Take action to reduce cyber risks and protect your business

In today’s complex, digital landscape, businesses of all sizes and all industries are susceptible to cyber breaches. As companies embrace increasing numbers of remote workers, who log in from home networks and use personal devices, security threats become ever more prevalent. These risks can include phishing attacks, malware infections, electronic-funds-transfer schemes, employee error and more.

What is a cyber breach?

A cyber breach – also called a privacy breach or data breach – occurs when sensitive, protected or confidential data is exposed to an unsafe environment, intentionally or unintentionally. And it can happen quickly. All it takes is one misplaced laptop or one click on a malicious email for unauthorized users to gain access to private or sensitive information, leading to lost or misused data that may involve:

  • Full names, addresses, phone numbers and emails
  • Driver’s licences
  • Social insurance numbers
  • Credit-card and bank details
  • Personal health information
  • Biometrics

While a response plan, along with the right cyber insurance coverage, is vital to guard against expenses, interruptions and liabilities resulting from a cyber breach, there’s another critical side to the cyber-security coin: prevention. Taking a proactive approach can help you avoid a range of cyber losses. Here’s a look at three steps to thwart threats and secure your valuable data.

1. Employee training programs and simulations

Most cyber breaches are the result of human error. Employee training and education can make a big difference. When your staff is aware of the risks, they can help your business avoid threats and strengthen your organization’s cyber-security culture. The Canadian Centre for Cyber Security recommends organizations train their employees to:

  • Create unique passphrases and complex passwords for all accounts
  • Use the internet and social media safely in the workplace
  • Use approved software and mobile applications
  • Identify and report malicious emails

Then, to make sure your training hits the mark, put your staff to the test with simulated attacks. This will give you an idea of how employees respond to different types of threats. For example, try a phishing test by sending a phony malicious email to see if recipients open attachments and click on links.

2. Vulnerability scans and penetration tests

You can also test your organization’s defences with vulnerability scans and penetration tests.

  • Vulnerability scans use automated tools to check networks, systems and applications for security weaknesses. Common vulnerabilities include substandard backup and recovery, weak authentication management, and poor network monitoring.
  • Penetration tests, also known as a “pen test” or “ethical hacking,” use a mix of tools to identify and exploit vulnerabilities.

Think of the difference between vulnerability scanners and penetration testing like this: A vulnerability scan is like walking up to a door, checking to see if it’s unlocked, and stopping there. A penetration test checks the lock, then tries to open the door and walk through.

3. Cyber security consultants

For added protection, consider hiring cyber security consultants. These experts provide a range of support with IT systems auditing and monitoring, firewall building and regulatory compliance. Cyber security consultants typically provide input into every contact point between employees and company data (e.g., devices, applications, data storage, internal networks, etc.). Knowing how staff interact digitally allows these experts to identify and mitigate potential weaknesses.

Cooperators Cyber Guard: Support you can count on, just in case

No matter how vigilant your defence, no plan is foolproof. Designed for businesses of all sizes and across all industries, Cooperators Cyber Guard protects your business if your confidential data is compromised. We offer two coverage levels:

  1. Our standard Cyber Guard package – included on eligible Co-operators Business insurance policies.
  2. Our enhanced Cyber Guard Select package – with more protection, higher limits and flexible add-ons.

Both packages include free access to claims support and emergency-response services from CyberScout® (a SontiqTM brand), our trusted risk-management partner in cyber security and protection. In addition to investigating a threat and reducing its impact, their support includes filing your Cyber Guard claim and managing the claims process from start to finish. They’ll keep your business up and running with the counselling you need, as soon as you need it.

Want to enhance your personal cyber resiliency? Here’s how to protect yourself from some of the most common security risks.

Coverage provided on a claims made and reported basis, i.e. claims must be made against the insured and reported during the policy period for coverage to apply. Commercial insurance is underwritten by Cooperators General Insurance Company. Please refer to your policy for applicable coverage limitations and exclusions. Not all products are available in all provinces.

CyberScout® is a registered trademark of SontiqTM. Cooperators® is a registered trademark of The Cooperators Group Limited. Cooperators General Insurance Company is committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information that we collect, use, retain and disclose in the course of conducting our business. Please visit cooperators.ca/privacy. To contact us, visit cooperators.ca or call 1-877-545-2667 (in Quebec, call 1-877-630-2667).

Agissez pour réduire vos cyberrisques et protéger votre entreprise

Dans l’univers numérique complexe d’aujourd’hui, les entreprises de toutes tailles et de tous secteurs peuvent être victimes de cyberinfractions. Qui plus est, la présence croissante dans les entreprises de télétravailleurs et télétravailleuses qui se connectent à partir de réseaux domestiques et utilisent leurs appareils personnels augmente la prévalence des menaces à la sécurité. Pensons notamment aux attaques d’hameçonnage, aux infections par logiciels malveillants, aux stratagèmes de transfert électronique de fonds, aux erreurs commises par le personnel, etc.

Qu’est-ce qu’une cyberinfraction?

Les cyberinfractions, aussi appelées atteintes à la vie privée ou à la confidentialité, surviennent lorsque des données sensibles, protégées ou confidentielles sont exposées, de façon intentionnelle ou non, à un environnement non sécuritaire. Elles se produisent en général très rapidement. Un ordinateur portable égaré ou un clic dans un courriel malveillant suffisent pour donner à des personnes non autorisées l’accès à des informations confidentielles ou sensibles, causant la perte ou l’utilisation abusive de différentes données :

  • Noms complets, adresses, numéros de téléphone et courriels
  • Numéros de permis de conduire
  • Numéros d’assurance sociale
  • Renseignements bancaires ou de carte de crédit
  • Renseignements personnels sur la santé
  • Données biométriques

Un plan d’intervention, accompagné d’une bonne cyberassurance, est essentiel pour se protéger contre les dépenses, les pertes d’exploitation et la responsabilité civile résultant d’une cyberinfraction, mais un autre aspect de la cybersécurité est tout aussi essentiel : la prévention. L’adoption d’une approche proactive peut vous aider à éviter une foule de cyberincidents. Voici trois mesures à prendre pour déjouer les cybermenaces et protéger vos précieuses données.

1. Programmes de formation du personnel et simulations

La plupart des cyberinfractions sont la conséquence d’une erreur humaine. La formation et la sensibilisation du personnel peuvent tout changer. Des employées et employés conscients des risques peuvent aider votre entreprise à éviter les menaces et renforcer la culture de cybersécurité de votre organisation. Le The Canadian Centre for Cyber Security recommande aux organisations de former leurs équipes afin qu’elles :

  • créent des phrases de passe uniques et des mots de passe complexes pour tous les comptes;
  • se servent d’Internet et des médias sociaux de façon sécurisée en milieu de travail;
  • utilisent des logiciels et des applications mobiles approuvés;
  • reconnaissent et signalent les courriels malveillants.

Ensuite, pour confirmer l’efficacité de votre formation, mettez votre personnel à l’épreuve en simulant des attaques. Vous aurez ainsi une idée de sa réaction face à différents types de menaces. Par exemple, faites une simulation d’hameçonnage en envoyant un faux courriel malveillant pour voir si les destinataires ouvrent les pièces jointes et cliquent sur les liens.

2. Analyses de vulnérabilité et tests d’intrusion

Vous pouvez également évaluer les défenses de votre organisation à l’aide d’analyses de vulnérabilité et de tests d’intrusion.

  • Les analyses de vulnérabilité s’appuient sur des outils automatisés pour vérifier s’il y a des failles de sécurité dans les réseaux, systèmes et applications. Les vulnérabilités les plus courantes sont les sauvegardes et récupérations non conformes aux normes, la gestion déficiente des authentifications et une piètre surveillance des réseaux.
  • Les tests de pénétration, aussi appelés « piratages identifiés » ou « piratages éthiques », utilisent différents outils pour cibler et exploiter les vulnérabilités.

On pourrait définir la différence entre les analyses de vulnérabilité et les tests d’intrusion comme suit : lors d’une analyse de vulnérabilité, on s’approche d’une porte, on vérifie si elle est déverrouillée et on s’arrête là. Lors d’un test d’intrusion, on vérifie la serrure, puis on tente d’ouvrir la porte et de la franchir.

3. Consultants et consultantes en cybersécurité

Pour une protection accrue, songez à retenir les services de consultants et consultantes en cybersécurité. Ces spécialistes fournissent un vaste soutien en matière de vérification et de surveillance des systèmes informatiques, d’installation de pare-feu et de conformité réglementaire. Ils interviennent généralement à chaque point de contact entre le personnel et les données de l’entreprise (appareils, applications, stockage des données, réseaux internes, etc.). Connaître les interactions numériques du personnel permet à ces spécialistes de cerner et d’atténuer les éventuelles lacunes.

Cybergarde de Cooperators : Un soutien sur lequel vous pouvez compter en cas de besoin

Peu importe le degré de vigilance de votre défense, aucun plan n’est infaillible. Conçue pour les entreprises de toutes tailles et de tous secteurs, Cybergarde de Cooperators protège votre entreprise si vos données confidentielles sont compromises. Nous offrons deux niveaux de protection :

  1. Formule standard Cybergarde – incluse dans les polices d’assurance entreprise admissibles de Cooperators.
  2. Formule bonifiée Cybergarde Sélect – protection accrue, montants de garantie plus élevés et garanties facultatives.

Les deux formules comprennent un accès gratuit au soutien en matière de réclamations et aux services d’intervention d’urgence de CyberScout® (une marque de SontiqTM), notre partenaire de confiance en gestion des risques dans le domaine de la cybersécurité et de la protection. En plus d’enquêter sur la menace et d’en réduire l’impact, l’équipe de CyberScout présentera votre réclamation Cybergarde et gèrera le processus de réclamation du début à la fin. Elle vous permettra de poursuivre vos activités en vous offrant les conseils dont vous avez besoin, quand vous en avez besoin.

Vous souhaitez améliorer votre cyberrésilience personnelle? Voici comment vous protéger contre certains des risques de sécurité les plus courants.

*Garantie offrant une protection basée sur la date des réclamations déclarées. Les réclamations doivent donc être formulées contre l’entreprise assurée et nous être déclarées pendant la période d’assurance. L’assurance entreprise est souscrite par La Compagnie d’assurance générale Cooperators. Veuillez consulter votre police pour connaître les restrictions et les exclusions qui s’appliquent. Certains produits ne sont pas offerts dans toutes les provinces. CyberScoutMD est une marque déposée de SontiqMC. CooperatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Cooperators limitée. La Compagnie d’assurance générale Cooperators s’engage à protéger la vie privée de ses clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de ses affaires. Consultez le www.cooperators.ca/vie-privee pour en savoir plus. Pour communiquer avec nous, consultez le cooperators.ca ou composez le 1-877-545-2667 (au Québec, faites le 1-877-630-2667).