Critical Assist®

Critical Assist® from The Co-operators gives you the comfort of knowing you will have financial stability if you are diagnosed with a covered life-altering illness. We take standard critical illness coverage further with our Early Assist benefit and the Best Doctors® program.

How critical illness insurance helps

Critical Assist® from The Co-operators will give you and your family a tax-free1 financial cushion that will be there for you when you most need it. If you are diagnosed with a covered illness, you'll receive either a full lump sum payment or a partial payout of the coverage amount if your illness falls under our Early Assist program. You can use the benefit payment any way you wish. For example, it can help you:

  • pay for mortgage and loan payments if you are unable to continue working
  • pay for child care so that you can concentrate on your recovery
  • subsidize additional necessary health care not covered by provincial plans
  • cover housekeeping costs or other day to day expenses
  • keep up contributions to RRSPs and RESPs

What would you do if your child were diagnosed with a critical illness?

One of our biggest concerns as a parent is our child’s health and well-being. If your child were ever diagnosed with a serious illness, you’d want to be with them and do everything you could to comfort and care for them. Critical Assist® – Head Start helps provide financial peace of mind to parents of a child diagnosed with a Covered Condition, so they can focus on what matters most: being with their child and helping them get better while maintaining their family’s needs.

Available plans

The Co-operators offers four Critical Assist® plans to suit your needs:

  • Level premiums for 10 years and renewable for successive 10-year periods to age 75 (CA 10)
  • Level premiums for 25 years and renewable for successive 20-year periods to age 75 (CA 25)
  • Level premiums to age 75 (CA 75)
  • Level premiums for 20 years with coverage to age 75 (CA 75 20-Pay)

Critical Assist®

Critical Assist® provides coverage for 25 full payout conditions, and 4 Early Assist partial payout conditions. Benefits are paid in a tax-free1 lump sum and can range from $25,000 to $2,000,000, depending on the level of coverage you choose. This policy is available to issue ages 18 through 65 (CA 10 and CA 75) or ages 18 through 50 (CA 25 and CA 75 20-Pay). The policy expires at the anniversary nearest age 75.

Critical Assist® – Head Start for children

Critical Assist® – Head Start provides coverage for 32 full payout covered conditions (including 7 childhood-specific conditions), and 4 Early Assist partial payout conditions. Benefits are paid in a tax-free1 lump sum and can range from $25,000 to $250,000, depending on the level of coverage you choose. Children are eligible for the plan at 30 days old until age 17 and the policy expires at the anniversary nearest age 75. So, not only are you covering them when they are young, but also providing protection for years to come.

Other features

  • Premium Payback at Death
    If you pass away while the Critical Assist® policy is in force and no full payout claim has been paid, we will refund the premium payments you have made for this coverage to your beneficiary. This embedded feature is included with all Critical Assist policies.
  • Conversion privileges
    If you decide you would like longer term protection, we make it easy. Policyowners may convert a 10-year or 25-year term policy to a policy with level premiums to age 75 or level premiums for 20 years without any additional underwriting requirements or proof of insurability.
  • Best Doctors®
    Critical Assist® includes access to the Best Doctors® program. Best Doctors® gives you instant access to a global network of over 50,000 doctors who are at the top of their profession. They can provide confirmation of your diagnosis and narrow down your search for a specialist.
  • Counselling benefit
    Upon diagnosis of a covered condition, the policyowner will receive access to up to 3 hours of over the phone counselling to be used by themselves or their family members.

Optional riders and other benefits

You may customize your Critical Assist® plan by adding the following optional riders and other benefits:

  • Premium Payback at Expiry Rider
  • Premium Payback at Surrender Rider
  • Disability Premium Waiver Benefit
  • Automatic Waiver of Premium on Owner’s Death or Disability Benefit

Which illnesses are covered?

The illnesses listed below are covered through full payouts and our Early Assist program. If you have questions, your Financial Advisor can take you through what is covered so you can make an informed decision.

Full payout covered conditions

Coverage for the full payout conditions (except for Loss of Independent Existence2) begins on the policy date3 and ends at expiry (age 75). Once you've received payment for a full payout condition, your Critical Assist® coverage ends.

Eligible Conditions

  • Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Aortic Surgery
  • Aplastic Anemia
  • Bacterial Meningitis
  • Benign Brain Tumour
  • Blindness
  • Cancer (Life-Threatening)
  • Coma
  • Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery
  • Deafness
  • Heart Attack
  • Heart Valve Replacement
  • Kidney Failure
  • Loss of Independent Existence4
  • Loss of Limbs
  • Loss of Speech
  • Major Organ Failure on Waiting List
  • Major Organ Transplant
  • Motor Neuron Disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Occupational HIV Infection
  • Paralysis
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Severe Burns
  • Stroke

Additional childhood covered conditions

In addition to the 25 full payout covered conditions, Critical Assist® – Head Start also provides coverage for the following 7 childhood conditions until age 185.

Eligible Conditions

  • Autism
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Congenital Heart Disease
  • Cystic Fibrosis
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Rett Syndrome
  • Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus

Early Assist covered conditions

A partial benefit equal to 10% of the face amount, up to a maximum of $50,000, is payable if you are diagnosed with an Early Assist covered condition. The policy will continue to cover you after the partial payment is made. You are eligible for only one Early Assist payment. There is no reduction of the policy face amount if an Early Assist benefit is paid.

Eligible Conditions

  • Coronary Angioplasty
  • Non-Life-Threatening Cancers:
    • Ductal Carcinoma in Situ of the Breast (DCIS)
    • Stage T1a or T1b (Stage A) Prostate Cancer
    • Stage 1A Malignant Melanoma (melanoma less than or equal to 1.0 mm in thickness)

Contact us

Talk to your local Financial Advisor today to get a quote on critical illness insurance from The Co-operators.

1Tax rules and regulations may change at any time.
2Coverage for Loss of Independent Existence begins at age 18.
3There is no coverage for cancer or benign brain tumours during the first 90 days following issue or every reinstatement of the policy.
4Loss of Independent Existence is defined as a definite Diagnosis of the total inability to perform, by oneself, at least two of the six Activities of Daily Living (bathing, dressing, toileting, bladder and bowel continence, transferring, or feeding) for a continuous period of at least 90 days with no reasonable chance of recovery.
5Coverage for Autism and Rett Syndrome ends one day prior to the Insured child’s third birthday.

Assistance critiqueMC

L’Assistance critiqueMC de Co-operators vous procure la tranquillité d’esprit en vous offrant la sécurité financière advenant un diagnostic d’une maladie grave couverte. Beaucoup plus qu’une simple assurance maladies graves, elle vous donne accès aux prestations d’assistance immédiate et aux services du programme Best DoctorsMD.

En quoi l’assurance maladies graves est-elle utile?

L’Assistance critiqueMC de Co-operators constitue un coussin financier à l’abri de l’impôt1 pour vous et votre famille au moment où vous en avez le plus besoin. Si vous recevez un diagnostic d’une maladie couverte, vous toucherez soit la prestation forfaitaire intégrale, soit une indemnité partielle au titre du programme d’assistance immédiate. Vous pouvez utiliser ces sommes à votre guise, notamment pour payer les frais suivants :

  • prêt hypothécaire et autre type de prêts si vous devez cesser de travailler
  • frais de garderie pour vous permettre de vous concentrer sur votre rétablissement
  • soins de santé complémentaires non couverts par les régimes provinciaux d’assurance maladie
  • frais d’entretien ménager et autres dépenses quotidiennes
  • cotisations aux REER ou aux REEE

Que feriez-vous si votre enfant recevait un diagnostic de maladie grave?

L’une de nos plus grandes préoccupations en tant que parent est la santé et le bien-être de nos enfants. Si votre enfant recevait un diagnostic de maladie grave, vous voudriez être à son chevet pour le réconforter et prendre soin de lui. La police d’Assistance critiqueMC – Première protection procure une aide financière aux parents d’un enfant diagnostiqué d’une maladie couverte afin qu’ils puissent se concentrer sur ce qui est le plus important : être au chevet de leur enfant et l’aider à se remettre sur pied tout en subvenant aux besoins de leur famille.

Régimes offerts

Co-operators offre quatre régimes d’Assistance critiqueMC pour répondre à vos besoins :

  • Primes nivelées pendant 10 ans et renouvelables pour des périodes successives de 10 ans jusqu’à 75 ans (AC 10)
  • Primes nivelées pendant 25 ans et renouvelables pour des périodes successives de 20 ans jusqu’à 75 ans (AC 25)
  • Primes nivelées jusqu’à 75 ans (AC 75)
  • Primes nivelées pendant 20 ans avec protection jusqu’à 75 ans (AC 20 primes)

Assistance critiqueMC

L’Assistance critiqueMC couvre 25 maladies ouvrant droit à la prestation intégrale et quatre maladies ouvrant droit à une indemnité partielle au titre du programme d’assistance immédiate. La prestation est payable en un seul versement, libre d’impôt1, pouvant aller de 25 000 $ à 2 000 000 $, selon la protection choisie. Cette police est offerte aux personnes ayant entre 18 et 65 ans (AC 10 et AC 75) ou 18 et 50 ans (AC 25 et AC 20 primes) à l’établissement. La police arrive à échéance à l’anniversaire contractuel le plus près du 75e anniversaire de naissance.

Assistance critiqueMC – Première protection pour les enfants

L’Assistance critiqueMC – Première protection couvre 32 maladies ouvrant droit à la prestation intégrale (y compris sept maladies propres à l’enfance) et quatre maladies ouvrant droit à une indemnité partielle au titre du programme d’assistance immédiate. La prestation est payable en un seul versement, libre d’impôt1, pouvant aller de 25 000 $ à 250 000 $, selon la protection choisie. Les enfants sont admissibles à l’assurance de l’âge de 30 jours à l’âge de 17 ans et la police prend fin à l’anniversaire contractuel le plus près du 75e anniversaire de naissance. Ainsi, en plus de protéger votre enfant, vous lui procurez une assurance pour les années à venir.

Autres caractéristiques

  • Remboursement des primes au décès
    Si vous décédez pendant que la police d’Assistance critiqueMC est en vigueur et qu’aucune prestation intégrale n’a été versée, nous rembourserons à votre bénéficiaire les primes que vous avez payées pour souscrire cette protection. Cette caractéristique est intégrée dans toutes les polices d’Assistance critique.
  • Droits de transformation
    Si vous décidez que vous voulez une protection à plus long terme, vous pouvez vous la procurer aisément. Les titulaires de police peuvent transformer une police temporaire 10 ans ou 25 ans en police avec primes nivelées jusqu’à 75 ans ou avec primes nivelées pendant 20 ans sans tarification supplémentaire ni attestation d’assurabilité.
  • Best DoctorsMD
    La police d’Assistance critiqueMC vous donne accès au programme Best DoctorsMD. Best DoctorsMD vous donne accès à un réseau mondial de plus de 50 000 médecins se classant parmi les meilleurs de la profession. Ces derniers peuvent confirmer votre diagnostic et vous aider à trouver un spécialiste.
  • Services de consultation
    À la suite du diagnostic d’une maladie couverte, le titulaire de police aura droit à 3 heures de consultation par téléphone pour lui-même ou pour les membres de sa famille.

Avenants facultatifs et autres garanties

Vous pouvez personnaliser votre régime d’Assistance critiqueMC en y ajoutant les avenants facultatifs et autres garanties qui suivent :

  • Avenant de remboursement des primes à l’échéance
  • Avenant de remboursement des primes au rachat
  • Garantie d’exonération des primes en cas d’invalidité
  • Garantie d’exonération automatique des primes en cas de décès ou d’invalidité du titulaire

Quelles sont les affections ou maladies couvertes?

Les affections ci-dessous donnent droit à la prestation intégrale ou au programme d’assistance immédiate. Si vous avez des questions, votre conseiller en sécurité financière peut vous expliquer la protection offerte pour vous aider à prendre une décision éclairée.

Affections ouvrant droit à la prestation intégrale

La protection pour les affections ouvrant droit à la prestation intégrale (sauf pour la perte d’autonomie2) prend effet à la date d’entrée en vigueur de la police3 et prend fin à l’expiration (75 ans). L’Assistance critiqueMC prend fin au premier versement de la prestation intégrale.

Affections admissibles

  • Accident vasculaire cérébral
  • Anémie aplasique
  • Brûlures sévères
  • Cancer (avec risque de décès à court terme)
  • Cécité
  • Chirurgie de l’aorte
  • Coma
  • Crise cardiaque
  • Déficience d’un organe vital sur liste d’attente
  • Greffe d’un organe vital
  • Infection au VIH contractée au travail
  • Insuffisance rénale
  • Maladie d’Alzheimer
  • Maladie de Parkinson
  • Maladie du neurone moteur
  • Méningite bactérienne
  • Paralysie
  • Perte d'autonomie4
  • Perte de la parole
  • Perte de membres
  • Pontage aortocoronarien
  • Remplacement d’une valvule cardiaque
  • Sclérose en plaques
  • Surdité
  • Tumeur cérébrale bénigne

Affections propres à l’enfance couvertes en sus

En plus des 25 affections ouvrant droit à la prestation intégrale, l’Assistance critiqueMC – Première protection couvre les sept affections propres à l’enfance suivantes jusqu’à 18 ans.5

Affections admissibles

  • Autisme
  • Diabète de type 1
  • Dystrophie musculaire
  • Fibrose kystique
  • Maladies congénitales du cœur
  • Paralysie cérébrale
  • Syndrome de Rett

Affections couvertes par le programme d’assistance immédiate

Une prestation partielle équivalente à 10 % de montant d’assurance, jusqu’à concurrence de 50 000 $, est payable si vous recevez un diagnostic d’une affection couverte par le programme d’assistance immédiate. La police demeure en vigueur après le versement d’une prestation partielle. Cependant, une seule prestation d’assistance immédiate peut être accordée. De plus, le versement d’une prestation partielle n’entraîne pas une réduction du montant d’assurance de la police.

Affections admissibles

  • Angioplastie coronarienne
  • Cancer (sans risque de décès à court terme) :
    • Carcinome canalaire in situ (CCIS) du sein
    • Cancer de la prostate au stade T1a ou T1b (stade A)
    • Mélanome malin au stade 1A (mélanome d’une épaisseur inférieure ou égale à 1 mm)

Nous joindre

Communiquez avec votre conseiller en sécurité financière dès aujourd’hui pour obtenir une soumission d’assurance maladies graves de Co-operators.

1 Les lois et règlements régissant l’impôt sur le revenu peuvent être modifiés en tout temps.
2 La couverture pour perte d’autonomie prend effet à l’âge de 18 ans.
3 Les maladies suivantes ne sont pas couvertes : cancer ou tumeur cérébrale bénigne durant les 90 jours suivant l’entrée en vigueur de la police ou chaque remise en vigueur. La maladie de Parkinson n’est pas couverte pendant la première année suivant l’émission ou le renouvellement de la police.
4 Perte d’autonomie : diagnostic formel d’une incapacité totale et permanente d’effectuer par soi-même au moins deux des six activités de la vie quotidienne (se baigner, s’habiller, faire sa toilette, être continent, se mouvoir, se nourrir) sur une période continue d’au moins 90 jours sans espoir raisonnable de rétablissement.
5 La protection pour l’autisme et le syndrome de Rett prend fin un jour avant le troisième anniversaire de l’enfant assuré.