Investment update

Weekly insight into the marketplace.

April 25 to 29, 2022

Elon Musk bought Twitter

Fear that China’s latest COVID-19 outbreak will hamper global economic growth, along with rising global interest rates aimed at taming inflation, continued to weigh on investor sentiment last week. But the biggest market influencer was Elon Musk’s purchase of Twitter, and the effect it had on Tesla stock. On Monday, Twitter’s board unanimously agreed to accept Musk’s all-cash offer to buy the social media company for US$44 billion dollars. Initially resistant to the takeover bid, the board, under pressure from stakeholders, ultimately changed course: “The proposed transaction will deliver a substantial cash premium, and we believe it is the best path forward for Twitter’s stockholders,” Bret Taylor, Twitter’s independent board chair, said in a statement. Twitter shares rose 5.7% following the deal, which sparked a mid-day rally that saw the Dow stage its biggest intra-day reversal since February 24. The S&P 500 and Nasdaq also posted their biggest gains in a week, and Canada’s TSX nearly recouped all of its daily losses with a late-day bounce back.

Tesla stock weighed down markets

Musk was at the center of activity again on Tuesday after Tesla stock declined 12%, wiping out US$126 billion in market valuation, and leading to a 4% decline for the tech-heavy Nasdaq. Investors were concerned that the world’s richest man would sell more of his Tesla shares to cover the Twitter price tag. On Thursday, Musk sold US$8.5 billion worth of Tesla stock, but tweeted he had “no further Tesla sales planned after today.” Not all of the financing details for the Twitter sale were made public, but Musk acknowledged that he used his Tesla shares as collateral, spooking investors during a period when tech stocks were already under pressure due to climbing interest rates. Since April 4, when Musk first announced that he’d increased his stake in Twitter, Tesla’s market capitalization has declined more than US$275 billion.

Corporate earnings came into focus

Wednesday saw markets close unevenly, with positive results for Microsoft – which only beat revenue expectations by 1% (US$49.36 billion vs. $49.05 billion) – slightly offsetting Alphabet’s first revenue miss since Q4 2019. Amazon (which reported later in the week) also disclosed its first loss in seven years. Sentiment improved dramatically Thursday when shares in Facebook’s parent company, Meta, surged 19% after the company reported revenue of US$27.9 billion, up 7% from a year earlier. But the gains wouldn’t hold. Markets nosedived Friday when disappointing economic data heightened uncertainty. Domestically, Air Canada reported that it more than tripled its revenues last quarter compared to the same period in 2021 ($2.57 billion versus $729 million), despite recording a net loss of nearly $1 billion. Vancouver-based mining company Teck Resources announced first-quarter earnings of $1.57 billion, up from $305 million on an increase in demand for copper, zinc and steelmaking coal.

The stock and bond market
Index Close Week YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 20,762.00 -1.96% -2.17%
Dow Jones Industrial Average 32,977.21 -2.47% -9.25%
S&P 500 Index 4,131.93 -3.27% -13.31%
NASDAQ Composite 12,334.64 -3.93% -21.16%
10-year Canadian Bond Yield 2.80% -0.07% 1.38%
10year US Treasury Yield 2.89% -0.01% 1.37%
WTI Crude Oil US$/barrel $104.69 2.57% 39.20%
Canadian Dollar US$0.7775 -1.17% -1.73%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 3.20%

*Weekly performance ending April 29, 2022. Source: Bloomberg.


Key take-away

Rising interest rates can negatively impact markets. Bonds are particularly sensitive to interest-rate changes, as many pay a fixed rate of interest. During a period of rising rates, holding bonds that exhibit a shorter duration can reduce your exposure to interest-rate risks. A Co-operators financial representative would be happy to review your portfolio with you to ensure you’re on track.

What’s ahead

U.S. Federal Reserve meetings and statement (May 3-4): There’s little doubt the Fed will raise interest rates when it meets this week. The question on investors’ minds is how much benchmark rates will rise, as the central bank tries to cool inflation without plunging the U.S. economy into a recession.

Circle these dates

May 23 Canada’s TSX closed for Victoria Day holiday

May 30 U.S. markets closed for Memorial Day holiday

June 1 Bank of Canada interest-rate announcement



The commentary in this report is based on current market conditions and market media sources available to the public and may change without prior warning at any time. The forecasts provided herein are not guarantees of future performance and include risks, uncertainty and assumptions. While Co-operators Life Insurance Company (“Co-operators”) believes these assumptions are reasonable, there is no guarantee they will be confirmed. This report is not a guarantee of future investment performance, nor should undue reliance be placed on this report. This report is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this report constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice. The content in this report should not be relied upon in making an investment or other decision, and individuals should obtain relevant and specific professional advice and read the terms and conditions contained in the relevant offering documents carefully before any investment decision is made. Co-operators is not responsible for any loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information contained in this report. Co-operators makes no representations or warranties as to the information contained herein and does not guarantee its accuracy, timeliness, completeness or usefulness. Co-operators is committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information it collects, uses, retains and discloses in the course of conducting business. Please visit cooperators.ca/privacy for more information. Co-operators® is a registered trademark of Co-operators Group Limited and is used with permission. Investing in your future. Together.TM is a trademark of Co-operators Group Limited. If you are a client who has received this, and you have questions or want to discuss your investments, please contact your Financial Advisor.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average and S&P 500 ("Indices") are products of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, its affiliates and/or their licensors and has been licensed for use by Co-operators Financial Services Limited. Copyright © 2022 S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, its affiliates and/or their licensors. All rights reserved. Redistribution or reproduction in whole or in part are prohibited without written permission of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC. For more information on any of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC’s indices please visit www.spdji.com. S&P® is a registered trademark of Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC and Dow Jones® is a registered trademark of Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC. Neither S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, their affiliates nor their third party licensors make any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to the ability of any index to accurately represent the asset class or market sector that it purports to represent and neither S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, their affiliates nor their third party licensors shall have any liability for any errors, omissions, or interruptions of any index or the data included therein.

The S&P/TSX Composite is a product of TSX Inc., its affiliates and/or their licensors and has been licensed for use by Co-operators Financial Services Limited. Copyright © 2022 TSX Inc. All Rights reserved. Neither TSX Inc., their affiliates, nor their third party licensors make any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to the accuracy of market representation of any index, or the context from which they are drawn, and shall not be liable for any errors, omissions or interruptions of any index or the data included therein.

Le point sur les placements

Analyse hebdomadaire du marché

Du 25 au 29 avril 2022

Elon Musk a racheté Twitter

La crainte que la dernière flambée de COVID-19 en Chine ainsi que la hausse des taux d’intérêt dans le monde dans le but de contenir l’inflation ne freinent la croissance économique mondiale ont continué d’assombrir l’humeur des marchés la semaine dernière. Toutefois, c’est l’achat de Twitter par Elon Musk et ses répercussions sur l’action de Tesla qui a le plus ébranlé les bourses. Lundi, le conseil d’administration de Twitter a accepté à l’unanimité l’offre entièrement en espèces de M. Musk pour racheter la société de médias sociaux au prix de 44 milliards de dollars américains. Le conseil d’administration, initialement réfractaire à l’offre publique d’achat, a finalement changé d’avis sous la pression des parties prenantes : « La transaction proposée fournira une prime en espèces importante, et nous pensons que c’est la meilleure voie à suivre pour les actionnaires de Twitter », a déclaré Bret Taylor, président du conseil d’administration indépendant de Twitter, dans un communiqué. L’action de Twitter a augmenté de 5,7 % à la suite de l’opération, ce qui a déclenché une reprise en milieu de journée où le Dow Jones a enregistré son plus grand revirement intrajournalier depuis le 24 février. Le S&P 500 et le Nasdaq ont également engrangé leurs plus gros gains hebdomadaires, et le TSX canadien a presque récupéré toutes ses pertes quotidiennes grâce à un rebond en fin de journée.

L’action de Tesla a pesé sur les marchés

Elon Musk se trouvait de nouveau au cœur de l’activité mardi après que l’action de Tesla eut perdu 12 %, soit 126 milliards de dollars américains de sa valorisation boursière, et eut provoqué un recul de 4 % du Nasdaq, à forte coloration technologique. Les investisseurs craignaient que l’homme le plus riche du monde ne se départisse d’encore plus de ses actions de Tesla pour couvrir le prix d’achat de Twitter. Jeudi, M. Musk a vendu pour 8,5 milliards de dollars américains d’actions de Tesla, mais il a indiqué sur Twitter qu’aucune autre vente de titres de Tesla n’était prévue après cette journée. Les détails du financement de la vente de Twitter n’ont pas été rendus publics, mais M. Musk a reconnu avoir utilisé ses actions de Tesla comme garantie, ce qui a effrayé les investisseurs dans une période où les titres technologiques subissaient déjà la pression de la hausse des taux d’intérêt. Depuis le 4 avril, date à laquelle M. Musk a annoncé pour la première fois qu’il augmentait sa participation dans Twitter, la capitalisation boursière de Tesla a diminué de plus de 275 milliards de dollars américains.

Les résultats des entreprises scrutés de près

Les marchés ont clôturé la journée de mercredi en dents de scie, avec des résultats positifs pour Microsoft – qui a dépassé les attentes en matière de revenus de 1 % seulement (49,36 milliards de dollars américains contre 49,05 milliards de dollars américains) – compensant légèrement le premier manque à gagner d’Alphabet depuis le quatrième trimestre 2019. Amazon (qui a publié ses résultats plus tard dans la semaine) affichait également des pertes pour la première fois en sept ans. L’humeur s’est considérablement améliorée jeudi lorsque les actions de Meta, société mère de Facebook, ont bondi de 19 % après que la société eut annoncé un chiffre d’affaires de 27,9 milliards de dollars américains, en hausse de 7 % par rapport à l’année précédente. Mais ces gains sont restés de courte durée. De fait, les marchés ont plongé vendredi lorsque des données économiques décevantes sont venues renforcer l’incertitude. Sur le plan national, Air Canada a déclaré avoir plus que triplé ses revenus au dernier trimestre par rapport à la période correspondante de 2021 (2,57 milliards de dollars contre 729 millions de dollars), malgré une perte nette de près d’un milliard de dollars. La société minière Teck Resources, basée à Vancouver, a annoncé un bénéfice de 1,57 milliard de dollars au premier trimestre, contre 305 millions de dollars, soutenu par une augmentation de la demande de cuivre, de zinc et de charbon sidérurgique.

Marché boursier et obligataire
Indice Clôture Semaine CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S&P/TSX Composite 20 762,00 -1,96 % -2,17 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 32 977,21 -2,47 % -9,25 %
Indice S&P 500 4 131,93 -3,27 % -13,31 %
Indice composé Nasdaq 12 334,64 -3,93 % -21,16 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 2,80 % -0,07 % 1,38 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 2,89 % -0,01 % 1,37 %
Cours du pétrole brut WTI $ US/baril 104,69 $ 2,57 % 39,20 %
Dollar canadien 0,7775 $ US -1,17 % -1,73 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada 3,20 %

Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 29 avril 2022. Sources Bloomberg.


À retenir

La hausse des taux d’intérêt peut nuire aux marchés. Les obligations sont particulièrement sensibles aux variations des taux d’intérêt, car bon nombre d’entre elles offrent un taux d’intérêt fixe. Lors d’une période de hausse des taux, les obligations à court terme peuvent réduire votre exposition aux risques liés aux taux d’intérêt. Un représentant ou une représentante de Cooperators se fera un plaisir de passer en revue votre portefeuille avec vous pour vérifier si vous êtes sur la bonne voie.

Ce qui nous attend

Réunions et déclaration de la Réserve fédérale américaine (3 et 4 mai). Il ne fait guère de doute que la Fed relèvera les taux d’intérêt lors de sa réunion cette semaine. La question qui préoccupe les investisseurs est de savoir de combien augmenteront les taux de référence, dans la mesure où la banque centrale tente de ralentir l’inflation sans plonger l’économie américaine dans une récession.

Dates importantes

23 mai Fermeture de la Bourse de Toronto pour le jour de la fête de la Reine/Journée nationale des patriotes

30 mai Fermeture des bourses américaines en raison du Memorial Day

1er juin Annonce du taux directeur de la Banque du Canada



Les commentaires exprimés dans le présent rapport reposent sur les conditions actuelles du marché et les sources médiatiques accessibles au public, et peuvent changer sans préavis. Les prévisions fournies ne constituent pas une garantie de rendement futur, et comportent des risques, des incertitudes et des hypothèses. Bien que Cooperators Compagnie d’assurance-vie (« Cooperators ») considère ces hypothèses comme raisonnables, aucune garantie ne peut être donnée quant à leur réalisation. Le présent rapport ne donne aucune garantie de rendement futur et le lecteur est prié de ne pas s’y fier indûment. Ce document se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres. Il convient de ne pas se fier aux informations contenues, qui ne sauraient se substituer à des conseils professionnels pertinents et spécifiques, et de lire attentivement les conditions décrites dans les documents de souscription avant de prendre une décision de placement. Cooperators rejette toute responsabilité quant aux pertes ou dommages découlant de l’utilisation des informations contenues dans le présent rapport, et ne fait aucune déclaration ni ne donne aucune garantie quant à leur exactitude, à leur actualité, à leur exhaustivité ou à leur fiabilité. Cooperators s’engage à protéger la vie privée de ses clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de ses affaires. Consultez la page cooperators.ca/vie-privee pour en savoir plus. CooperatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co operators limitée, utilisée avec permission. Planifier l’avenir. Ensemble.MC est une marque de commerce du Groupe Cooperators limitée. Si vous avez reçu ce courriel à titre de client et que vous avez des questions, ou si vous souhaitez discuter de vos placements, veuillez contacter votre conseiller en sécurité financière.

Les indices Dow Jones Industrial Average et S&P 500 (les « indices ») sont des produits de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, de ses sociétés affiliées ou de leurs concédants de licence, et sont utilisés sous licence par Services financiers Cooperators limitée. © S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, ses sociétés affiliées ou leurs concédants de licence, 2022. Tous droits réservés. La redistribution ou la reproduction en totalité ou en partie sont interdites sans l’autorisation écrite de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC. Pour en savoir plus sur l’un des indices de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, veuillez consulter le site www.spdji.com. S&P® est une marque déposée de Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC et Dow Jones® est une marque déposée de Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC. S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, leurs sociétés affiliées et leurs concédants de licence indépendants ne font aucune déclaration et ne donnent aucune garantie, expresse ou tacite, quant à la capacité d’un indice à représenter de manière fidèle la catégorie d’actifs ou le secteur du marché qu’il prétend représenter, et aucune de ces entités ne peut être tenue responsable des erreurs, omissions ou interruptions d’un indice ou des données s’y rapportant.

L’indice composé S&P/TSX est un produit de TSX Inc., de ses sociétés affiliées ou de leurs concédants de licence, et est utilisé sous licence par Services financiers Cooperators limitée. © TSX Inc., 2022. Tous droits réservés. TSX Inc., ses sociétés affiliées et leurs concédants de licence indépendants ne font aucune déclaration et ne donnent aucune garantie, expresse ou tacite, quant à l’exactitude de la représentation du marché de tout indice, ou du contexte dont ils sont tirés, et ne peuvent être tenus responsables des erreurs, omissions ou interruptions d’un indice ou des données s’y rapportant.