Tips to keep in mind for safe travels

Few experiences can compete with the thrill of international travel. Most popular destinations offer safe environments for tourists, but it’s always smart to take precautions, no matter where you’re going. Here are tips to keep you safe when you visit another country.

Personal safety

Research your destination beforehand. When you arrive, check with local tourism officials or your hotel concierge for advice on safe and unsafe areas. Here are a few other tips to keep in mind while exploring the sights:

  • Avoid actions that make you look like a visitor (ex. carrying a camera, guidebook, maps or large backpack).
  • Be discreet when handling money, use credit cards or traveller's cheques when possible, and avoid using ATMs at night.
  • Use a money belt to carry cash, credit cards and your passport under your clothing, and leave other valuables at home or in a secure location.
  • Practice common sense: Be extra careful when drinking alcohol, exercise caution when in crowds, and never hitchhike.
  • If you’re in a foreign country, always carry the contact information of the Canadian embassy or consulate.

Immunizations

If you’re going to an exotic location, minimize your chance of illness by getting the necessary immunizations from your family doctor. Some countries actually require that you have certain immunizations before you’re allowed to enter.

Check the country's official website to make sure your shots are up to date and find out what documentation you need as proof of immunization. You can also check the Government of Canada’s recommendations for travel vaccinations and find current health and safety warnings for destinations around the world.

Travel documents

Canadians now require a passport for travel to most countries, including the United States. Some countries also require a travel visa, especially if you’re staying for an extended period. Visas are only available from the country you’re travelling to and may be applied for through their government website.

Before you leave, write down the details of your passport and visa (if applicable), credit and debit card details, travel insurance information, and driver’s license. Keep this information in a secure location. If anything gets stolen, like your wallet, you’ll have a record and be able to quickly take action.

Cyber safety

People often use social media to ask for sightseeing and dining recommendations before they travel, but you should exercise caution when posting details about your travel plans. It leaves your home vulnerable to break-ins. Try to make your home look lived-in while you’re away; have someone collect your mail and shovel your snow in winter.

When travelling, avoid using public wifi to access confidential information like credit card and banking websites. Public wifi is easier for thieves to hack and puts you at risk of theft and identity fraud.

Check your travel coverage

Learn more about the wide range of comprehensive‚ÄĮtravel-related coverage offerings available through The Co-operators, including:

  • Emergency hospital and medical
  • Multi-trip plans for frequent travellers
  • Trip cancellation and interruption
  • Flight accident
  • Accidental death and dismemberment

For more information, contact your local Financial Advisor.

Travel insurance does not cover everything. For complete terms, conditions, limitations and exclusions, please refer to the policy. Travel insurance is underwritten by CUMIS General Insurance Company, a member of the Co-operators group of companies and administered by Allianz Global Assistance, which is a registered business name of AZGA Service Canada Inc.

Conseils à ne pas oublier pour voyager en toute sécurité

Peu d’expériences peuvent rivaliser avec l’excitation d’un voyage à l’étranger. La plupart des destinations populaires offrent un environnement sécuritaire pour les touristes, mais il est toujours judicieux de prendre des précautions, peu importe où vous allez. Voici des conseils pour rester en sécurité lorsque vous partez en voyage dans un autre pays.

Sécurité personnelle

Renseignez-vous d’avance sur votre destination. À votre arrivée, demandez des conseils aux bureaux d’information touristique ou au concierge de votre hôtel quant aux endroits sécuritaires et non sécuritaires. Voici quelques points importants à garder en tête pendant que vous faites du tourisme :

  • Évitez tout ce qui vous fait passer pour un étranger (p. ex. porter un appareil photo, un guide touristique, des cartes ou un grand sac à dos).
  • Manipulez votre argent en toute discrétion, utilisez des cartes de crédit ou des chèques de voyage dans la mesure du possible, et évitez d’utiliser des guichets automatiques la nuit.
  • Portez sous vos vêtements une ceinture porte-monnaie avec de l’argent, vos cartes de crédit et votre passeport, et laissez les autres objets de valeur à la maison ou dans un lieu sûr.
  • Faites preuve de bon sens : Soyez très prudent quand vous buvez de l’alcool, soyez vigilant dans les foules et ne faites jamais de l’autostop.
  • Quand vous êtes à l’étranger, gardez toujours sur vous les coordonnées de l’ambassade canadienne ou du consulat canadien.

Vaccination

Si vous partez pour une destination exotique, réduisez les risques de contracter une maladie en demandant à votre médecin de famille de vous administrer les vaccins nécessaires. Certains pays exigent que les voyageurs aient reçu certains vaccins avant d’autoriser leur entrée au pays.

Visitez le site officiel du pays pour vous assurer d’avoir reçu tous les vaccins exigés et connaître les documents à présenter comme preuve d’immunisation. Vous pouvez aussi consulter les recommandations sur les vaccinations de voyage que donne le gouvernement canadien et lire ses récents conseils de santé aux voyageurs sur diverses destinations partout dans le monde.

Documents de voyage

Les Canadiens doivent maintenant détenir un passeport pour entrer dans la plupart des pays étrangers, dont les États-Unis. Certains pays exigent également un visa, surtout si vous y faites un long voyage. Vous pouvez en faire la demande auprès du pays de destination en vous rendant notamment sur leur site gouvernemental.

Avant de partir, notez les renseignements sur votre passeport et votre visa (le cas échéant), vos cartes de crédit et de débit, ainsi que votre assurance voyage et votre permis de conduire. Conservez ces données dans un endroit sûr, car vous pourrez vous en servir pour agir rapidement en cas de vol de votre portefeuille, par exemple.

Sécurité en ligne

Les gens utilisent parfois les réseaux sociaux pour demander des recommandations d’excursions et de restaurants avant de partir en voyage. Cependant, vous devriez faire attention lorsque vous publiez les détails de vos plans de voyage en ligne. Vous risquez d’exposer votre résidence aux vols par effraction. En votre absence, essayez de faire paraître votre maison habitée; demandez par exemple à quelqu’un de ramasser votre courrier et de déneiger votre entrée l’hiver.

Pendant le voyage, évitez d’utiliser les réseaux sans fil publics pour accéder à vos renseignements confidentiels, comme les cartes de crédit et les services bancaires en ligne. En effet, ces réseaux sont plus vulnérables au piratage et vous mettent à risque de vol et d’usurpation d’identité.

Assurance voyage

Informez-vous sur la vaste gamme de produits d’assurance voyage offerts par Co-operators, notamment :

  • Soins hospitaliers et médicaux d’urgence
  • Régimes pour voyages multiples à l’intention des grands voyageurs
  • Annulation et interruption de voyage
  • Accident d’avion
  • Décès et mutilation accidentels

Pour en savoir plus, communiquez avec votre représentant.

L’assurance voyage ne couvre pas tout. Pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur les modalités, les conditions, les restrictions et les exclusions, veuillez consulter votre police d’assurance. L’assurance voyage est souscrite par La Compagnie d’Assurance Générale CUMIS, qui fait partie du groupe de sociétés Co-operators, et administrée par Allianz Global Assistance, qui est la dénomination commerciale enregistrée d’AZGA Service Canada Inc.