Co-operators Accessibility Plan Details

Overview

This policy applies to Co-operators Group Limited and its subsidiary organizations in which it has a majority ownership (collectively referred to herein as ‘Co-operators’). Co-operators commits to providing an inclusive and barrier-free environment, resulting in an accessible organization for staff, customers, and other parties who interact with or on our behalf. We strive to achieve a workplace free of discrimination on the basis of physical or mental disability, or medical condition. We support the full inclusion of persons with disabilities as set out in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, Canadian human rights laws and by federal and provincial legislations. This policy governs how we provide our services in accordance with the requirements of accessibility customer service standards.

Our Commitment

We commit to ensuring the services we provide are as accessible as possible to persons with disabilities and are compliant with applicable accessibility legislation. To fulfil this commitment, Co-operators has developed inclusive policies and procedures that mirror the standards established by accessibility legislation. These policies and procedures are regularly monitored and reviewed to ensure access and accommodation for all persons with disabilities. Persons with disabilities are defined under federal and provincial human rights legislations.

Our organization supports and promotes the rights of all persons with disabilities. Co-operators also affirms the rights of all persons, including those with disabilities, to have access to equal opportunity in employment, policies or business dealings with Co-operators. We promote the principles of dignity, independence, integration, and equal opportunity in all of our policies and interactions with persons with disabilities.

Delivering Key Requirements for an Inclusive Environment

Co-operators commits to excellence in serving all customers, including those with disabilities, and will carry out our functions and responsibilities in an accessible manner. Each request for accommodation is assessed on a case-by-case basis. In addition, we employ these key requirements:

Use of Assistive Devices, Service Animals and Support Persons Co-operators welcomes persons with disabilities who require assistive devices or are accompanied by a service animal or a support person. We will ensure staff are properly trained on how to interact with persons with disabilities who are accompanied by a service animal or a support person.

Notice of Temporary Disruption

Co-operators will provide customers with notice in the event of any disruption in the facilities or services usually used by persons with disabilities. This notice will include information about the reason for the disruption, its anticipated duration, and a description of alternative facilities or services, if available. Notice of a service disruption will be placed in a conspicuous area and/or communicated by any method deemed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Training

We provide training to all staff as well as ensure that the staff of any third parties acting on our behalf have received training on serving our customers with disabilities. Training will cover the following:

  • How to interact and communicate with persons with various types of disabilities.
  • How to interact with persons with disabilities who use an assistive device or require the assistance of a service animal or a support person.
  • How to use any of Co-operators assistive devices.
  • What to do if a person with a particular type of disability is having difficulty accessing Co-operators goods and services.

We take pride in serving all customers, including persons with disabilities, by removing barriers to their full participation that might arise in the course of doing business. We commit to ensure the following:

Barriers

We have taken action to reduce and eliminate barriers in our environment for staff, and customers with disabilities as well providing services to these individuals in accordance with the requirements of all human rights legislation and other federal and provincial legislation. Co-operators reviews and changes as necessary its policies, practices, and procedures to reflect any changes that have been made in legislation. We take the following steps in our day-to-day business activities:

  • identification of barriers
  • removal of Identified barriers
  • prevention of barriers
  • increase awareness of accessibility initiatives at all levels of the organization
  • promotion of compliance policies and procedures with respect to accessibility to both staff and customers

Communication: We communicate with persons with disabilities in ways that take into account their disability.

Telephone Services: We commit to provide a fully accessible telephone interface to our customers and potential customers. We have trained staff to communicate with customers over the telephone in clear and plain language and to speak in a way that takes into account the person’s disability if requested by the customer. We offer to communicate with customers using email if telephone communication is not suitable to their communication needs or is not available. Training has been provided to our staff on how to receive a call from the TTY Relay system.

Assistive Devices: We commit to serving persons with disabilities who use assistive devices to obtain, use or benefit from our services and as such, customers are free to use their personal assistive devices in any Co-operators environment. Co-operators offers other measures that may assist our customers while on site and we will ensure that our staff members are familiar with the various assistive devices that may be used by customers. Assistive devices for access to specific services shall be kept in good working order and the public shall be informed of their availability. In cases where the assistive device presents a safety concern or where accessibility might be an issue, all reasonable efforts will be made to facilitate access to our services.

Documentation: All published documents are available in hard copy, large print and email on request. We provide accessible invoices to all our customers. We will answer any questions customers may have about the content of the invoice in person, by telephone or email.

Public Safety: In preparing emergency procedures, plans, and public safety information documents, Co-operators ensures that all documents that are made available to the public will be made available in an accessible format or with appropriate communication supports, upon request.

Scent Sensitive Environment

Due to health concerns related to exposure to scented products, such as perfumes and colognes, staff and visitors are asked to be considerate in their use of such products when on company premises. We commit to minimizing such environmental triggers, maintaining a high indoor air quality and reducing chemical-based scents/fragrance from our work environments wherever it is possible and reasonable to do so. We believe a scent-reduced work environment will benefit everyone and we commit to provide a safe and healthy environment for all staff and visitors.

Co-operators has Workplace Accommodation Policies and a Medical Leave Policy, both of which support the development of individual accommodation plans and return-to work policies for staff with accessibility needs. These policies support the development of individual accommodation plans for staff with accessibility needs through the performance reports, career development, and redevelopment process.

Employment

Co-operators values an including, diverse, equitable, and accessible work environment, and we commit to meet the needs of persons with disabilities during the recruitment process. If you are contacted for an interview and require an accommodation, please contact the hiring manager. Upon request, Co-operators will accommodate persons with disabilities during the recruitment and assessment process and when people are hired. Additional details are available on our Careers page.

Recruitment, Assessment, and Selection Process

We will notify job applicants when they are selected to participate further in an assessment or selection process that accommodations are available upon request in relation to the materials or processes to be used. If a selected applicant requests accommodation, Co-operators will consult with the applicant to arrange for the provision that considers the applicant’s accessibility needs. When making offers of employment, Co-operators will notify the successful applicant of its policies for accommodating staff with disabilities.

Informing Staff of Supports: Staff are informed of the policies used to support staff with disabilities, including but not limited to policies on the provision of job accommodation that take into account a staff member’s accessibility needs due to a disability. This information will be provided to new staff as soon as possible after commencing employment.

Accessible Formats and Communication Support for Staff: Upon a request from a staff member with a disability, Co-operators will consult with the staff member to arrange for the provision of accessible formats that is needed to perform the staff member’s role, and information that is generally available to other staff.

Documented Individual Accommodation Plans: Co-operators maintains a written process for the development of documented individual accommodation plans for staff with disabilities. For further information on our process for creating documented accommodation plans for staff with disabilities, please contact hrsharedservices@cooperators.ca.

Return to Work Process: We commit to supporting staff who have been absent from work due to illness, injury, or disability, and require accommodation to return to work. We will work with the returning staff member and other stakeholders to create an individualized return-to-work plan to ensure a successful reintegration of the staff member into the workplace.

Performance Management, Career Development, Advancement and Redeployment: Co-operators commits to providing all staff equal opportunity for advancement. Co-operators takes into account the accessibility needs of its staff members with disabilities, as well as individual accommodation plans (where they are in place), when undertaking performance management, and providing career development and advancement to staff with disabilities. When conducting any redeployment initiatives, Co-operators also considers the accessibility needs and individual accommodation plans (where they are in place).

Staff Workplace Emergency Response: Should any staff at Co-operators with a disability, whether permanent or temporary, require a personalized workplace emergency response plan, Co-operators will create such document as soon as reasonably possible from the receipt of the request from the staff member. Co-operators will work with the staff member, their leader, and the Occupational Health and Safety committee for that location to ensure a plan is in place in the event of an emergency. Should circumstances change that impact the original response plan, Co-operators will respond with an updated plan as soon as reasonably possible.

Design of Public Space Policy

Co-operators meets the accessibility standards for the design of public spaces set out within the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005.

Communication and Feedback Process

Co-operators commits to meeting the communication needs of persons with disabilities. While we do our best to ensure documents in other formats (such as PDF) are accessible, this is not feasible in all cases. In these instances, we will consult with the individual making the request to find an alternate solution that takes their disability into consideration.

Comments on our services and how well those expectations are being met are welcomed and appreciated. Co-operators will review all customer feedback, examine its relevance to our policies and to our accessibility commitments, and identify actions or steps to rectify to the customer’s satisfaction. Feedback can be shared through your Advisor, our corporate website, by email to hrsharedservices@cooperators.ca, or in written format to Human Resources at 130 Macdonell St, Guelph, ON N1H 6P8.

Questions Concerning This Policy

Any questions should be directed to Human Resources at hrsharedservices@cooperators.ca.

Détails du plan d’accessibilité de Co-operators

Présentation générale

La présente politique s’applique au Groupe Co-operators limitée et à ses filiales dans lesquelles il détient une participation majoritaire (ci-après appelées « Co-operators »). Co-operators s’engage à offrir un environnement inclusif et exempt d’obstacles, ce qui se traduit par une entreprise accessible pour le personnel, les clients et les autres parties qui interagissent avec nous ou en notre nom. Nous nous efforçons de favoriser un milieu de travail sans aucune toute discrimination fondée sur un handicap physique ou mental, ou sur un problème de santé. Nous soutenons la pleine inclusion des personnes handicapées, comme le stipulent la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, les lois canadiennes sur les droits de la personne et les législations fédérales et provinciales. Cette politique régit la manière dont nous fournissons nos services conformément aux exigences des normes de service à la clientèle en matière d’accessibilité.

Notre engagement

Nous nous engageons à fournir des services qui soient aussi accessibles que possible aux personnes handicapées et soient conformes à la législation applicable en matière d’accessibilité. Afin de respecter cet engagement, Co-operators a instauré des politiques et des procédures inclusives qui reflètent les normes établies par la législation sur l’accessibilité. Ces politiques et procédures sont régulièrement examinées et revues afin de garantir l’accès et l’adaptation à toutes les personnes handicapées. Les personnes handicapées sont définies dans les législations fédérales et provinciales sur les droits de la personne.

Notre entreprise soutient et promeut les droits de toutes les personnes handicapées. Co-operators affirme également le droit de toutes les personnes, y compris les personnes handicapées, à l’égalité des chances en matière d’emploi, de politiques ou de relations d’affaires avec Co-operators. Nous adoptons les principes de dignité, d’indépendance, d’intégration et d’égalité des chances dans toutes nos politiques et interactions avec les personnes handicapées.

Satisfaction aux exigences fondamentales d’un environnement inclusif

Co-operators s’engage à offrir un excellent service à tous ses clients, y compris les personnes handicapées, et s’acquittera de ses fonctions et responsabilités de manière accessible. Chaque demande d’accommodement est évaluée au cas par cas. En outre, nous respectons ces exigences essentielles :

Recours à des appareils fonctionnels, des animaux d’assistance et des personnes de soutien

Co-operators accueille les personnes handicapées qui ont besoin d’appareils fonctionnels ou qui sont accompagnées d’un animal d’assistance ou d’une personne de soutien. Nous veillerons à ce que le personnel soit correctement formé sur la manière d’interagir avec des personnes handicapées qui se servent d’appareils fonctionnels ou qui sont accompagnées d’un animal d’assistance ou d’une personne de soutien.

Avis d’interruption temporaire

Co-operators avisera ses clients de toute interruption des installations ou des services que les personnes handicapées utilisent habituellement. L’avis donnera les raisons de l’interruption, sa durée prévue et une description des installations ou services de rechange, s’il y a lieu. L’avis d’interruption de service sera affiché bien en vue ou communiqué par tout moyen jugé raisonnable selon les circonstances.  

Formation

Nous assurons la formation de l’ensemble du personnel et veillons également à ce que tout employé d’un tiers qui agit pour notre compte ait reçu la formation sur la façon de servir les clients handicapés. La formation portera sur ce qui suit :

  • Comment interagir et communiquer avec des personnes ayant divers handicaps.
  • Comment interagir avec des personnes handicapées qui se servent d’appareils fonctionnels ou qui sont accompagnées d’un animal d’assistance ou d’une personne de soutien.
  • Comment utiliser les appareils fonctionnels de Co-operators.
  • Que faire lorsqu’une personne qui a un handicap particulier éprouve des difficultés d’accès aux biens et aux services de Co-operators.

Nous sommes fiers de servir tous les clients, y compris les personnes handicapées, en supprimant tous les obstacles qui pourraient limiter leur entière participation au traitement de leurs affaires. Nous nous engageons à ce qui suit :

Obstacles

Nous avons pris des mesures pour réduire et supprimer les obstacles présents dans notre environnement au profit des employés et des clients handicapés, et pour leur offrir des services qui répondent aux exigences de la législation en matière de droits de la personne et des autres lois fédérales et provinciales. Co-operators revoit et modifie ses politiques, ses pratiques et ses procédures de manière à refléter toute modification apportée à la législation. Nous prenons les mesures suivantes dans le cadre de nos activités commerciales quotidiennes :

  • repérer les obstacles
  • supprimer les obstacles repérés
  • prévenir les obstacles
  • accroître la sensibilisation à l’égard des initiatives visant l’accessibilité à tous les niveaux de l’entreprise
  • faire la promotion des politiques et des procédures en matière d’accessibilité pour les employés et les clients

Communication : Nous communiquerons avec les personnes handicapées en tenant compte de leur handicap.

Services téléphoniques : Nous nous engageons à offrir des services téléphoniques entièrement accessibles à nos clients, actuels et potentiels. Nous avons formé le personnel pour qu’il communique avec les clients dans un langage clair et qu’il parle distinctement et lentement si un client en fait la demande. Nous offrirons aux clients de communiquer avec eux par courriel lorsque le téléphone n’est pas adapté à leurs besoins ou n’est pas disponible. Une formation a été donnée à notre personnel sur la manière de recevoir un appel du système relais ATS.

Appareils fonctionnels : Nous nous engageons à servir les personnes handicapées qui utilisent des appareils fonctionnels pour accéder à nos services. Les clients peuvent donc utiliser leurs appareils partout dans l’environnement de Co-operators. Co-operators met d’autres mesures de l’avant pour aider les clients qui se présentent sur place, et nous nous assurerons que nos employés connaissent bien les divers appareils fonctionnels que peuvent utiliser les clients. Les appareils fonctionnels permettant l’accès à des services particuliers doivent être conservés en bon état et le public doit être informé de leur disponibilité. Dans les cas où les appareils fonctionnels présentent un problème de sécurité ou d’accessibilité, tous les efforts raisonnables seront déployés pour faciliter l’accès à nos services.

Documentation : Tous les documents publiés peuvent être obtenus sur demande en format papier, en gros caractères et par courriel. Nous fournissons des factures accessibles à tous nos clients. Nous répondrons en personne, par téléphone ou par courriel à toute question des clients sur le contenu d’une facture.

Sécurité publique : Lors de la préparation de procédures d’urgence, de plans et de documents d’information sur la sécurité publique, Co-operators s’assure que tous les documents mis à la disposition du public seront disponibles dans un format accessible ou par l’entremise de services de communication appropriés, sur demande.  

Environnement sans odeur

En raison des problèmes de santé découlant de l’exposition aux produits parfumés, comme les parfums et eaux de Cologne, il est demandé au personnel et aux visiteurs de faire preuve de considération à cet égard dans les locaux de l’entreprise. Nous nous engageons à limiter de tels déclencheurs, à maintenir la qualité de l’air intérieur et à réduire les odeurs chimiques et les parfums de notre milieu de travail, partout où il est possible et raisonnable de le faire. Conformément à notre engagement à offrir un milieu de travail sain et sécuritaire à chacun de nos employés et visiteurs, nous croyons qu’un environnement sans odeur profitera à tous.

Co-operators a mis en place des politiques d’accommodement en milieu de travail et de congé de maladie qui appuient l’établissement de plans d’accommodement individuels et de politiques de retour au travail pour les employés ayant des besoins en matière d’accessibilité. Ces politiques soutiennent l’établissement de plans d’accommodement individuels pour les employés ayant des besoins d’accessibilité par l’entremise de rapports sur le rendement, de plans de carrière et de processus de reconversion.

Emploi

Co-operators prône la diversité, l’équité, l’inclusion, l’accessibilité en milieu de travail. Nous nous engageons à répondre aux besoins des personnes handicapées lors du processus de recrutement. Si nous vous convoquons pour une entrevue et que vous avez des besoins particuliers, veuillez communiquer avec le gestionnaire recruteur. Sur demande, Co-operators accommodera les personnes handicapées pendant le processus de recrutement et d’évaluation, et au moment de l’embauche. Des détails supplémentaires sont disponibles sur notre page Carrières.

Processus de recrutement, d’évaluation et de sélection

Lorsque des candidats seront sélectionnés pour participer à un processus d’évaluation ou de sélection, nous les informerons que des accommodements sont disponibles sur demande en ce qui concerne le matériel ou les processus à utiliser. Si un candidat sélectionné demande des accommodements, Co-operators consultera le candidat pour prendre des dispositions qui tiennent compte de ses besoins en matière d’accessibilité. Lorsqu’elle fait une offre d’emploi, Co-operators informe le candidat retenu de ses politiques en matière d’accommodements pour le personnel handicapé.

Renseigner le personnel sur l’aide offerte : Le personnel est informé des politiques appliquées pour soutenir le personnel handicapé, notamment les politiques relatives aux adaptations du lieu de travail qui tiennent compte des besoins d’accessibilité d’un employé en raison d’un handicap. Ces informations seront fournies aux nouveaux employés après leur entrée en fonction, dès que possible.

Formats et services de communication accessibles pour le personnel : À la demande d’un employé handicapé, Co-operators le consultera afin de prendre des dispositions pour lui fournir les formats accessibles dont il a besoin pour s’acquitter de ses fonctions, ainsi que les renseignements qui sont généralement accessibles aux autres employés.

Plans d’accommodement individuels documentés : Co-operators maintient un processus écrit en ce qui concerne les demandes documentées de plans d’accommodement individuels pour les employés handicapés. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur notre processus de création de plans d’accommodement documentés pour les employés handicapés, veuillez contacter hrsharedservices@cooperators.ca.

Processus de retour au travail : Nous nous engageons à soutenir les employés qui se sont absentés du travail pour cause de maladie, de blessure ou d’invalidité et qui ont besoin d’accommodements pour reprendre le travail. Nous travaillerons avec l’employé qui reprend le travail et d’autres parties prenantes pour créer un plan de retour individualisé afin de garantir une réintégration réussie.

Gestion du rendement, plan de carrière, avancement et réaffectation : Co-operators s’engage à offrir à tous les employés des chances égales d’avancement. Co-operators tient compte des besoins d’accessibilité de ses employés handicapés, ainsi que des plans d’accommodement individuels (lorsqu’ils sont en place), lorsqu’elle procède à la gestion du rendement et offre des plans de carrière et des possibilités d’avancement aux employés handicapés. Lors de toute initiative de réaffectation, Co-operators tient également compte des besoins en matière d’accessibilité et des plans d’accommodement individuels (lorsqu’ils sont en place).  

Intervention d’urgence pour les employés en milieu de travail : Si un employé de Co-operators ayant un handicap, qu’il soit permanent ou temporaire, a besoin d’un plan d’intervention d’urgence personnalisé pour son milieu de travail, Co-operators créera ce document dès qu’il sera raisonnablement possible de le faire à compter de la réception de la demande de l’employé. Co-operators travaillera en collaboration avec l’employé, son gestionnaire et le comité de santé et sécurité au travail de l’endroit en question pour s’assurer qu’un plan soit en place en cas d’urgence. Si les circonstances changent et remettent en question le plan d’intervention initial, Co-operators répondra par un plan mis à jour dès que possible.

Politique sur l’aménagement de l’espace public

Co-operators respecte les normes d’accessibilité pour la conception des espaces publics énoncées dans la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario.

Communication et commentaires

Co-operators s’engage à répondre aux besoins de communication des personnes handicapées. Bien que nous fassions de notre mieux pour nous assurer que les documents soient offerts en d’autres formats (p. ex. PDF) soient eux aussi accessibles, ce n’est pas toujours possible. Dans un tel cas, nous consulterons la personne qui a présenté la demande afin de trouver une autre solution qui tient compte de son handicap.

Nous accueillons avec plaisir les commentaires sur nos services et sur la manière dont nous répondons aux besoins des clients. Co-operators examinera attentivement tous les commentaires des clients, vérifiera leur pertinence aux termes de nos politiques et de nos engagements envers l’accessibilité et décidera des mesures à prendre pour mieux répondre aux besoins de la clientèle. Vous pouvez nous faire part de vos commentaires en les transmettant à votre conseiller, en visitant notre site Web ou par courrier électronique à l’adresse suivante hrsharedservices@cooperators.ca ou par écrit aux Ressources humaines au 130, rue Macdonell, Guelph (Ontario) N1H 6P8.

Questions concernant la présente politique

Toute question doit être envoyée aux Ressources humaines à hrsharedservices@cooperators.ca