Sustainable insurance products

We have a number of sustainable products in our insurance and wealth business areas that have been developed in alignment with our commitment to sustainability.

Vehicle Insurance

Hybrid or Electric Vehicle Discount

Drivers who choose to be kind to the environment by driving hybrid or electric vehicles receive an automatic 5% discount on their auto policy premiums.

En-route Auto Program®

The en-route Auto Program® is a usage-based insurance program that uses telematics technology to collect information about driving behaviour, including braking and acceleration, distance travelled, travel time, and environmental impact. Drivers automatically receive a 5 per cent discount for signing up, which can grow to as much as 25 per cent based on driving results. Currently available in Ontario only.

Home Insurance

Enviroguard®

With our Enviroguard® coverage for either homes or condominiums, you can choose to replace damaged property with more eco-friendly and sustainable products. For just $40** per year, we will pay an additional 10% of the claim amount up to $50,000 for repair or replacement of your damaged or destroyed property with more environmentally responsible alternatives, such as bamboo floors, ENERGY STAR approved appliances and other earth-conscious options.

The coverage includes:

  • Environmental building materials
  • Sustainable construction
  • Greener architecture
  • Renewable energy
  • Energy efficiency

Envirowise® Discount

Our Envirowise® discount offers a 10% savings for eligible Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certified dwellings through home insurance.

Power Generation

Wind turbines and solar panels are becoming more popular as sustainable methods of generating energy. If you’ve installed either of these, let us know so that we can make sure you have the right coverage to protect your investment. If your energy provider compensates you for the power you generate, we can also provide business interruption coverage of up to $20,000. Contact your Financial Advisor to learn more.

Comprehensive Water

Water-related events like flooding are now the most common type of natural disaster in Canada. Comprehensive Water covers your home against sudden and accidental water damage.

Fire Sprinkler Discount

Fire sprinklers can limit property damage and save lives. They are also less harmful to the environment because they reduce fire damage by up to 97 per cent and water damage by up to 90 per cent. Clients of Co-operators General Insurance Company whose homes are protected by automatic fire sprinkler systems may be eligible for a discount.

Wealth Products

Socially Responsible Investments (SRI)

We provide a range of SRI options for people who want to invest their funds in ways that generate both competitive financial gains and social returns.

Companies are evaluated on social criteria including excellence in environmental management, positive labour practices, human rights, and the avoidance of tobacco, weapons, alcohol or nuclear power as major sources of revenue.

Business insurance

Community Guard®

The Co-operators recognizes and respects the unique challenges facing the volunteer/non-profit sector, and its struggle to find accessible and affordable insurance coverage.

Our Community Guard® solution provides special insurance coverage to volunteer and non-profit organizations, and provides rate stability to assist with the planning and budgeting process.

Co-op Guard®

Having the right insurance and employee benefit programs is important for a co-operative like yours. Count on one of our specially trained financial advisors to tailor a plan to the needs of your co-operative, with rates that won’t stretch your budget.

Co-op Guard® combines all the protection you need in one complete package.

Farm insurance

Solar panel installation insurance

Photovoltaic installations are subject to a number of issues, including weather damage. This insurance is specifically designed to cover solar panels and related equipment on farms. It even covers installations by third parties that are renting rooftops to produce power.

Claims

In addition to providing clients with sustainable product choices, we are rethinking repair solutions to reduce waste within our claims operations.

When possible, our claims adjusters work with vendors and clients to find environmentally preferred solutions for home and auto claim repairs, including paintless dent repair for automobiles and products that enable us to repair, rather than replace, vinyl siding on homes.

Through our ReClaim program we donate salvaged property and building materials to ReStores, reducing waste and contributing to Habitat for Humanity building projects across Canada.

Produits d’assurance durables

Nous offrons toute une gamme de produits de placement et d’assurance conçus conformément à notre engagement envers le développement durable.

Assurance automobile

Rabais pour véhicules hybrides ou électriques

Les automobilistes qui se montrent généreux envers l’environnement en conduisant des véhicules hybrides ou électriques reçoivent automatiquement un rabais de 5 % sur leurs primes d’assurance automobile.

Programme auto en-routeMC

Le Programme auto en-routeMC utilise la télématique pour faire le suivi de données de conduite, notamment les freinages et accélérations, les distances parcourues, la durée des trajets et l’impact environnemental. Les conducteurs reçoivent dès leur inscription un rabais de 5 %, qui peut grimper jusqu’à 25 % en fonction de la qualité de leur conduite. Ce programme n’est pas offert dans toutes les provinces.

Assurance habitation

EnvirogardeMD

Grâce à notre garantie EnvirogardeMD sur votre maison ou votre copropriété, vous pouvez choisir de remplacer vos biens endommagés à l’aide de matériaux plus écologiques et durables. À partir de 40 $** par année, nous bonifierons de 10 % l’indemnisation à laquelle vous avez droit, à concurrence de 50 000 $. Vous pourrez utiliser ce montant pour choisir des solutions plus écologiques pour réparer ou remplacer vos biens endommagés ou détruits, notamment des planchers en bambou, des appareils électroménagers homologués ENERGY STAR et d’autres options respectueuses de l’environnement.
La garantie comprend :

  • les matériaux de construction écologiques
  • les techniques de construction respectueuses de l’environnement
  • l’architecture plus « verte »
  • les énergies renouvelables
  • l’efficacité énergétique

Rabais Enviro-choixMD

Notre rabais Enviro-choixMD représente une économie de 10 % sur l’assurance habitation des bâtiments admissibles certifiés LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design).

Production d'électricité

Les éoliennes et les panneaux solaires sont de plus en plus populaires comme sources renouvelables d’énergie. Si vous possédez un tel équipement, veuillez nous en informer afin que nous puissions nous assurer que vous bénéficiez d’une protection à la hauteur de votre investissement. Par ailleurs, si votre fournisseur d’énergie vous dédommage pour l’électricité produite, nous pouvons vous offrir une protection contre les pertes d’exploitation pouvant atteindre 20 000 $. Communiquez avec votre représentant pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet.

Eau multirisque

Les phénomènes liés à l’eau, comme les inondations, représentent maintenant le type de catastrophe naturelle le plus fréquent au Canada. Eau multirisque protège votre maison contre les dégâts d’eau accidentels et soudains.

Rabais pour gicleurs automatiques

En cas d’incendie, les gicleurs automatiques peuvent limiter les dommages et sauver des vies. Ils sont aussi moins préjudiciables pour l’environnement parce qu’ils réduisent les dommages causés par l’incendie de jusqu’à 97 % et les dommages causés par l’eau de 90 %. Les clients de la Compagnie d’assurance générale Co-operators dont les habitations sont protégées par un système de gicleurs automatiques peuvent être admissibles à un rabais.

Produits de placement

Les investissements socialement responsables (ISR) :

Nous offrons toute une gamme d’ISR à nos clients qui veulent faire des placements rentables aussi bien sur le plan financier que social.

Nous évaluons les sociétés de placement en fonction de critères sociaux, comme l’excellence en gestion environnementale, les pratiques de travail positives, les droits de la personne et l’évitement du tabac, des armes, de l’alcool ou de la puissance nucléaire comme principales sources de revenu.

Assurance entreprise

Garde-collectivitéMD

Co-operators reconnaît les enjeux uniques auxquels sont confrontés les organismes sans but lucratif et est consciente de leurs difficultés à trouver des assurances abordables.

Notre produit Garde-collectivitéMD fournit une protection d’assurance spécifique, adaptée aux organismes bénévoles et sans but lucratif, et offre un taux stable qui permet de simplifier le processus de planification et de budgétisation.

Garde-coopMD

Il est essentiel pour une coopérative comme la vôtre de compter sur de bons régimes d’assurance, notamment en matière d’assurance collective. Nos représentants ont reçu une formation spéciale à l’égard de ce type de protection. Ils sauront donc vous offrir un régime personnalisé, abordable et adapté à votre situation..

Garde-coopMD rassemble toutes les garanties nécessaires en un seul forfait.

Assurance agricole

Assurance des panneaux solaires

Le matériel photovoltaïque est sujet à de nombreux risques, notamment les dommages causés par les intempéries. Cette assurance est conçue spécialement pour protéger vos panneaux solaires et le matériel connexe installés dans votre ferme. Nous offrons même une protection pour les installations de tiers qui louent votre toiture en vue de produire de l’énergie.

Sinistres

En plus d’offrir toute une gamme de produits durables à nos clients, nous cherchons des moyens de favoriser la réparation de matériel en cas de sinistre afin de réduire la quantité de déchets générés.

Dans la mesure du possible, nos experts en sinistres recherchent avec nos fournisseurs et nos clients des solutions plus écologiques pour réparer les habitations et les automobiles sinistrées, notamment le débosselage sans peinture et l’utilisation de produits permettant de réparer, et non remplacer, le bardage en vinyle des habitations.

Dans le cadre du programme de récupération de Co-operators, nous donnons des biens et des matériaux de construction récupérés aux magasins ReStore pour réduire la quantité de déchets et contribuer aux projets d’Habitat pour l’humanité partout au Canada.