Investment update

Weekly insight into the marketplace.

May 2 to 6, 2022

The Fed raised interest rates another half point

The key market-moving event of the week came Wednesday, when Federal Reserve (the Fed) policymakers unanimously voted to increase the benchmark rate by 50 basis points. The U.S. central bank also confirmed that it will begin selling off its holdings of treasuries and mortgage-backed securities (purchased to support the U.S. economy through the pandemic), starting in June, with the pace of tapering to accelerate over the next three months. During his first in-person press conference since the pandemic began, Fed Chair Jerome Powell explained: “Inflation is much too high and we understand the hardship it is causing and we are moving expeditiously to bring it back down.” He added that there was “a broad sense on the committee that additional 50-basis-point increases should be on the table for the next couple of meetings.” Powell also tamped down market speculation over a 75-basis-point increase coming later this year, saying it’s “not something that the committee is actively considering.” This sent equity markets into rally mode and, by Wednesday’s close, helped the major North American indexes turn in their best daily performances in almost two years.

The stock-market rallies stalled on Thursday, as investor concerns resurfaced over the ability of central banks to rein in skyrocketing inflation without triggering a recession. By Thursday’s close, the shares of 95% of S&P 500–listed companies were down. The tech-heavy Nasdaq led losses across the benchmarks, falling 5%. A sell-off in longer-duration treasuries – which influence borrowing costs for companies and households – pushed yields to multi-year highs, with the rate on the benchmark 10-year climbing to 3% for the first time since 2018.

Oil prices surged mid-week over Europe’s plans to ban Russian oil

On Wednesday, with the European Union’s announced plans to ban Russian oil by the end of the year, global oil prices surged, and futures for benchmark WTI crude rose over 5%. European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen said: “This will be a complete import ban on all Russian oil, seaborne and pipeline, crude and refined.” Global supply is tight and Europe relies heavily on Russian oil (in 2021, importing about 720,000 barrels of crude a day), making a phase-out plan extremely costly for the region.

Prices cooled on Thursday, after OPEC and its allies announced an increase in production – by 432,000 barrels a day as early as June – and the International Energy Agency said that its members were able to release more oil stockpiles, if needed. The decline was short-lived, as WTI futures rose to nearly US$110 a barrel on Friday and posted a second-straight week of gains.

Lacklustre earnings from e-commerce firms weighed on stock-market performance

On Thursday, Shopify saw its shares plunge to their lowest price since April 2020, after releasing financial results that came in below market expectations. Shares for the Canadian e-commerce software company – an influential listing in the TSX’s technology sector – have declined more than 70% this year. Investors also took notice of the company’s weak outlook for growth, with fewer merchants using their platform in 2022. E-commerce stocks have taken a beating this earnings season, given concerns that online shopping is slowing as pandemic restrictions lift. Shares of Wayfair, Etsy and eBay were all down on Thursday, as part of a broader tech-sector sell-off across stock markets. By Friday’s close, all the major North American equity benchmarks were down for a fifth-consecutive week.

The stock and bond market
Index Close Week YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 20,633.29 -0.62% -2.78%
Dow Jones Industrial Average 32,899.37 -0.24% -9.46%
S&P 500 Index 4,123.34 -0.21% -13.49%
NASDAQ Composite 12,144.66 -1.54% -22.37%
10-year Canadian Bond Yield 3.03% 0.15% 1.61%
10year US Treasury Yield 3.12% 0.23% 1.60%
WTI Crude Oil US$/barrel 109.77 4.85% 45.95%
Canadian Dollar US$0.7747 -0.36% -2.09%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 3.20%

*Weekly performance ending May 6, 2022. Source: Bloomberg.


Key take-away

Countless factors influence market cycles. The market’s day-to-day ups and downs can cause stress and anxiety. But it’s important to put market performance into perspective, keeping your goals front and centre. A solid financial roadmap is the best way to weather ever-changing market conditions. Designing that roadmap – and staying the course – can be easier with the help of a Co-operators financial representative. You can also find strategies for navigating market volatility on our Market View page.

What’s ahead

U.S. inflation data (May 11): In March, the annual rate of inflation in the U.S. rose to 8.5% – the highest level recorded since 1981. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics is scheduled to release April data on Wednesday.

Circle these dates

May 23 Canada’s TSX closed for Victoria Day holiday

May 30 U.S. markets closed for Memorial Day holiday

June 1 Bank of Canada interest-rate announcement

June 14 to 15 U.S. Federal Reserve meetings and statement



The commentary in this report is based on current market conditions and market media sources available to the public and may change without prior warning at any time. The forecasts provided herein are not guarantees of future performance and include risks, uncertainty and assumptions. While Co-operators Life Insurance Company (“Co-operators”) believes these assumptions are reasonable, there is no guarantee they will be confirmed. This report is not a guarantee of future investment performance, nor should undue reliance be placed on this report. This report is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this report constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice. The content in this report should not be relied upon in making an investment or other decision, and individuals should obtain relevant and specific professional advice and read the terms and conditions contained in the relevant offering documents carefully before any investment decision is made. Co-operators is not responsible for any loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information contained in this report. Co-operators makes no representations or warranties as to the information contained herein and does not guarantee its accuracy, timeliness, completeness or usefulness. Co-operators is committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information it collects, uses, retains and discloses in the course of conducting business. Please visit cooperators.ca/privacy for more information. Co-operators® is a registered trademark of Co-operators Group Limited and is used with permission. Investing in your future. Together.TM is a trademark of Co-operators Group Limited. If you are a client who has received this, and you have questions or want to discuss your investments, please contact your Financial Advisor.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average and S&P 500 ("Indices") are products of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, its affiliates and/or their licensors and has been licensed for use by Co-operators Financial Services Limited. Copyright © 2022 S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, its affiliates and/or their licensors. All rights reserved. Redistribution or reproduction in whole or in part are prohibited without written permission of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC. For more information on any of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC’s indices please visit www.spdji.com. S&P® is a registered trademark of Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC and Dow Jones® is a registered trademark of Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC. Neither S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, their affiliates nor their third party licensors make any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to the ability of any index to accurately represent the asset class or market sector that it purports to represent and neither S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, their affiliates nor their third party licensors shall have any liability for any errors, omissions, or interruptions of any index or the data included therein.

The S&P/TSX Composite is a product of TSX Inc., its affiliates and/or their licensors and has been licensed for use by Co-operators Financial Services Limited. Copyright © 2022 TSX Inc. All Rights reserved. Neither TSX Inc., their affiliates, nor their third party licensors make any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to the accuracy of market representation of any index, or the context from which they are drawn, and shall not be liable for any errors, omissions or interruptions of any index or the data included therein.

Le point sur les placements

Analyse hebdomadaire du marché

Du 2 au 6 mai 2022

La Fed a encore relevé les taux d’intérêt d’un demi-point

L’événement le plus important de la semaine pour les marchés a eu lieu mercredi, lorsque les responsables de la Réserve fédérale (la Fed) ont voté à l’unanimité en faveur d’une augmentation du taux de référence de 50 points de base. La banque centrale américaine a également confirmé qu’elle commencerait à vendre ses avoirs en bons du Trésor et en titres adossés à des créances hypothécaires (achetés pour soutenir l’économie américaine pendant la pandémie) à compter de juin, pour accélérer le rythme au cours des trois prochains mois. Lors de sa première conférence de presse en personne depuis le début de la pandémie, le président de la Fed, Jerome Powell, a expliqué : « L’inflation est trop forte. Nous comprenons les difficultés que cela engendre et nous agissons rapidement pour la réduire. » Il a ajouté que le comité était généralement d’avis que des augmentations supplémentaires de 50 points de base devraient être sur la table lors des deux prochaines réunions. M. Powell a également calmé les conjectures du marché en déclarant qu’une hausse des taux de 75 points de base plus tard dans l’année n’est pas « quelque chose que le comité envisage activement ». Les marchés boursiers ont alors amorcé une reprise et, à la clôture des marchés mercredi, les principaux indices nord-américains ont enregistré leurs meilleurs rendements quotidiens depuis près de deux ans.

Ce mouvement de reprise a pris fin jeudi, lorsque les investisseurs ont recommencé à s’inquiéter de la capacité des banques centrales à contenir l’inflation galopante sans déclencher de récession. À la clôture des marchés jeudi, les actions de 95 % des sociétés cotées au S&P 500 étaient en baisse. Le Nasdaq, à forte coloration technologique, a mené les pertes des indices de référence avec une baisse de 5 %. La liquidation des bons du Trésor de plus longue durée – qui influent sur les coûts d’emprunt des entreprises et des ménages – a poussé les rendements à des sommets pluriannuels, le taux de référence des Bons du Trésor à 10 ans grimpant à 3 % pour la première fois depuis 2018.

L’intention de l’Europe d’interdire les achats de pétrole russe a fait bondir les prix du pétrole en milieu de semaine

Les prix mondiaux du pétrole ont bondi, tandis que les contrats à terme sur le brut de référence WTI ont augmenté de plus de 5 % mercredi, lorsque l’Union européenne a annoncé son intention d’imposer un embargo sur les achats de pétrole russe d’ici la fin de l’année. La présidente de la Commission européenne, Ursula von der Leyen, a déclaré : « Il s’agira d’une interdiction complète des importations de tout le pétrole russe, transporté par voie maritime ou par oléoduc, brut et raffiné. » L’offre mondiale est tendue et l’Europe dépend fortement du pétrole russe (en 2021, elle importait environ 720 000 barils de brut par jour), ce qui rend un plan d’élimination progressive extrêmement coûteux pour la région.

Les prix sont retombés jeudi, lorsque l’OPEP et ses alliés ont annoncé une augmentation de la production – de 432 000 barils par jour dès le mois de juin – et que l’Agence internationale de l’énergie a déclaré que ses membres étaient en mesure de libérer davantage de stocks de pétrole, si nécessaire. Le répit fut de courte durée, et les prix du WTI ont augmenté à près de 110 $ US le baril vendredi pour une deuxième semaine consécutive de hausse.

Les piètres résultats des entreprises de commerce électronique ont pesé sur les rendements boursiers

Jeudi, les actions de Shopify ont plongé à leur plus bas niveau depuis avril 2020 dans le sillage de la publication de ses résultats financiers inférieurs aux attentes du marché. Les actions de la société canadienne de logiciels de commerce électronique – titre influent dans le secteur technologique du TSX – ont perdu plus de 70 % cette année. Les investisseurs ont également pris note des faibles perspectives de croissance de l’entreprise compte tenu du nombre croissant de marchands ayant délaissé sa plateforme en 2022. Les actions des sociétés de commerce électronique ont été malmenées en cette saison de publication des résultats en raison des inquiétudes entourant le ralentissement des achats en ligne avec la levée des restrictions pour lutter contre la pandémie. Les actions de Wayfair, d’Etsy et d’eBay accusaient toutes un recul jeudi dans le cadre d’un plus vaste mouvement de liquidation dans le secteur technologique sur l’ensemble des marchés boursiers. À la clôture des marchés vendredi, tous les principaux indices de référence boursiers nord-américains étaient en baisse pour une cinquième semaine consécutive

Marché boursier et obligataire
Indice Clôture Semaine CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S&P/TSX Composite 20 633,29 -0,62 % -2,78 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 32 899,37 -0,24 % -9,46 %
Indice S&P 500 4 123,34 -0,21 % -13,49 %
Indice composé Nasdaq 12 144,66 -1,54 % -22,37 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 3,03 % 0,15 % 1,61 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 3,12 % 0,23 % 1,60 %
Cours du pétrole brut WTI $ US/baril 109,77 4,85 % 45,95 %
Dollar canadien 0,7747 $ US -0,36 % -2,09 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada 3,20 %

Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 6 mai 2022. Sources Bloomberg.


À retenir

Maintenir le cap dans des marchés turbulents. Les oscillations quotidiennes du marché peuvent être une source de stress et d’anxiété. Il est crucial de mettre le rendement du marché en perspective et de garder vos objectifs à l’avant-plan. Une feuille de route financière solide est le meilleur moyen de s’adapter aux conjonctures toujours changeantes du marché. Il est plus facile de dresser ce plan – et de garder le cap - avec l’aide d’un représentant ou d’une représentante de Cooperators. Trouvez également des stratégies pour traverser la volatilité des marchés sur notre page Regard sur les marchés.

Ce qui nous attend

Données sur l’inflation américaine (11 mai). Le taux annuel d’inflation aux États-Unis est passé à 8,5 % en mars, soit le taux le plus élevé depuis 1981. Le Bureau des statistiques sur l’emploi des États-Unis devrait publier mercredi les données pour avril.

Dates importantes

23 mai Fermeture de la Bourse de Toronto pour le jour de la fête de la Reine/Journée nationale des patriotes

30 mai Fermeture des bourses américaines en raison du Memorial Day

1er juin Annonce du taux directeur de la Banque du Canada

Du 14 au 15 juin Réunions et déclaration de la Réserve fédérale américaine



Les commentaires exprimés dans le présent rapport reposent sur les conditions actuelles du marché et les sources médiatiques accessibles au public, et peuvent changer sans préavis. Les prévisions fournies ne constituent pas une garantie de rendement futur, et comportent des risques, des incertitudes et des hypothèses. Bien que Cooperators Compagnie d’assurance-vie (« Cooperators ») considère ces hypothèses comme raisonnables, aucune garantie ne peut être donnée quant à leur réalisation. Le présent rapport ne donne aucune garantie de rendement futur et le lecteur est prié de ne pas s’y fier indûment. Ce document se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres. Il convient de ne pas se fier aux informations contenues, qui ne sauraient se substituer à des conseils professionnels pertinents et spécifiques, et de lire attentivement les conditions décrites dans les documents de souscription avant de prendre une décision de placement. Cooperators rejette toute responsabilité quant aux pertes ou dommages découlant de l’utilisation des informations contenues dans le présent rapport, et ne fait aucune déclaration ni ne donne aucune garantie quant à leur exactitude, à leur actualité, à leur exhaustivité ou à leur fiabilité. Cooperators s’engage à protéger la vie privée de ses clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de ses affaires. Consultez la page cooperators.ca/vie-privee pour en savoir plus. CooperatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co operators limitée, utilisée avec permission. Planifier l’avenir. Ensemble.MC est une marque de commerce du Groupe Cooperators limitée. Si vous avez reçu ce courriel à titre de client et que vous avez des questions, ou si vous souhaitez discuter de vos placements, veuillez contacter votre conseiller en sécurité financière.

Les indices Dow Jones Industrial Average et S&P 500 (les « indices ») sont des produits de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, de ses sociétés affiliées ou de leurs concédants de licence, et sont utilisés sous licence par Services financiers Cooperators limitée. © S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, ses sociétés affiliées ou leurs concédants de licence, 2022. Tous droits réservés. La redistribution ou la reproduction en totalité ou en partie sont interdites sans l’autorisation écrite de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC. Pour en savoir plus sur l’un des indices de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, veuillez consulter le site www.spdji.com. S&P® est une marque déposée de Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC et Dow Jones® est une marque déposée de Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC. S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, leurs sociétés affiliées et leurs concédants de licence indépendants ne font aucune déclaration et ne donnent aucune garantie, expresse ou tacite, quant à la capacité d’un indice à représenter de manière fidèle la catégorie d’actifs ou le secteur du marché qu’il prétend représenter, et aucune de ces entités ne peut être tenue responsable des erreurs, omissions ou interruptions d’un indice ou des données s’y rapportant.

L’indice composé S&P/TSX est un produit de TSX Inc., de ses sociétés affiliées ou de leurs concédants de licence, et est utilisé sous licence par Services financiers Cooperators limitée. © TSX Inc., 2022. Tous droits réservés. TSX Inc., ses sociétés affiliées et leurs concédants de licence indépendants ne font aucune déclaration et ne donnent aucune garantie, expresse ou tacite, quant à l’exactitude de la représentation du marché de tout indice, ou du contexte dont ils sont tirés, et ne peuvent être tenus responsables des erreurs, omissions ou interruptions d’un indice ou des données s’y rapportant.