What’s your investment profile?

Discover your risk tolerance before you commit to an investment strategy.

How you invest your money is a personal decision, based on many factors. So, before you jump into the market or make changes to your existing portfolio, it can be helpful to work with a Cooperators financial representative. Together, you can determine your investment profile, or risk tolerance, and select the right investments for your situation. And, with that, you’ll have a strategy for staying on track toward achieving your goals.

Here are some questions your financial representative may ask to better understand your needs, goals, and preferences

  1. Why do you want to invest to buy a home, save for a child’s education, build your nest egg? Maybe it’s a mix of reasons?
  2. When will you need access to the money? For example, in less than five years, between five and 10 years, or more than 10 years from now?
  3. How comfortable are you with market risk? How well could you endure investment losses alongside potential gains?
  4. What is your capacity to take on risk? The stability of your income, the value of your current assets, and outstanding debt should all be considered.

Discussing your financial goals, investing timelines and comfort around market risk will help you, and your financial representative, determine which of the following investment profiles is most appropriate for you.

Investment profiles

Safety

If your primary objective is to preserve your capital, or if you have a relatively short time to recover from market losses, you may fit the safety profile. Portfolios in this category invest mainly in money market funds, guaranteedinterest certificates, and highinterest savings accounts, which pay a fixed amount of interest, and return your principal upon maturity.

Safety Investment type: Money market/GIC/HISA Percentage: 100%
Safety - percentage of investments in your portfolio
Investment Type Percentage
Money market/GIC/HISA 100%

Very conservative

If you value income more than growth, have a shorter time frame for your investments to grow and want to ensure that your funds are accessible for retirement or other purchases, you may fit the very conservative profile. This profile invests in 80% fixed income and 20% equities.

Very conservative 80% Fixed income 20% Equity
Very Conservative - percentage of investments in your portfolio
Investment Type Percentage
Fixed income investments 80%
Equity investments 20%

Conservative

If you’re comfortable with modest fluctuations in the yeartoyear value of your portfolio, if you have a shorter time frame for your investments to grow, and if you want to ensure that your funds are accessible for retirement or other purchases, you may fit the conservative profile. This profile invests in 60% fixed income and 40% equities.

Conservative 60% Fixed income 40% Equity
Conservative - percentage of investments in your portfolio
Investment Type Percentage
Fixed income investments 60%
Equity investments 40%

Moderate

If you’re seeking a balance of income and growth and can tolerate moderate fluctuations in the value of your portfolio, in exchange for potentially higher longterm returns, you may fit the moderate profile. This profile invests in 60% equities and 40% fixed income.

Moderate 40% Fixed income 60% Equity
Moderate - percentage of investments in your portfolio
Investment Type Percentage
Fixed income investments 40%
Equity investments 60%

Aggressive

If you’re a growthoriented investor seeking the cushioning effects of some fixedincome securities and can withstand substantial yeartoyear fluctuations in the value of your portfolio, in exchange for potentially higher longterm returns, you may fit the aggressive profile. This profile invests in 80% equities and 20% fixed income.

Aggressive 20% Fixed income 80% Equity
Aggressive - percentage of investments in your portfolio
Investment Type Percentage
Fixed income investments 20%
Equity investments 80%

Very aggressive

If you can tolerate a high degree of risk, can hold your investment for 10 years or more, and can withstand substantial yeartoyear fluctuations in the value of your portfolio in exchange for potentially higher longterm returns you may fit the very aggressive profile. This profile caters to knowledgeable, growthoriented investors looking to diversify across fundmanagement styles, and invests in 100% equities.

Very aggressive 100% Equity
Very Aggressive - percentage of investments in your portfolio
Investment Type Percentage
Equity investments 100%

While it’s wise to match your portfolio to your investment profile, don’t forget that your needs can change as life unfolds. It’s important that you and your financial representative regularly review your profile to ensure that it continues to reflect your situation and preferences. 

Talk to us today

Need help choosing the right investment solutions for your profile? Connect with a Cooperators financial representative near you.

Quel est votre profil
d’investissement?

Avant d’élaborer une stratégie de placement, découvrez
quel est votre niveau de tolérance au risque.

La façon dont vous investissez votre argent vous appartient et dépend de nombreux facteurs. Alors avant de vous lancer sur les marchés ou de modifier votre portefeuille existant, il serait judicieux de discuter avec un représentant ou une représentante de Cooperators. Vous pourrez déterminer ensemble quel est votre profil d’investissement, ou votre tolérance au risque, et choisir les placements qui vous conviennent le mieux. Vous saurez ainsi que vous êtes sur la bonne voie pour atteindre vos objectifs financiers.

Voici quelques questions que votre représentante ou représentant pourrait vous poser pour bien comprendre vos besoins, vos objectifs et vos préférences

  1. Pourquoi voulezvous investir pour acheter une propriété, économiser pour les études de vos enfants ou remplir votre bas de laine? Peutêtre un peu tout ça?
  2. Quand aurezvous besoin de cet argent? Par exemple, dans moins de 5 ans, dans 5 à 10 ans ou dans plus de 10 ans.
  3. Dans quelle mesure pouvezvous assumer les risques de marché? Quel niveau de pertes êtes-vous prêt à assumer pour réaliser des gains potentiels?
  4. Dans quelle mesure pouvezvous prendre des risques? Il faut prendre en considération la stabilité de vos revenus ainsi que la valeur de vos actifs et de vos dettes

Discuter de vos objectifs financiers, de votre horizon de placement et de votre tolérance aux risques de marché vous aidera, vous et votre représentant ou représentante, à établir lequel des profils d’investissement suivants vous convient le mieux.

Profils d’investissement

Prudent

Si votre objectif premier est de préserver votre capital, ou si vous disposez d’une période relativement courte pour vous remettre de pertes potentielles, ce profil pourrait vous convenir. Les portefeuilles de cette catégorie investissent essentiellement dans des fonds du marché monétaire et des comptes d’épargne à intérêt élevé.

Prudent Type de placement: Marché monétaire / Comptes d’épargne à intérêt élevé Pourcentage: 100%
Prudent Pourcentage des types de placements dans votre portefeuille
Type de placement Pourcentage
Marché monétaire /CPG/Comptes d’épargne à intérêt élevé 100%

Très conservateur

Si vous accordez plus d’importance au revenu qu’à la croissance et que vous ne disposez que d’une période limitée pour laisser croître vos placements car vous désirez utiliser vos fonds à court terme pour la retraite ou pour d’autres achats, ce profil pourrait vous convenir. Ce profil d’investissement contient 80 % de titres à revenu fixe et 20 % d’actions.

Très conservateur 80% Titres à revenu fixe 20% Actions
Très conservateur Pourcentage des types de placements dans votre portefeuille
Type de placement Pourcentage
Titres à revenu fixe 80%
Actions 20%

Conservateur

Si vous pouvez tolérer de modestes fluctuations annuelles de la valeur de votre portefeuille et que vous ne disposez que d’une période limitée pour laisser croître vos placements car vous désirez utiliser vos fonds à court terme pour la retraite ou pour d’autres achats, ce profil pourrait vous convenir. Ce profil d’investissement contient 60 % de titres à revenu fixe et 40 % d’actions.

Conservateur 60% Titres à revenu fixe 40% Actions
Conservateur Pourcentage des types de placements dans votre portefeuille
Type de placement Pourcentage
Titres à revenu fixe 60%
Actions 40%

Modéré

Si vous recherchez un équilibre entre le revenu et la croissance et pouvez vous accommoder de fluctuations modérées de la valeur de votre portefeuille, en échange de rendements potentiellement plus élevés à long terme, ce profil pourrait vous convenir. Ce profil d’investissement contient 60 % d’actions et 40 % de titres à revenu fixe.

Modéré 40% Titres à revenu fixe 60% Actions
Modéré Pourcentage des types de placements dans votre portefeuille
Type de placement Pourcentage
Titres à revenu fixe 40%
Actions 60%

Dynamique

Si vous visez la croissance et recherchez les effets stabilisateurs de certains titres à revenu fixe, et que vous pouvez vous accommoder de fluctuations substantielles de la valeur de votre portefeuille d’une année à l’autre en échange de rendements potentiellement plus élevés à long terme, le profil dynamique pourrait vous convenir. Ce profil d’investissement contient 80 % d’actions et 20 % de titres à revenu fixe.

Dynamique 20% Titres à revenu fixe 80% Actions
Dynamique Pourcentage des types de placements dans votre portefeuille
Type de placement Pourcentage
Titres à revenu fixe 20%
Actions 80%

Très dynamique

Si vous avez un horizon de placement de 10 ans ou plus et une forte tolérance au risque, et que vous pouvez vous accommoder de fluctuations substantielles de la valeur de votre portefeuille d’une année à l’autre en échange de rendements potentiellement plus élevés à long terme, le profil très dynamique pourrait vous convenir. Ce profil s’adresse aux investisseuses et investisseurs aguerris axés sur la croissance qui cherchent à diversifier leur portefeuille au moyen de différents styles de gestion et à investir à 100 % dans des actions.

Très dynamique 100% Actions
Très dynamique Pourcentage des types de placements dans votre portefeuille
Type de placement Pourcentage
Actions 100%

Bien qu’il soit judicieux de choisir un portefeuille de placements correspondant à votre profil d’investissement, n’oubliez pas que vos besoins peuvent changer à différentes étapes de votre vie. Il est donc important de consulter votre représentant ou représentante régulièrement afin de revoir votre profil pour vous assurer qu’il reflète toujours votre situation et vos préférences.

Parlons-en dès aujourd’hui

Vous avez besoin d’aide pour choisir les solutions de placement qui correspondent le mieux à votre profil? Trouvez une représentante ou un représentant de Cooperators près de chez vous.