Do you need travel insurance coverage for trips outside your province?

Are you the type of traveller who loves exploring new cultures and countries? Or, do you prefer the variety of great experiences our home and native land has to offer? Either way, if your vacation plans take you outside your home province or territory, your government health insurance plan (GHIP) may not cover all your medical expenses. Travel insurance coverage can help you avoid unexpected fees. Here's what you need to know.

Travelling within Canada – What’s covered by your GHIP?

If you require emergency medical care in another Canadian province or territory, you can see a doctor or visit a hospital without having to pick up the tab. The Canada Health Act requires all provinces and territories to extend GHIP coverage to residents who are temporarily elsewhere in Canada. Each province has their own limit for how long you can be away from home and still have access to coverage. Visit your local ministry of health website for more details on coverage requirements, limits and exceptions.

In most cases, the province you’re visiting will bill your home province directly. You won’t have to cover costs upfront – unless you’re visiting Quebec. As the only province not to sign an interprovincial billing agreement, Quebec’s visitors may have to pay for medical costs and then submit claims for reimbursement to their home province. In some cases, this also may be true for Quebec residents visiting other provinces.

Wherever you are, you’ll need your health card to prove you’re insured. Don’t forget to bring it with you.

What’s not covered within Canada?

Not all medical expenses are covered by your GHIP if you’re outside your home province. Here are just a few of the services you may be on the hook for:

  • Accidental dental care
  • Prescription drugs
  • Ambulance
  • Air ambulance
  • Transportation back home

In addition, your insurance coverage for emergency medical care may only amount to the cost of the service in your home province; you pay the difference, if fees are higher in the province you're visiting.

If you have group health insurance through your employer, check to see whether your plan covers these expenses. If not, see how a travel insurance plan can fill the gap, so you can enjoy your travels across Canada to the fullest.

Travelling outside Canada – How much coverage does your GHIP provide?

If you get sick or injured while travelling outside Canada, your GHIP may only pay a small portion of your medical expenses (generally less than 10%).

For example, a trip to a U.S. hospital may climb from $10,000 to $100,000 USD or more. Depending on your province, you may be entitled to:

  • A limited reimbursement per day for in-patient care (usually a few hundred dollars or less).
  • A reimbursement up to the rates for the same services at home (usually just a fraction of the total cost).
  • Nothing at all. Some provinces, like Ontario, are eliminating out-of-country coverage altogether.

Private travel insurance is an affordable way to protect yourself against these costs. It provides up to $10 million in emergency medical and hospital coverage, as well as 24/7 emergency travel assistance from a knowledgeable and helpful team. You can also add coverage for non-medical travel expenses, like cancelled flights and lost baggage.

Keep in mind that travel insurance doesn't cover everything; there are certain conditions, exclusions and limitations. Talk to your Financial Advisor if you have questions and read over your insurance policy carefully before you travel.

Is your credit card enough?

Many Canadians have some form of travel insurance or trip insurance through a credit card. Be careful when relying on this type of insurance, as coverage may be restricted to the cardholder or to non-medical expenses. Before you travel abroad, check with your credit card company or group health insurance provider to make sure you’re properly protected.

Travel insurance does not cover everything. For complete terms, conditions, limitations and exclusions, please refer to the policy. Travel insurance is underwritten by CUMIS General Insurance Company, a member of the Co-operators group of companies and administered by Allianz Global Assistance, which is a registered business name of AZGA Service Canada Inc.

Besoin d’une assurance pour vos voyages dans une autre province?

Êtes-vous le genre de voyageur qui aime découvrir d’autres pays et leur culture? Ou préférez-vous plutôt explorer les nombreuses merveilles de votre propre pays? Peu importe, si vous partez en vacances à l’extérieur de votre province de résidence, il se peut que votre régime public d’assurance maladie ne couvre pas tous vos frais médicaux. Une assurance voyage vous sera alors utile pour éviter les frais imprévus. Voici ce que vous devez savoir.

Voyages au Canada – Qu’est-ce qui est couvert par votre régime public d’assurance maladie?

Si vous avez besoin de soins médicaux d’urgence dans une autre province ou un autre territoire du pays, vous pouvez consulter un médecin ou aller à l’hôpital sans frais. Conformément à la Loi canadienne sur la santé, toutes les provinces et tous les territoires doivent étendre leur couverture pour prendre en charge les soins prodigués aux citoyens qui se trouvent temporairement ailleurs au Canada. Chaque province et territoire a sa propre limite en ce qui concerne la durée du séjour permise sans que l’assuré ne perde sa protection. Visitez le site Web de votre ministère de la Santé pour plus de détails sur les exigences, les limites et les exceptions de votre protection.

Dans la plupart des cas, la province que vous visitez facturera directement votre province de résidence. Vous n’aurez pas à assumer les frais vous-même d’abord, sauf si vous visitez le Québec. Puisque le Québec est la seule province qui n’a pas signé l’entente de facturation interprovinciale, les visiteurs pourraient devoir payer leurs frais médicaux et envoyer ensuite une demande de remboursement à leur province ou territoire de résidence. Dans certains cas, cela peut également s’appliquer aux résidents du Québec qui visitent une autre province.

Où que vous soyez, vous devrez présenter votre carte d’assurance maladie pour prouver que vous êtes assuré. N’oubliez pas de l’apporter!

Qu’est-ce qui n’est pas couvert au Canada?

Votre régime public d’assurance maladie ne couvre pas tous les frais médicaux à l’extérieur de votre province de résidence. Voici quelques-uns des services que vous pourriez devoir assumer vous-même :

  • Soins dentaires en cas d’accident
  • Médicaments d’ordonnance
  • Ambulance
  • Ambulance aérienne
  • Transport jusque chez vous

Il est également possible que votre protection pour les soins médicaux d’urgence couvre uniquement le montant des services équivalents dans votre province de résidence. Si c’est le cas et que les frais sont plus élevés dans la province que vous visitez, vous devrez payer la différence.

Si votre employeur vous offre une assurance maladie collective, vérifiez si elle couvre de tels frais. Si ce n’est pas le cas, voyez comment une assurance voyage peut combler l’écart et vous permettre de profiter pleinement de vos séjours partout au pays.

Vous voyagez à l’étranger? Quelle protection vous offre votre régime public d’assurance maladie?

Si vous tombez malade ou vous blessez à l’extérieur du pays, votre régime public d’assurance maladie ne couvrira qu’une petite partie de vos frais médicaux (généralement moins de 10 %).

Par exemple, une hospitalisation aux États-Unis peut coûter de 10 000 $ à 100 000 $ US, et même plus. Selon votre province de résidence, vous pourriez avoir droit à :

  • Un remboursement limité de vos frais d’hospitalisation quotidiens (habituellement quelques centaines de dollars ou moins).
  • Un remboursement correspondant au coût des services équivalents dans votre province de résidence (habituellement une fraction du coût total).
  • Rien du tout. Certaines provinces, comme l’Ontario, n’offrent aucune protection pour les soins reçus à l’étranger.

Une assurance voyage privée est une façon abordable de vous protéger de tels frais. Vous aurez une couverture allant jusqu’à 10 millions de dollars pour les soins hospitaliers et médicaux d’urgence, et une équipe d’assistance qualifiée sera là pour vous aider en tout temps au besoin. Vous pouvez également ajouter une protection pour d’autres frais non médicaux, par exemple l’annulation d’un vol ou la perte de bagages.

Mais gardez en tête que l’assurance voyage ne couvre pas tout. Certaines conditions, exclusions et limitations s’appliquent. Lisez attentivement votre police d’assurance avant de partir et communiquez avec votre représentant si vous avez des questions.

L’assurance de ma carte de crédit est-elle suffisante?

Plusieurs Canadiens comptent sur l’assurance voyage de leur carte de crédit, mais attention. Ce type de protection peut se limiter au titulaire de la carte ou exclure les frais médicaux. Avant de partir à l’étranger, vérifiez auprès de votre compagnie de carte de crédit ou de votre fournisseur d’assurance maladie collective si votre protection est adéquate.

L’assurance voyage ne couvre pas tout. Pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur les modalités, les conditions, les restrictions et les exclusions, veuillez consulter votre police d’assurance. L’assurance voyage est souscrite par La Compagnie d’Assurance Générale CUMIS, qui fait partie du groupe de sociétés Co-operators, et administrée par Assistance globale Allianz, dénomination commerciale enregistrée d’AZGA Service Canada Inc.