Co-operative Development Program (CDP)

As a third-tier co-operative, we recognize the valuable contributions that co-operatives have made to our own growth and development. With that in mind, The Co-operators administers a program of grants dedicated to emerging and expanding co-operatives.

The purpose of the program is to encourage the viability and growth of existing co-operatives that respond to the collective needs of Canadians, while paying special attention to social needs and development.

2018 Recipients

Since 1992, The Co-operators has provided over $2.4 million in grants and investments to developing co-operatives. In 2018, $100,000 was granted to 11 emerging or expanding co-operatives across Canada.

Atelier La Coulée, QC (in french only)
Brandon Seniors for Seniors Co-op, MB
Canadian Worker Co-operative Federation, NS
Contemporary Textile Studio Co-operative, ON
CoopZone Developers’ Network Co-operative, AB
Foodlands Cooperative of BC, BC
Hullabaloo Publishing Workers Co-operative Ltd., SK
Monashee Community Co-op, BC
Sackville Commons Co-op Ltd., NB
Saskatoon CarShare Co-operative, SK
SPIRA, QC

Applying for funding

Applications will be handed out starting October 1, 2018, and will be accepted from January 1 to March 1, 2019. Note that if the March 1 deadline falls on a weekend or statutory holiday, applications must be received by the previous Friday, before 11:59 p.m. (Eastern Time).

To request a copy of the CDP application form please contact: the_cooperators_foundation@cooperators.ca

Each year, The Co-operators makes grants available to co-operatives. To be eligible for a grant, organizations must be legally incorporated as a co-operative at the time of their application and include their articles of incorporation with their application.

Grants are made to cover costs associated with co-operative business development, including feasibility and market research, business planning, marketing and promotion, member engagement, and legal and financial supports. We do NOT provide financial assistance for:

  • Capital expenditures
  • Ongoing operational expenses
  • Insurance
  • Scholarships
  • University or College courses and programs
  • Conferences
  • Travel
  • Fund-raising initiatives
  • Deficit Reduction
  • Retroactive expenses

The maximum grant is $20,000.

Programme de développement des coopératives (PDC)

Nous reconnaissons les précieuses contributions des coopératives pour assurer notre croissance et notre développement en tant que coopérative de troisième niveau. C’est pourquoi Co-operators gère un programme de subventions destinées aux coopératives en démarrage ou en expansion.

Le but du programme est de favoriser la viabilité et la croissance des coopératives existantes qui répondent aux besoins collectifs des Canadiens tout en privilégiant leurs besoins sociaux et économiques. 

Bénéficiaires de 2018

Depuis 1992, Co-operators a versé plus de 2,4 millions de dollars en subventions et en investissements pour assurer le développement des coopératives. En 2018, onze coopératives émergentes ou en expansion au Canada se sont ainsi partagé 100 000$.

Atelier La Coulée, QC
Brandon Seniors for Seniors Co-op, MB [en anglais]
Contemporary Textile Studio Co-operative, ON [en anglais]
CoopZone Developers’ Network Co-operative, AB [en anglais]
Foodlands Cooperative of BC, BC [en anglais]
Hullabaloo Publishing Workers Co-operative Ltd., SK [en anglais]
La Fédération canadienne des coopératives de travail, NS
Monashee Community Co-op, BC [en anglais]
Sackville Commons Co-op Ltd., NB [en anglais]
Saskatoon CarShare Co-operative, SK [en anglais]
SPIRA, QC

Demande de subvention

Les demandes seront distribuées à compter du 1 octobre 2018 et acceptées du 1er janvier au 1er mars 2019. Si la date limite tombe une fin de semaine ou un jour férié, les demandes doivent être reçues le vendredi précédent, avant 23 h 59 (heure de l’Est).

Pour obtenir une copie du formulaire de demande de subvention du PDC, veuillez écrire à fondation_cooperators@cooperators.ca

Co-operators verse chaque année des subventions à des coopératives. Pour obtenir une subvention, votre organisme doit être constitué légalement en coopérative au moment où vous présentez une demande, laquelle doit être accompagnée des statuts.

Les subventions servent à couvrir les frais liés au développement des affaires coopératives, notamment les études de faisabilité et de marché, la planification des activités, les activités de promotion et de marketing, de mobilisation et de formation professionnelle, ainsi que le soutien juridique et financier. Aucune aide financière n’est accordée pour ce qui suit :

  • Dépenses en immobilisations
  • Frais d’exploitation en cours
  • Assurance
  • Bourses d’études
  • Cours ou programmes universitaires ou collégiaux
  • Conférences
  • Déplacements 
  • Collectes de fonds
  • Projets de réduction du déficit
  • Dépenses rétroactives

La subvention maximale est de 20 000 $.