Answer Centre

What to invest in

If you are just beginning to build an investment portfolio and retirement savings, it can be overwhelming to sift through all of the information. If you want solid, guaranteed investments and you want to start small, only an insurance company can offer you the security of segregated funds for as little as $50 a month to start.

Figuring out what type of plan to invest in can be challenging. Should you start an RRSP in your twenties? How young should you start saving for your child's education? We've got the answers for you here.

Segregated Funds

Depending on the registered plan that you are investing in, a segregated fund will guarantee most or all of your initial investment before any growth. This means that your funds are insulated against any hard market crash like some of the ones that we've seen in recent decades, unlike mutual funds that you purchase through other financial institutions. If you are just starting out and don't have a lot of money to invest, this is a great choice for a secure and growth-oriented investment.

Segregated funds can be used for Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs), Tax Free Savings Accounts (TFSAs) or Registered Education Savings Plans (RESPs). They may also be purchased on their own as a non-registered plan.

Which do I invest in first?

Establish a set of goals before investing to determine which plan is right for you. If your goal is to purchase your first house, you can use some of the funds from your RRSP for a down payment using the Home Buyers Plan. This makes an RRSP a more attractive choice than a TFSA. If your goals are more short term and involve travel, home renovations, or something that has a short timeline, a TFSA may be ideal.

Whatever your decision, try to put at least $50 a month in an RRSP account so that you are saving something towards your retirement. Compound interest turns that $50 into a lot more money by the time you retire, especially if you start when you are in your twenties or early thirties.

Shortly after you have a child, you should consider starting an RESP for them. There are government programs that will match a percentage of the funds that you add to their savings plan, so take advantage of these as early as you can. You will miss many great opportunities if you start an RRSP for them when they turn nine as opposed to when they are newborn. Plus, you'll be missing out on the growth potential of compound interest.

What about stocks?

One of the best ways to learn about investing is to start trading a small amount online. Take an amount of money that you are prepared to lose and follow the investment advice of experts to purchase stocks that may offer a return. Questrade is a good place to start; their trading fees are far less than similar services offered through financial institutions. Remember that smart investing requires research of companies and the numbers associated with each stock.

What are some good resources on investing?

There are many questionable resources out there on investing, especially online. Think twice if a self-styled "expert" is pushing a particular stock or a company aggressively. The following resources are good places to start, but keep a cautious frame of mind when you are doing your research. If it’s too good to be true, it usually isn't true.

Morningstar
Morningstar is one of the more respected investment websites in Canada.

Globe Investor
Investing news and advice from The Globe and Mail.

Choix des placements

Si vous commencez tout juste à investir dans un portefeuille de placements ou un régime d’épargne‑retraite, vous trouvez peut-être que la masse d’information sur les placements est étourdissante. Si vous souhaitez investir dans des placements sûrs et garantis, et commencer lentement, seule une compagnie d’assurance peut vous donner la tranquillité d’esprit qu’offrent les fonds distincts. Vous pouvez verser des cotisations d’à peine 50 $ par mois.

Il peut être difficile de choisir dans quel régime investir. Faut-il commencer à cotiser au REER dès la vingtaine? À quel âge devriez‑vous commencer à épargner pour les études de votre enfant? Vous trouverez ci‑dessous les réponses à vos questions.

Fonds distincts

Selon le régime enregistré auquel vous cotisez, le fonds distinct garanti, en tout ou en partie, le capital que vous avez investi. Autrement dit, vos fonds sont protégés contre toute chute importante des marchés, comme celles que nous avons connues ces dernières années. Les fonds communs de placement des institutions financières n’offrent pas cette garantie. Si vous commencez tout juste à épargner et que vous avez peu d’argent à placer, les fonds distincts sont un excellent choix, axé sur la sécurité et la croissance. 

Les fonds distincts peuvent être détenus dans un régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER), un compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI) ou un régime enregistré d’épargne-études (REEE). Les parts de fonds distincts peuvent également être détenues séparément, dans un compte non enregistré.

Dans quel régime devrais‑je investir en premier?

Établissez des objectifs avant de commencer à épargner, afin de déterminer le régime qui vous convient le mieux. Par exemple, si votre objectif est d’acheter une première maison, vous pourrez utiliser les fonds de votre REER pour la mise de fonds, dans le cadre du Régime d’accession à la propriété. Dans ce cas, le REER est un choix plus intéressant que le CELI. Si vous avez des projets à court terme, comme un voyage ou des rénovations, le CELI est peut‑être le meilleur choix.

Quelle que soit votre décision, essayez de verser au moins 50 $ par mois dans un compte REER, afin d’épargner un peu pour la retraite. Grâce à l’intérêt composé, ce 50 $ constituera une somme importante à la retraite, particulièrement si vous commencez dans la vingtaine ou au début de la trentaine.

Peu après la naissance d’un enfant, vous devriez penser à ouvrir un REEE à son nom. Certains programmes de l’État prévoient le versement d’un pourcentage de vos cotisations au régime; il est avantageux d’en profiter le plus tôt possible. Vous passerez à côté d’occasions intéressantes si vous n’ouvrez le compte REEE de votre enfant qu’à son neuvième anniversaire, plutôt qu’à sa naissance. De plus, vous ne pourrez pas profiter du potentiel de croissance de l’intérêt composé.

Qu’en est-il des actions?

L’une des meilleures façons d’apprendre les rudiments des placements est de consacrer un petit montant d’argent à la négociation d’actions en ligne. Prenez un montant d’argent que vous êtes prêt à perdre et suivez les conseils de placement des spécialistes pour l’achat d’actions qui pourraient procurer un bon rendement. Le site Questrade est un bon moyen de s’initier; les frais de négociation y sont nettement moins élevés que ceux des institutions financières. Rappelez‑vous que pour investir intelligemment, vous devez faire des recherches sur chaque entreprise ciblée et sur ses résultats financiers.

Quelles sont les ressources fiables sur les placements?

Il y a de nombreuses sources d’information douteuses sur les placements, particulièrement sur Internet. Méfiez‑vous des personnes qui s’autoproclament « professionnels » et qui recommandent à outrance un titre ou une société en particulier. Les sites énumérés ci‑dessous sont des points de départ fiables, mais soyez vigilant lorsque vous faites vos recherches. Si l’occasion semble trop belle pour être vraie, c’est probablement un leurre. 
Morningstar
Morningstar est l’un des sites sur les placements les plus réputés au Canada. 
Globe Investor
Vous trouverez des conseils et de l’information sur les placements dans cette section du site du Globe and Mail.