courantes pendant que vous vous concentrez sur la maladie et le rétablissement de votre enfant. La prestation est payable en un seul versement, libre d’impôt1, pouvant aller de 25 000 $ à 250 000 $, selon la protection choisie. Vous pouvez établir une protection pour les enfants qui ont de 30 jours à 17 ans. La police arrive à échéance à l’anniversaire contractuel le plus près du 75e anniversaire de naissance.

Outre les 25 affections donnant droit à une prestation intégrale et les quatre affections ouvrant droit à la prestation partielle d’assistance immédiate, Assistance critiqueMC – Première protection offre une prestation intégrale pour sept maladies propres à l’enfance :

  • Autisme
  • Diabète sucré de type 1
  • Dystrophie musculaire
  • Fibrose kystique
  • Maladies congénitales du cœur
  • Paralysie cérébrale
  • Syndrome de Rett

1Les lois et règlements régissant l’impôt sur le revenu peuvent être modifiés en tout temps.

2La couverture pour perte d’autonomie prend effet à l’âge de 18 ans. Diagnostic formel d’une incapacité totale et permanente d’effectuer par soi-même au moins deux des six activités de la vie quotidienne (se baigner, s’habiller, faire sa toilette, être continent, se mouvoir, se nourrir) sur une période continue d’au moins 90 jours sans espoir raisonnable de rétablissement.

3Les maladies suivantes ne sont pas couvertes : cancer ou tumeur cérébrale bénigne durant les 90 jours suivant l’émission ou une remise en vigueur de la police. La maladie de Parkinson n’est pas couverte pendant la première année suivant l’émission ou une remise en vigueur de la police.

La protection pour l’autisme et le syndrome de Rett prend fin un jour avant le troisième anniversaire de l’enfant assuré.


Ce que vous devez également savoir

Les différentes polices Assistance critiqueMC et Assistance critiqueMC – Première protection donnent accès à une variété d’avantages supplémentaires :

Remboursement des primes au décès
Advenant votre décès pendant que votre police est en vigueur, et si aucun paiement d’indemnité intégral n’a été effectué, nous rembourserons toutes les primes que vous avez payées. Cet argent sera versé directement à votre bénéficiaire.
Droit de transformation
Il est facile de transformer une police de 10 ou 25 ans en une assurance à plus long terme. Choisissez des primes nivelées jusqu’à l’âge de 75 ans ou des primes nivelées pendant 20 primes. Aucune autre tarification supplémentaire ni attestation d’assurabilité n’est requise.
Experts médicaux de Teladoc
Vous bénéficiez d’un accès instantané au service Experts médicaux de Teladoc, un réseau mondial de plus de 50 000 spécialistes médicaux de premier plan. Ces experts et expertes peuvent confirmer votre diagnostic, vous offrir des renseignements supplémentaires et des conseils sur votre maladie, et vous aider à trouver un soutien médical dans votre région.
Services de consultation
Si vous recevez un diagnostic d’une affection couverte, vous ou les membres de votre famille pouvez recevoir jusqu’à trois heures de consultation téléphonique gratuite.
Garanties et avenants facultatifs
Vous pouvez personnaliser votre police d’assurance jusqu’à 75 ans ou votre police de 20 ans en ajoutant des garanties et des avenants facultatifs d’assurance maladies graves, notamment : l’avenant de remboursement des primes à l’échéance, l’avenant de remboursement des primes au rachat, l’exonération des primes en cas d’invalidité et l’exonération automatique des primes (en cas de décès ou d’invalidité du titulaire).
Trouvez votre assurance maladies graves dès aujourd’hui

Téléchargez notre guide de départ pour entamer une discussion sur l’assurance vie avec vos proches.

Téléchargez notre guide de discussion avec votre conseillère ou conseiller pour alimenter la conversation avec votre conseiller ou conseillère en sécurité financière.

Assurance vie abordable et flexible

Préparation et protection vont de pair. En nous choisissant comme partenaire, vous pourrez élaborer le meilleur plan possible pour assurer votre avenir financier.
Soumission d’assurance vie temporaire

Parlons-en dès aujourd’hui

Pour des solutions personnalisées adaptées à vos besoins et à votre budget,
communiquez avec un représentant près de chez vous.