Co-operators Community Funds

Through Co-operators Community Funds (formerly known as the Community Economic Development Funds), we support organizations whose programming and services empower marginalized youth (aged 16 – 34) and individuals with mental health challenges to progress along their path toward employability. Since the funds' inception in 1995, we have disbursed $7.6 million through 400 grants.

To learn more about Co-operators Community Funds – Co-op Impact Program, click here.

2019 initiatives

In 2019, we granted a total of $582,250 to 28 organizations providing employment training and employment opportunities to marginalized youth and individuals with mental health challenges, helping them build capacity for self-reliance.

In addition to our grant-making role, we have expanded impact investments within our investment portfolio and have begun deploying invested assets toward smaller-scale community impact investments to generate further positive social and environmental outcomes.

In 2019, Co-operators Community Funds Board of Directors engaged in a strategic review to examine the non-profit sector and explore opportunities to reinforce our position as a leader in fostering resilient, healthy and sustainable communities. Recommendations from the strategic review are being implemented in 2020.

Organizations we supported in 2019

Learn about the organizations we funded in 2019 in our 2019 Annual Report.

Each year, we produce a video to showcase the types of impactful programming Co-operators Community Funds support. Check out our most recent video, which features CORE Neighbourhood Youth Co-operative, an organization based in Saskatoon, SK, providing inner-city youth the opportunity to develop transferable trade skills.

Play ▶

Application rounds

2020 and 2021

  • The application period for the spring 2020 funding round is now complete.

Spring 2021 funding round applications will be handed out starting October 15, 2020. Applications are due January 15, 2021 by 11:59 p.m. EST. Organizations interested in applying or requesting more information are invited to email us.

Fonds communautaires de Co-operators

Au moyen des Fonds communautaires de Co-operators (auparavant Fonds de développement économique communautaire), nous appuyons des organismes dont les programmes et les services contribuent au cheminement vers l’employabilité des jeunes marginalisés (de 16 à 34 ans) et des personnes souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale. Depuis la création des Fonds en 1995, nous avons versé 7,6 millions de dollars sous la forme de 400 subventions.

Projets en 2019

En 2019, nous avons versé au total 582 250 $ à 28 organismes qui offrent des programmes de formation et des possibilités d’emploi à des jeunes marginalisés et à des personnes souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale en vue de les aider à accroître leur autonomie.

En plus d’octroyer des subventions, nous avons augmenté la proportion des investissements d’impact dans notre portefeuille de placements et avons commencé à investir dans des occasions d’impact communautaire de moindre envergure afin de générer plus de retombées positives sur l’environnement et la société.

En 2019, le conseil d’administration des Fonds communautaires de Co-operators a entrepris un examen stratégique du secteur des organismes sans but lucratif pour cerner des occasions de renforcer notre position en tant que chef de file soucieux de bâtir des collectivités plus résilientes, prospères et durables. Les recommandations de cet examen stratégique sont en train d’être mises en œuvre.

Organismes que nous avons appuyés en 2019

Pour en savoir plus sur les organismes qui ont reçu du financement en 2019, consultez notre rapport annuel 2019.

Chaque année, en collaboration avec Co-op TV, nous produisons une vidéo pour présenter les types de programmes stimulants subventionnés par les Fonds communautaires de Co-operators. Regardez notre plus récente vidéo mettant en vedette l’organisme CORE Neighbourhood Youth Co-operative, qui offre aux jeunes marginalisés du centre-ville de Saskatoon la possibilité de développer des compétences transférables utiles à l’emploi.

Phases de financement

2020 et 2021

  • La période de présentation des demandes pour la phase de financement du printemps 2020 est maintenant terminée.
  • Des renseignements sur la phase de financement de l’automne seront publiés sur cette page Web dans les prochains mois.

Les demandes pour la phase de financement du printemps 2021 seront distribuées à compter du 15 octobre 2020. Elles devront être reçues au plus tard le 15 janvier 2021, à 23 h 59 HNE. Les organismes qui aimeraient présenter une demande ou obtenir plus de renseignements sont invités à communiquer avec nous par courriel.