Pathways to Employability (P2E) Initiative

From navigating youth employment supports for small/medium businesses (including co-operatives) to providing youth with mentorship and training, the Pathways to Employability initiative is enabling change through its strategic partnerships with a goal of helping connect youth to meaningful employment and opportunities.

In the early months of COVID 19, 43% of working Canadian youth lost their jobs or had work hours reduced according to a 2020 Statistics Canada Labour Force Survey. As part of Co-operators Community Funds (CCF), the Pathways to Employability initiative focuses on providing employability supports through life skills training and employment reskilling opportunities for marginalized youth who have lost jobs or educational opportunities due to COVID-19.

The goal of the initiative is to facilitate the transition of youth into higher quality, sustainable, secure jobs through:

  • Partnering with service providers (employment, counselling, training, industry and business, government) to leverage offerings and financial support towards meaningful youth employment.
  • Connecting youth to small business employers and employment, life skills and psychosocial supports.
  • Supporting small business employers to find, hire, train and retain youth.

Our learnings from the #ImpactCOVID: Road to Recovery Project

In partnership with the Canadian Council for Youth Prosperity (CCYP), Pathways to Employability provided funding for the #ImpactCOVID: Road to Recovery Project (phase 1), a unique youth-focussed, youth-researched, youth-authored recovery plan for Canada from the pandemic-induced recession of 2020-21. Using a combination of economic literature, socio-economic data and information collected from stakeholders, 77 youth researched an evidence-based recovery plan that can ensure a strengthened, resilient recovery from the pandemic, particularly for youth.

The 2021 Road to Recovery report was presented at a CCYP National Youth Summit, and revealed:

How the pandemic has impacted youth employment

  • Youth across the country lost jobs in the immediate aftermath of public health shutdowns early in the pandemic
  • Lackluster youth hiring and reduced co-op and internship opportunities continue due to economic uncertainty and downturn
  • Youth have paused post-secondary education due to lack of funds or uncertainty around online learning, delaying entrance into the workforce
  • Students in remote areas or from marginalized communities likely to suffer due to poor access to technologies and reduced access to employment opportunities

Solutions that will lead to a strengthened and resilient pandemic recovery

  • Investment required for youth capacity building through training, education and experiential learning opportunities
  • Assistance in attracting youth participation in the co-operative sector
  • Continued support to small businesses in key youth employing sectors
  • Practical training opportunities and meaningful experiences for youth that build soft skills like confidence, teamwork and collaboration
  • Greater understanding of how to navigate youth employment systems for both youth and employers.
  • Alongside the 2021 Road to Recovery report, the thought leaders researched and authored the Youth Engagement Toolkit which provides recommendations on engaging young people in advocacy, education, mentoring, and public action.

Our 2021 Pathways to Employability partners

As a result of insights from the first phase of the #ImpactCOVID: Road to Recovery project and through engagements with youth and our co-operative members, we are engaging in the following partnerships in 2021 and 2022:

Canadian Council for Youth Prosperity - #ImpactCOVID: Road to Recovery (phase 2)

  • Phase 2 of the project, launching in summer 2021, will see youth providing support for small business and non-profit employers, helping them find, hire, train and retain youth throughout the post-pandemic recovery. The program will also provide training and support to employment service providers, better preparing them to assist youth on their journey to meaningful employment. Youth are gaining valuable and impactful work experience with small businesses including co-ops, non-profits and social enterprises, and community partners. In turn, small businesses are building their capacity to hire, train and retain youth.

“The Co-operators is an amazing youth ally.”
– Aira Serrame, Co-Chair, National Youth Summit, Canadian Council for Youth Prosperity


Opportunity for All Youth - Digital Platform Tools & National Reverse Mentoring Program Powered by The Co-operators

  • In sponsorship with Opportunity for all Youth (O4AY), we will provide a two-year sponsorship of a national, bilingual digital employment supports portal including personal coaching, skills and interview training, peer-to-peer support, and job research tools. The platform will also provide ongoing data and insights on youth employment to improve experiences and outcomes, and inform the youth employment ecosystem as a whole. A reverse mentoring program will also connect youth to business leaders across the country, to build understanding in the value that youth can bring. The O4AY Youth Innovation Council, powered by The Co-operators, will ensure that programming is youth-informed, engaging and tailored to their specific needs.

“The P2E initiative is a powerful statement for job quality, access and security.”
– Yung Wu, CEO MaRS


Ontario Co-operative Association - Co-operative Minds

  • In partnership with the Ontario Co-operative Association, we will support the development of a project-based learning program for high-school students, designed to address the need for co-operative education in the classroom, while teaching the value of working collectively to solve real-world problems. Co-operative Minds connects youth to co-ops in their communities, provides authentic and meaningful ways for students to share their collective voice, and offers the opportunity to collaborate, think critically and communicate in ways that make our world a more co-operative place to live. These critical professional skills will also help bridge the gap for youth as they prepare to begin their post-secondary and employment future.

“Through collaboration, co-operation and idea sharing, this project will truly be impactful for all.”
– Michelle Christmann, Ontario Co-operative Association


Canadian Gap Year Association - Student of Leadership and Humanity Award

  • In partnership with The Canadian Gap Year Association, we will provide a two-year sponsorship of the GapYear Game Plan, to support young people who choose to take time off between secondary and post-secondary education to have a purposeful year through connection, volunteering and work experiences. We will also sponsor the Student of Leadership and Humanity Award, a unique certification under the themes of personal finance and life skills, planning for the future, wellbeing, mentorship and peer connection, and an independent project tied to the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

“I hope you realize what a game changer this is for the gap year movement. THANK YOU. This increased capacity will allow us to do things at such a faster pace and we will be able to support so many more young people on their journey to achieving their desired futures through skill-building and experiential learning. I am so thrilled to partner with you as I know how aligned The Co-operators is with the work CanGap is doing.”
– Michelle Dittmer, President & Co-Founder, Canadian Gap Year Association


CDR-Acadie Youth Services Co-operatives – Co-operative business model training

  • In partnership with CDR-Acadie, we will support a one-year pilot launching in fall 2021 to train and support young people aged 17-30 in the co-operative business model and create quality jobs through development of youth services cooperatives meeting the unmet needs of communities in New Brunswick.

The Youth Excellence Society BC - Youth Leadership Academy

  • In partnership with The YES, we will support the development of online programming to connect BC youth virtually through training in co-operation and competition, co-operatives and capitalism, co-op history, creative solutions through the co-op model, and meaningful work. These sessions will culminate with youth creating capstone projects to express what they have learned and implemented in their local communities.

Pathways to Employability is a $2 million initiative launched through Co-operators Community Funds (CCF). CCF supports non‐profit organizations, social enterprises, co‐operatives and charities whose programming and initiatives lead to job creation and/or enhanced employability for marginalized youth and individuals with mental health challenges.

Initiative Accès à l’employabilité

Que ce soit en présentant les diverses aides à l’embauche des jeunes dans les petites et moyennes entreprises (y compris les coopératives) ou en leur offrant des occasions de mentorat et de formation, l’initiative Accès à l’employabilité favorise le changement grâce à ses partenariats stratégiques afin d’aider les jeunes travailleurs à trouver un emploi et des possibilités intéressantes.

Selon une enquête sur la population active menée en 2020 par Statistique Canada, 43 % des jeunes travailleurs canadiens ont perdu leur emploi ou subi une réduction de leurs heures de travail dans les premiers mois de la pandémie de COVID-19. L’initiative Accès à l’employabilité, lancée par les Fonds communautaires de Co-operators, vise à améliorer l’employabilité des jeunes marginalisés qui ont perdu leur emploi ou des occasions d’apprentissage en raison de la COVID-19 en leur offrant des formations axées sur des compétences pratiques et des possibilités de recyclage professionnel.

L’objectif de l’initiative est de permettre aux jeunes de décrocher de meilleurs emplois, plus durables et plus stables, en adoptant l’approche suivante :

  • établir des partenariats avec des fournisseurs de services (emploi, services-conseils, formation, industrie et commerce, gouvernement) pour tirer parti des offres d’emploi en misant sur les aides financières prévues pour aider les jeunes à trouver un emploi valorisant;
  • mettre les jeunes en contact avec de petites entreprises et les aider à acquérir des compétences professionnelles et pratiques, avec un accompagnement psychologique;
  • aider les petites entreprises à trouver, à embaucher, à former et à retenir les jeunes travailleurs.

Les apprentissages tirés du projet #ImpactCOVID : En route pour la relance

En partenariat avec le Conseil canadien pour la réussite des jeunes (CCRJ), l’initiative Accès à l’employabilité a financé le projet #ImpactCOVID :Le projet impact covid (phase 1), un plan de relance économique unique axé sur les jeunes, étayé par les jeunes et rédigé par les jeunes en réponse à la récession de 2020-2021 provoquée par la pandémie au Canada. Après avoir consulté des documents économiques, des données socio-économiques et les renseignements recueillis auprès des parties prenantes, 77 jeunes ont créé un plan de relance économique fondé sur des données probantes afin d’assurer une relance vigoureuse et solide après la pandémie, en particulier pour les jeunes.

Le Plan de reprise économique, présenté lors du Sommet national de la jeunesse du CCRJ, a révélé :

Les effets de la pandémie sur les emplois des jeunes

  • Des jeunes de partout au pays ont perdu leurs emplois à la suite des fermetures imposées par la santé publique au début de la pandémie.
  • L’incertitude et le ralentissement économiques entraînent une diminution de l’embauche des jeunes ainsi qu’une réduction des possibilités de stage et d’alternance travail-étude.
  • Les jeunes ont interrompu leurs études postsecondaires en raison d’un manque de fonds ou de l’incertitude quant à l’apprentissage en ligne, ce qui retarde leur entrée sur le marché du travail.
  • Les étudiants en régions éloignées ou dans des communautés marginalisées risquent de souffrir d’un accès insuffisant aux technologies et d’avoir moins de possibilités d’emploi.

Des solutions qui permettront la mise en place d’un plan de relance économique vigoureuse et solide après la pandémie

  • Un investissement dans le renforcement des capacités des jeunes au moyen de possibilités de formation, d’éducation et d’apprentissage par l’expérience
  • Du soutien pour favoriser la participation des jeunes dans le secteur coopératif
  • Un soutien continu aux petites entreprises dans les secteurs importants embauchant des jeunes
  • Des possibilités de formation pratique et des expériences intéressantes offertes aux jeunes afin qu’ils développent des compétences générales, concernant la confiance en soi, le travail d’équipe et la collaboration
  • Une meilleure compréhension des divers systèmes de soutien à l’emploi des jeunes, tant pour les jeunes que pour les employeurs
  • En plus de concevoir le Plan de reprise pandémique, les leaders éclairés ont effectué des recherches afin de créer la trousse à outils pour l’engagement des jeunes. Elle présente notamment des recommandations sur l’engagement des jeunes dans la défense des intérêts, l’éducation, le mentorat et l’action publique.

Présentation de nos partenaires de 2021 pour l’initiative Accès à l’employabilité

À la suite des apprentissages tirés de la première phase du projet #ImpactCOVID : Plan de reprise pandémique et de nos échanges avec les jeunes et les membres de notre coopérative, nous avons choisi d’établir les partenariats suivants en 2021 et en 2022 :

Conseil canadien pour la réussite des jeunes – projet #ImpactCOVID : le projet impact covid (phase 2)

  • Dans la phase 2 du projet (qui sera lancée à l’été 2021), des jeunes aideront les petites entreprises et les employeurs à but non lucratif à trouver, à embaucher, à former et à retenir les jeunes, et ce, tout au long de la période de reprise après la pandémie. Le projet fournira également une formation et un soutien aux prestataires de services d’emploi afin de mieux les préparer à aider les jeunes dans leurs recherches d’un emploi intéressant. Les jeunes acquièrent une expérience professionnelle précieuse et utile au sein de petites entreprises, y compris les coopératives, les organismes sans but lucratif et les entreprises sociales, ainsi que des partenaires communautaires. En retour, les petites entreprises renforcent leur capacité à embaucher, à former et à retenir les jeunes.

« Co-operators est un allié formidable pour les jeunes. »
– Aira Serrame, coprésidente, Sommet national de la jeunesse, Conseil canadien pour la réussite des jeunes


Opportunité pour tous les jeunes – outils de plateforme numériques et programme national de mentorat inversé, propulsés par Co-operators

  • En partenariat avec Opportunités pour tous les jeunes, nous parrainerons pendant deux ans un portail numérique national et bilingue d’aide à l’emploi offrant un accompagnement personnel, une formation axée sur des compétences pratiques et les techniques d’entrevue, du soutien entre pairs et des outils de recherche d’emploi. La plateforme fournira des données et des renseignements continus sur l’emploi des jeunes afin d’améliorer les expériences et les résultats ainsi que d’informer l’ensemble de l’écosystème relatif à l’emploi des jeunes. De plus, un programme de mentorat inversé mettra les jeunes en relation avec des chefs d’entreprise de partout au pays afin de souligner la valeur qu’apportent les jeunes. Le Youth Innovation Council de l’organisme Opportunités pour tous les jeunes, propulsé par Co-operators, veillera à ce que le contenu soit supervisé par les jeunes, en plus d’être attrayant et adapté à leurs besoins.

« L’initiative Accès à l’employabilité est une déclaration puissante en faveur de la qualité, de l’accès et de la sécurité des emplois. »
– Yung Wu, chef de la direction de MaRS


Ontario Co-operative Association – Co-operative Minds

  • En partenariat avec cette association, nous soutiendrons l’élaboration d’un programme d’apprentissage par projets pour les élèves du secondaire afin d’offrir une éducation coopérative essentielle en classe, tout en enseignant la valeur de la collaboration pour résoudre des problèmes concrets. Co-operative Minds met les jeunes en relation avec les coopératives de leur communauté et leur offre des façons authentiques et intéressantes de présenter leurs idées. De plus, le programme leur donne l’occasion de collaborer, de faire preuve d’esprit critique et de communiquer pour que la collaboration soit une part intégrante de notre monde. Ces compétences professionnelles essentielles prépareront également les jeunes à leur avenir postsecondaire et professionnel.

« Par la collaboration, la coopération et le partage des idées, ce projet aura véritablement une incidence importante pour tous. »
– Michelle Christmann, Ontario Co-operative Association


Coopérative jeunesse de services de la CDR-Acadie – formation sur le modèle d’entreprise coopératif

  • En partenariat avec la CDR-Acadie, nous soutiendrons un projet pilote d’un an, dont le lancement est prévu à l’automne 2021, qui présentera à des jeunes de 17 à 30 ans le modèle d’affaires coopératif. Il les aidera également à créer des emplois de qualité en mettant sur pied des coopératives de prestation de services aux jeunes qui comblent les lacunes au sein des communautés du Nouveau-Brunswick.

The Youth Excellence Society (The YES) de la Colombie-Britannique – Youth Leadership Academy

  • En partenariat avec The YES, nous soutiendrons la création d’un événement en ligne qui regroupera des jeunes de la Colombie-Britannique. Ils pourront assister à des formations sur la coopération et la concurrence, les coopératives et le capitalisme, l’histoire des coopératives, la découverte de solutions créatives grâce au modèle coopératif et la réalisation d’un travail utile. À la fin de ces séances, les jeunes créeront des projets intégrateurs pour présenter ce qu’ils ont appris et mis en œuvre dans leurs communautés locales.

The Canadian Gap Year Association – Student of Leadership and Humanity Award

  • En partenariat avec The Canadian Gap Year Association, nous parrainerons pendant deux ans l’initiative Gap Year Game Plan. Cette initiative soutient les jeunes qui choisissent de prendre une pause entre leurs études secondaires et postsecondaires pour vivre une année enrichissante en établissant des relations, en faisant du bénévolat et en acquérant de l’expérience de travail. Nous parrainerons également le prix « Student of Leadership and Humanity », une certification unique axée sur les finances personnelles et les compétences de vie, la planification de l’avenir, le bien-être, le mentorat et l’établissement de relations entre pairs, ainsi qu’un projet indépendant lié aux objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies.

« J’espère que vous réalisez à quel point cela change la donne pour le mouvement de l’année de congé. MERCI. Ces capacités rehaussées nous permettront d’accélérer le rythme et de soutenir

De nombreux autres jeunes dans leur parcours vers leur avenir de rêve grâce au perfectionnement de leurs compétences et à l’apprentissage par l’expérience. Je suis ravie de m’associer à vous, car je sais à quel point Co-operators est en phase avec le travail de CanGap. »

– Michelle Dittmer, présidente et cofondatrice, Canadian Gap Year Association


Accès à l’employabilité est une initiative de deux millions de dollars financée par les Fonds communautaires de Co-operators. Les Fonds communautaires de Co-operators soutiennent les organismes sans but lucratif, les entreprises sociales, les coopératives et les organismes de bienfaisance dont les programmes et les initiatives mènent à la création d’emploi ou renforcent l’employabilité des jeunes marginalisés et des personnes souffrant de troubles de santé mentale.