How does an at-fault accident affect my coverage?

If you get into a car accident and you’re found to be at fault, there are usually repercussions with your insurance. Here are some options to minimize the damage to your insurance record.

At the accident scene

First and foremost, following an accident make sure everyone is ok. If there are any injuries, call 911. Here are other tips to keep in mind:

  • At the scene of an accident, it’s common to want to admit fault, especially if the other driver is distressed. Let the professionals in law enforcement determine if charges will be laid and let your insurance company handle fault determination; a false implication could needlessly hurt your insurance premiums.
  • If the other driver is acting abusive or pestering you for an admission of fault, keep your distance and wait for authorities to arrive.
  • Never drive away from the scene of an accident without getting the insurance and contact information of the other driver. If the other driver leaves, write down their licence plate so the authorities can locate them.

Print this car accident checklist for a detailed rundown of what to do after an accident.

How do I know if I am at fault?

Insurance companies assign different levels of fault to each driver involved in an accident. Many times, both drivers are somewhat at fault. You’ll get a detailed explanation of your insurance company’s findings.

How does it affect my premium?

If you’re determined to be at fault, you’ll see a premium increase at renewal, unless you have accident forgiveness on your policy. How much it goes up depends on the situation. You’ll be informed of these changes once the renewal term is available.

Accident forgiveness

Accident forgiveness is additional coverage you can purchase to protect yourself against premium increases in the event of an at-fault accident. If you’ve been accident-free and licensed for six years, your first accident will be forgiven if you have this optional coverage. Accident forgiveness insurance cannot be purchased after an accident has occurred.

Some restrictions apply. Must meet eligibility requirements. Not available for all vehicle types. Contact your Financial Advisor for more information.

Quels sont les effets d’un accident responsable sur mon assurance?

Tout accident d’automobile dont vous êtes jugé responsable a généralement des incidences sur votre assurance. Voici quelques façons de réduire ces incidences sur votre dossier d’assurance.

Sur les lieux de l’accident

À la suite d’un accident, assurez-vous tout d’abord que tout le monde va bien. S’il y a des blessés, composez le 911. Voici d’autres conseils à retenir :

  • Sur les lieux de l’accident, il est fréquent de vouloir admettre sa responsabilité, surtout si l’autre conducteur est bouleversé. Laissez les membres des services policiers et votre compagnie d’assurance déterminer qui est responsable; un aveu de responsabilité indu pourrait avoir une incidence négative sur vos primes d’assurance.
  • Si l’autre conducteur est violent ou vous harcèle pour que vous admettiez que vous êtes responsable de l’accident, gardez vos distances jusqu’à l’arrivée des autorités policières.
  • Ne quittez jamais les lieux de l’accident sans avoir obtenu au préalable les coordonnées et les renseignements d’assurance de l’autre conducteur. Si l’autre conducteur quitte les lieux, notez le numéro de sa plaque d’immatriculation pour que les autorités puissent le retrouver.

Imprimez cet aide-mémoire en cas d’accident de la route pour voir les détails de la marche à suivre après un accident.

Comment savoir si je suis responsable?

Les compagnies d’assurance accordent un degré de responsabilité différent à chacun des conducteurs impliqués dans un accident. Très souvent, les deux conducteurs ont chacun leur part de responsabilité dans l’accident. Vous obtiendrez une explication détaillée des conclusions de l’assureur.

Quel est l’effet de la responsabilité sur ma prime?

Si vous êtes jugé responsable, la prime de votre police augmentera au prochain renouvellement sauf si elle contient la garantie Amnistie en cas d’accident. L’importance de la hausse varie selon la situation. Vous serez informé du changement du montant de votre prime au moment du renouvellement.

Amnistie en cas d'accident

L’Amnistie en cas d’accident est une garantie complémentaire que vous pouvez souscrire pour vous protéger contre les hausses de prime consécutives à des accidents responsables. Si vous avez cette garantie, détenez votre permis de conduire depuis six ans et n’avez eu aucun accident durant cette période, nous ne tiendrons pas compte de votre premier accident. La garantie Amnistie en cas d’accident ne peut être souscrite après l’accident.

Certaines restrictions s’appliquent et il y a des critères d’admissibilité à respecter. Ajoutons que cette garantie n’est pas disponible pour tous les types de véhicules. Communiquez avec votre représentant pour en savoir plus.