Corporate Venture Capital fund

The Co-operators Corporate Venture Capital fund reflects our continued commitment to addressing the unmet insurance and financial services needs of Canadians and their communities taking part in a fast-paced and ever-changing digital economy.

In support of our innovation strategy, the fund focuses on investments and partnerships aligned with three key themes:

  • Meeting emerging and underserved financial needs
  • Enriching the resiliency of Canadians and their communities
  • Digital technology products or service solutions offering strategic value in our core operations and/or assist us in exploring opportunities in adjacent and emerging markets

As a strategic partner, we bring the following partnership capabilities to the table:

  • Large, purpose-built, cooperative financial services company supported by and connected across broader stakeholder groups, domestically and internationally
  • Existing footprint in property & casualty, life insurance, and wealth management, including a variety of distribution channels and partners
  • Access to various client segments
  • Ability and desire to collaborate and co-create with start-ups
  • Access to capital and experienced insurance and wealth management professionals

Case study: BlueDot - Detecting COVID-19 before the world knew its name

Before the pandemic, The Co-operators considered the spread of infectious diseases and the risk of global pandemics as a significant threat to the health, well-being and financial security of Canadians. In 2019, through the fund, we were a lead investor in BlueDot, a digital-health company that uses big-data analytics to track and anticipate the spread of the world’s most dangerous infectious diseases.

In early 2020, BlueDot made world headlines as being among the first in the world to identify the emerging risk from COVID-19 in Hubei province and immediately alerting its clients of an impending threat with its robust technological platform. BlueDot also published the world’s first peer reviewed scientific study on the spread of COVID-19, which accurately predicted eight of the first 10 cities to import the novel coronavirus through commercial air travel.

“As chair of BlueDot’s Board of Directors, I observe first-hand how The Co-operators and our fellow social-purpose investors are uniquely positioned to gain immense knowledge and learnings to better navigate the impacts of new and emerging risks. BlueDot is empowering resiliency efforts in the face of COVID-19 and other infectious diseases that threaten global and local health, security and prosperity.” – Steve Phillips, Executive Vice-President, The Co-operators

Through the Corporate Venture Capital fund, we leverage our capital to partner with start-ups on the leading edge of new technology and innovations that will help meet the changing needs and preferences of our clients.

Partner with The Co-operators!

The Co-operators Corporate Venture Capital fund was developed to facilitate more innovative partnerships that can develop solutions to challenges we face as an organization and as a society. Please submit a high-level summary of your company and technology to Daniel Sinclair, Vice President, Corporate Development, Co Head Co-operators Corporate Venture Capital fund at venturefund@cooperators.ca.

Our Venture fund partners

Portage Ventures BlueDot - Outbreak Risk Software slice logo

Fonds de capital-risque

Le fonds de capital-risque de Co-operators reflète son engagement continu à répondre aux besoins non comblés des Canadiens et de leurs collectivités en matière d’assurance et de services financiers, dans un contexte où l’économie numérique ne cesse d’évoluer à un rythme effréné.

Dans l’esprit de notre stratégie de l’innovation, le fonds met l’accent sur les placements et partenariats axés sur trois thèmes principaux :

  • Répondre aux besoins financiers émergents et mal desservis
  • Renforcer la résilience des Canadiens et de leurs collectivités
  • Offrir des produits et services numériques ayant une valeur stratégique pour nos activités principales ou pouvant nous aider à explorer les possibilités sur les marchés adjacents et émergents

En tant que partenaire stratégique, nous disposons des moyens suivants :

  • Grande coopérative de services financiers, entreprise engagée, bénéficiant du soutien et de la connexion d’un groupe de partenaires d’envergure, au pays et à l’international
  • Présence durable en assurance de dommages, en assurance de personnes, ainsi qu’en gestion de patrimoine, avec différents réseaux de distribution et partenaires
  • Accès à divers segments de clientèle
  • Capacité et désir de collaborer et de s’associer avec de jeunes entreprises innovantes
  • Accès à des capitaux et à des professionnels chevronnés de l’assurance et de la gestion de patrimoine

Étude de cas : BlueDot – Détection de la COVID-19 avant même de savoir ce que c’était

Avant la pandémie, Co-operators avait déjà commencé à réfléchir à la propagation de maladies infectieuses et au risque d’une pandémie menaçant la santé, le bien-être et la sécurité financière des Canadiens. En 2019, le Fonds de capital-risque de Co-operators nous a permis de devenir le principal investisseur de BlueDot, une entreprise spécialisée en santé numérique qui utilise l’analytique des mégadonnées pour surveiller et anticiper la propagation des maladies infectieuses les plus dangereuses au monde.

Au début de 2020, BlueDot a fait les manchettes sur la scène internationale, car elle a été l’une des premières entreprises dans le monde à soulever les risques liés à la COVID-19 dans la province du Hubei et à aviser ses clients du risque imminent au moyen de sa solide plateforme technologique. C’est aussi BlueDot qui a publié le premier article scientifique sur la propagation de la COVID-19, prédisant ainsi correctement huit des dix premières villes à introduire le nouveau coronavirus sur leur territoire en raison du transport aérien commercial.

« En tant que président du conseil d’administration de BlueDot, je suis à même de constater que Co-operators et les autres investisseurs éthiques sont bien positionnés pour acquérir les connaissances profondes qui leur permettront de gérer les impacts des risques nouveaux et émergents. BlueDot contribue à renforcer notre résilience face à la COVID-19 et aux autres maladies infectieuses qui menacent notre santé, notre sécurité et notre prospérité à l’échelle locale et mondiale. » – Steve Phillips, premier vice-président, Co-operators

Grâce à ce fonds, nous pouvons tirer parti de notre capital pour collaborer avec de jeunes entreprises et offrir des solutions technologiques de pointe pour répondre aux besoins changeants de nos clients et nous adapter à leurs préférences.

Associez-vous à Co-operators!

Le Fonds de capital-risque de Co-operators a pour objectif de favoriser les partenariats novateurs permettant de concevoir des solutions aux enjeux auxquels nous faisons face, comme organisation et comme société. Nous vous invitons à soumettre une description sommaire de votre entreprise et de sa technologie à Daniel Sinclair, vice-président au développement de l’entreprise et co chef du Fonds de capital-risque de Co-operators à venturefund@cooperators.ca.

Nos partenaires

Portage Ventures BlueDot - Outbreak Risk Software slice logo Emmertech logo