Alec Blundell

Alec Blundell

Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer,
Co-operators Life Insurance Company
and President and Chief Operating Officer CUMIS

Regina, Saskatchewan

Alec leads the overall aspects of Life Insurance, Group Benefits, Creditor Insurance, and Wealth manufacturing and operations for Co-operators Life Insurance Company and CUMIS, including financial management, product development, profitability and insurance operations. He also leads the development of a Group Insurance Sales distribution network to deliver a full range of products.

Alec has 25 years of experience in the insurance industry. Prior to his current appointment as EVP and COO of Co-operators Life Insurance Company and President and COO for CUMIS, Alec was Vice President Individual Insurance and Chief Actuary, Life. In this role he oversaw the Individual Insurance line of business including product development, underwriting, and strategy. From 2011 to 2013 Alec was Director of Pricing and Product Support for Individual Insurance and Wealth Management and VP Individual Insurance for CUMIS from 2005 to 2011.

Alec sits on the board of The Edge Benefits and AZGA Services Canada on behalf of the Co-operators Group. He is a Fellow with the Canadian Institute of Actuaries and the Society of Actuaries and holds a mathematics degree in actuarial science with a minor in statistics from the University of Waterloo.

Alec Blundell

Alec Blundell

Premier vice-président et chef de l’exploitation,
Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie,
et président et chef de l’exploitation, CUMIS

Regina (Saskatchewan)

M. Blundell dirige l’ensemble des opérations et de la conception des produits d’assurance vie, d’assurance collective, d’assurance crédit et de gestion de patrimoine de Co-operators Vie et de CUMIS, notamment la gestion financière, le développement de produits, la rentabilité et les opérations d’assurance. Il dirige également l’expansion du réseau de distribution des ventes en assurance collective en vue d’offrir une gamme complète de produits.

M. Blundell compte plus de 25 ans d’expérience dans le secteur de l’assurance. Avant d’être nommé premier vice-président et chef de l’exploitation de Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie et président et chef de l’exploitation de CUMIS, il occupait le poste de vice président à l’assurance individuelle et d’actuaire en chef – Vie. Dans ses fonctions antérieures, il était chargé de superviser le secteur d’activité de l’Assurance individuelle, notamment le développement des produits, la souscription et la stratégie. De 2011 à 2013, M. Blundell a été directeur principal de la tarification et de la gestion de produits pour l’Assurance individuelle et la Gestion de patrimoine et avant cela, vice-président à l’assurance individuelle chez CUMIS de 2005 à 2011.

M. Blundell siège au conseil d’administration de The Edge Benefits et de Services AZGA Canada au nom du groupe de sociétés Co-operators. Il détient les titres de Fellow de l’Institut canadien des actuaires et de la Society of Actuaries, ainsi qu’un diplôme en mathématiques en actuariat avec mineure en statistique de l’Université de Waterloo.