Investment update

Weekly insight into the marketplace.

June 13 to 17, 2022

Inflation and economic-growth concerns shook the major markets

U.S. and Canadian stocks continued to trade lower on Monday, with the shock of May’s record-high U.S. inflation lingering over markets. The S&P 500 dropped 3.9% and entered bear-market territory, closing 22% down from its most recent record high, on January 3. The rout continued Tuesday, with stocks extending the slide and U.S. Treasury yields climbing to levels not seen in more than a decade. Anticipating the U.S. Federal Reserve’s (the Fed’s) interest-rate announcement mid-week, investors’ inflation concerns were compounded by increasing expectations for an aggressive rate hike (which happened Wednesday) that could trigger a recession. The Fed’s decision on Wednesday (details included below) removed some of the uncertainty and sparked a brief rally; momentum stalled, however, as markets digested the potential impact of the decision on overall economic growth. Tech stocks, which typically perform poorly after an interest-rate hike, led another day of significant declines on Thursday. Stocks ended mixed on Friday, but it was still one of the worst weeks for markets since the early days of the pandemic.

The Fed raised its policy interest rate by 0.75%

Despite downplaying the possibility of raising its key short-term rate by more than 0.50% (following its last decision, in May), the Fed increased it by 0.75% – the biggest increase since 1994 – on Wednesday. This was intended to rein in inflation. While not a complete surprise, especially after the latest U.S.-inflation reading showed an 8.6% rise in May (a figure that Fed Chair Jerome Powell called “eye catching”), investors didn’t take it as the prevailing possibility until Monday’s market sell-off. In his press conference following the decision, Powell said that “The next meeting could well be a decision between 50 and 75 basis points.” He added, “I don’t expect rate increases of this size to be common.” By year’s end, the Fed is predicting an inflation rate of 5.2%, as measured by the Personal Consumption Expenditures Index, which is the bank’s preferred gauge for inflation.

The crypto sector came under pressure

Cryptocurrencies and crypto stock generated headlines throughout the week, with Bitcoin prices dropping 15% on Monday (and 30% this month). This marked an 18-month low and a seventh consecutive day of negative performance. Conditions for the crypto sector were significant enough that major crypto exchange Celsius put a hold on withdrawals, citing “extreme market conditions.” This follows last month’s collapse of the Terra blockchain. Another prominent crypto exchange, Coinbase, announced that it was laying off 18% of its staff. In a blog post, the exchange’s president, Brian Armstrong, stated: “We appear to be entering a recession. A recession could lead to another crypto winter, and could last for an extended period.” This came after news, earlier in the week, that Crypto.com was also laying off 5% of its staff. Read “Decrypting cryptocurrency” for more information on this digital-asset class.

The stock and bond market
Index Close Week YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 18,930.48 -6.63% -10.80%
Dow Jones Industrial Average 29,888.78 -4.79% -17.75%
S&P 500 Index 3,674.84 -5.79% -22.90%
NASDAQ Composite 10,798.35 -4.78% -30.98%
10-year Canadian Bond Yield 3.41% 0.05% 1.98%
10year US Treasury Yield 3.23% 0.07% 1.72%
WTI Crude Oil US$/barrel $110.48 -8.29% 46.43%
Canadian Dollar US$ 0.7675 -1.88% -3.01%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 3.70%

*Weekly performance ending June 17, 2022. Source: Refinitiv.


Key take-away

History shows that financial markets recover and trend upwards. While that’s easy to lose sight of when markets fall, like they did last week, remember that periods of uncertainty have happened before. Having an investment plan that’s geared toward your individual goals and objectives – and sticking to it – is the best defense against inevitable market downturns. Strategies for navigating market volatility are available on our Market View page, and a Co-operators financial representative is always here to help.

What’s ahead

Canadian inflation data (June 22): Canada’s annual inflation rate rose 6.8% in April, to its the highest level since January 1991. As in the U.S., inflation data has become the most-watched economic indicator for investors and economists. The Bank of Canada has already raised its key overnight interest rate three times this year, with more increases expected. Determining how fast inflation is rising will inform the bank’s decision on the degree and timing of any future rate increases.

Circle these dates

July 1 Canadian markets closed for Canada Day

July 4 U.S. markets closed for Independence Day

July 26 to 27 U.S. Federal Reserve meetings and statement


Get further analysis from our network of fund managers:

Fidelity: Is winter coming for the stock market?

Franklin Templeton: Turbulence ahead

Mackenzie: 2022 Mid-Year Outlook Report

Invesco: The U.S. Federal Reserve charts an aggressive approach in search of a ‘soft landing’

SEI: Big moves and prowling bears. What should you do?



The commentary in this report is based on current market conditions and market media sources available to the public and may change without prior warning at any time. The forecasts provided herein are not guarantees of future performance and include risks, uncertainty and assumptions. While Co-operators Life Insurance Company (“Co-operators”) believes these assumptions are reasonable, there is no guarantee they will be confirmed. This report is not a guarantee of future investment performance, nor should undue reliance be placed on this report. This report is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this report constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice. The content in this report should not be relied upon in making an investment or other decision, and individuals should obtain relevant and specific professional advice and read the terms and conditions contained in the relevant offering documents carefully before any investment decision is made. Co-operators is not responsible for any loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information contained in this report. Co-operators makes no representations or warranties as to the information contained herein and does not guarantee its accuracy, timeliness, completeness or usefulness. Co-operators is committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information it collects, uses, retains and discloses in the course of conducting business. Please visit cooperators.ca/privacy for more information. Co-operators® is a registered trademark of Co-operators Group Limited and is used with permission. Investing in your future. Together.TM is a trademark of Co-operators Group Limited. If you are a client who has received this, and you have questions or want to discuss your investments, please contact your Financial Advisor.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average and S&P 500 ("Indices") are products of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, its affiliates and/or their licensors and has been licensed for use by Co-operators Financial Services Limited. Copyright © 2022 S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, its affiliates and/or their licensors. All rights reserved. Redistribution or reproduction in whole or in part are prohibited without written permission of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC. For more information on any of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC’s indices please visit www.spdji.com. S&P® is a registered trademark of Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC and Dow Jones® is a registered trademark of Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC. Neither S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, their affiliates nor their third party licensors make any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to the ability of any index to accurately represent the asset class or market sector that it purports to represent and neither S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, their affiliates nor their third party licensors shall have any liability for any errors, omissions, or interruptions of any index or the data included therein.

The S&P/TSX Composite is a product of TSX Inc., its affiliates and/or their licensors and has been licensed for use by Co-operators Financial Services Limited. Copyright © 2022 TSX Inc. All Rights reserved. Neither TSX Inc., their affiliates, nor their third party licensors make any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to the accuracy of market representation of any index, or the context from which they are drawn, and shall not be liable for any errors, omissions or interruptions of any index or the data included therein.

Le point sur les placements

Analyse hebdomadaire du marché

Du 13 au 17 juin 2022

Les préoccupations entourant l’inflation et la croissance économique ont ébranlé les principaux marchés

Les actions américaines et canadiennes ont continué de reculer lundi à la suite de l’onde de choc provoquée par l’inflation record enregistrée en mai aux États-Unis. Le S&P 500 a chuté de 3,9 %, pour entrer en territoire baissier et clôturer en baisse de 22 % par rapport à son plus récent sommet enregistré le 3 janvier. La déroute s’est poursuivie mardi, quand les actions ont continué de chuter et les rendements des bons du Trésor américain ont atteint des niveaux inégalés depuis plus de dix ans. Dans l’attente de l’annonce de la Réserve fédérale américaine (la Fed) en milieu de semaine, les craintes des investisseurs entourant l’inflation ont été exacerbées par les prévisions croissantes d’une hausse marquée des taux (annoncée mercredi) susceptible de déclencher une récession. La décision de la Fed mercredi (voir les détails ci-dessous) a levé une partie de l’incertitude et déclenché une brève reprise; l’élan a cependant stagné alors que les marchés digéraient l’impact potentiel de la décision sur la croissance économique globale. Les valeurs technologiques, qui battent généralement de l’aile après une hausse des taux d’intérêt, ont précipité une nouvelle journée de reculs marqués jeudi. Malgré des résultats mitigés pour les actions vendredi, cette semaine reste l’une des pires pour les marchés depuis les premiers jours de la pandémie.

La Fed a augmenté son taux directeur de 0,75 %

Bien qu’elle ait minimisé la possibilité de relever son taux directeur à court terme de plus de 0,50 % (après sa dernière décision en mai), la Fed a mis en œuvre mercredi une hausse de 0,75 % – soit la plus forte augmentation depuis 1994 – dans le but de contrer l’inflation. Même s’il ne s’agit pas d’une surprise totale, surtout après que le dernier indicateur de l’inflation aux États-Unis eut affiché une hausse de 8,6 % en mai (un chiffre que le président de la Fed, Jerome Powell, avait qualifié d’« accrocheur »), les investisseurs ne l’avaient pas considéré comme la possibilité dominante jusqu’à ce que les marchés n’amorcent un mouvement de vente lundi. Lors de sa conférence de presse suivant la décision, Jerome Powell a déclaré que « la prochaine réunion pourrait bien porter sur une décision entre 50 et 75 points de base ». Il a ajouté qu’il ne pensait pas que des hausses de cette ampleur seraient monnaie courante. D’ici la fin de l’année, la Fed prévoit un taux d’inflation de 5,2 %, mesuré par l’indice des dépenses personnelles de consommation, qui est la jauge préférée de la banque pour l’inflation.

Le secteur des cryptomonnaies sous pression

Les cryptomonnaies et les cryptoactions ont fait les manchettes tout au long de la semaine. Les cours du bitcoin ont chuté de 15 % lundi (et de 30 % au cours du mois), pour atteindre un creux sur 18 mois après sept jours consécutifs de rendements négatifs. La détérioration du cryptosecteur était suffisamment importante pour que la principale plateforme de négociation de cryptomonnaie Celsius mette les retraits sur pause, invoquant des « conditions extrêmes dans le marché », après l’effondrement de la chaîne de blocs Terra le mois dernier. Coinbase, autre acteur de premier plan dans le secteur des cryptomonnaies, a annoncé la mise à pied de 18 % de son effectif. Dans son billet de blogue, le président de la plateforme, Brian Armstrong, a déclaré : « Il semblerait que nous entrons dans une récession. Une récession pourrait conduire à un autre “hiver des cryptos” et pourrait durer pendant une période prolongée ». Cette nouvelle faisait suite à une autre annonce plus tôt dans la semaine comme quoi Crypto.com licenciait également 5 % de son personnel. Lisez notre article Décryptage des cryptomonnaies pour en savoir plus sur cette catégorie d’actifs numériques.

Marché boursier et obligataire
Indice Clôture Semaine CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S&P/TSX Composite 18 930,48 -6,63 % -10,80 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 29 888,78 -4,79 % -17,75 %
Indice S&P 500 3 674,84 -5,79 % -22,90 %
Indice composé Nasdaq 10 798,35 -4,78 % -30,98 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 3,41 % 0,05 % 1,98 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 3,23 % 0,07 % 1,72 %
Cours du pétrole brut WTI $ US/baril 110,48 $ -8,29 % 46,43 %
Dollar canadien 0,794 $ US -1,88 % -3,01 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada 3,70 %

Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 17 juin 2022. Sources Refinitiv.


À retenir

L’histoire démontre que les marchés finissent par se redresser pour évoluer à la hausse. Bien qu’il soit facile de l’oublier quand les marchés s’effondrent, comme la semaine dernière, rappelez-vous que ce n’est pas la première fois que nous traversons une période d’incertitude. Se doter d’un plan de placement orienté vers ses propres buts et objectifs – et s’y tenir – constitue la meilleure défense contre les baisses inévitables du marché Vous trouverez à la page Regard sur les marchés des stratégies pour composer avec la volatilité, et sachez que votre représentant ou représentante de Co-operators est toujours à votre disposition pour vous aider.

Ce qui nous attend

Données sur l’inflation canadienne (22 juin) : Le taux d’inflation annuel du Canada a grimpé à 6,8 % en avril, soit le niveau le plus élevé depuis janvier 1991. Comme aux États-Unis, les données sur l’inflation sont devenues l’indicateur économique le plus surveillé par les investisseurs et les économistes. La Banque du Canada a déjà relevé son taux de financement à un jour à trois reprises cette année, et de nouvelles hausses sont attendues. La rapidité de la hausse de l’inflation influencera la décision de la Banque quant à l’ampleur et au rythme de la hausse des taux.

Dates importantes

1 juillet  Fermeture des bourses canadiennes pour le congé de la fête du Canada

4 juillet  Fermeture des bourses américaines pour le congé de l’Independance Day

2627 juillet Réunions et déclaration de la Réserve fédérale américaine


Consultez les analyses de notre réseau de gestionnaires de fonds :

Fidelity: Is winter coming for the stock market? (en anglais seulement)

Franklin Templeton: Turbulence ahead (en anglais seulement)

Mackenzie: Perspectives semestrielles de 2022

Invesco: The U.S. Federal Reserve charts an aggressive approach in search of a ‘soft landing’ (en anglais seulement)

SEI: Fluctuations importantes et marchés baissiers à l’horizon. Que devez-vous faire?



Les commentaires exprimés dans le présent rapport reposent sur les conditions actuelles du marché et les sources médiatiques accessibles au public, et peuvent changer sans préavis. Les prévisions fournies ne constituent pas une garantie de rendement futur, et comportent des risques, des incertitudes et des hypothèses. Bien que Cooperators Compagnie d’assurance-vie (« Cooperators ») considère ces hypothèses comme raisonnables, aucune garantie ne peut être donnée quant à leur réalisation. Le présent rapport ne donne aucune garantie de rendement futur et le lecteur est prié de ne pas s’y fier indûment. Ce document se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres. Il convient de ne pas se fier aux informations contenues, qui ne sauraient se substituer à des conseils professionnels pertinents et spécifiques, et de lire attentivement les conditions décrites dans les documents de souscription avant de prendre une décision de placement. Cooperators rejette toute responsabilité quant aux pertes ou dommages découlant de l’utilisation des informations contenues dans le présent rapport, et ne fait aucune déclaration ni ne donne aucune garantie quant à leur exactitude, à leur actualité, à leur exhaustivité ou à leur fiabilité. Cooperators s’engage à protéger la vie privée de ses clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de ses affaires. Consultez la page cooperators.ca/vie-privee pour en savoir plus. CooperatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co operators limitée, utilisée avec permission. Planifier l’avenir. Ensemble.MC est une marque de commerce du Groupe Cooperators limitée. Si vous avez reçu ce courriel à titre de client et que vous avez des questions, ou si vous souhaitez discuter de vos placements, veuillez contacter votre conseiller en sécurité financière.

Les indices Dow Jones Industrial Average et S&P 500 (les « indices ») sont des produits de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, de ses sociétés affiliées ou de leurs concédants de licence, et sont utilisés sous licence par Services financiers Cooperators limitée. © S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, ses sociétés affiliées ou leurs concédants de licence, 2022. Tous droits réservés. La redistribution ou la reproduction en totalité ou en partie sont interdites sans l’autorisation écrite de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC. Pour en savoir plus sur l’un des indices de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, veuillez consulter le site www.spdji.com. S&P® est une marque déposée de Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC et Dow Jones® est une marque déposée de Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC. S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, leurs sociétés affiliées et leurs concédants de licence indépendants ne font aucune déclaration et ne donnent aucune garantie, expresse ou tacite, quant à la capacité d’un indice à représenter de manière fidèle la catégorie d’actifs ou le secteur du marché qu’il prétend représenter, et aucune de ces entités ne peut être tenue responsable des erreurs, omissions ou interruptions d’un indice ou des données s’y rapportant.

L’indice composé S&P/TSX est un produit de TSX Inc., de ses sociétés affiliées ou de leurs concédants de licence, et est utilisé sous licence par Services financiers Cooperators limitée. © TSX Inc., 2022. Tous droits réservés. TSX Inc., ses sociétés affiliées et leurs concédants de licence indépendants ne font aucune déclaration et ne donnent aucune garantie, expresse ou tacite, quant à l’exactitude de la représentation du marché de tout indice, ou du contexte dont ils sont tirés, et ne peuvent être tenus responsables des erreurs, omissions ou interruptions d’un indice ou des données s’y rapportant.