Investment update

Weekly insight into the marketplace.

January 9 to 13, 2023

U.S. inflation cooled for a sixth-straight month

Building on a positive start to 2023, the major U.S. stock markets added to gains from the previous week – which began (on January 6) with strong jobs and services data, raising optimism the U.S. Federal Reserve (the Fed) would be less aggressive with upcoming interest-rate decisions. Monday’s hot start did fizzle, however, prior to the closing bell, after San Francisco Fed President Mary Daly and her Atlanta counterpart, Raphael Bostic, noted their expectation that the U.S. central bank would raise interest rates above 5% by the second quarter. Despite this news, investors remained positive in the lead-up to inflation data released on Thursday. The Consumer Price Index (CPI) report showed that annual inflation cooled to 6.5% in December, down from 7.1% in November (and the 9% peak last June). Core inflation, which strips out volatile food and energy costs, was up 5.71% annually, the slowest pace since December 2021. While the inflation report was on par with economists’ expectations, it was enough to further fuel hopes that the Fed would reduce plans for interest-rate increases. The Dow ended the week up 2%, the S&P 500 closed just shy of 4,000 with a 2.67% increase, and the Nasdaq rose 4.82%.

The World Bank reduced its global growth forecast

In its annual report, the World Bank – which provides loans and grants to the governments of lower- and middle-income countries for development projects – cut its global growth forecast by nearly half: it moved down to 1.7% from the 3% projected last June. If accurate, it would be the third-weakest gross domestic product (GDP) expansion in the last 30 years, trailing only the 2008 financial crisis and the 2020 onset of the COVID-19 pandemic. The bank, which also scaled back its 2024 forecast and warned that the global economy has warning signs of a recession, cited persistent inflation and rising interest rates among several factors working against the economy. “Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has added major new costs,” World Bank President David Malpass told reporters. “The outlook is particularly devastating for many of the poorest economies where poverty reduction is already ground to a halt and access to electricity, fertilizer, food and capital is likely to remain limited for a prolonged period. Addressing the scale of these challenges will require significantly more resources for development and global public goods.”

Oil prices were up, despite an uncertain Q1 outlook

A forecast published by Deloitte pointed to ongoing energy-sector volatility through the first quarter of 2023, as geopolitical risks remain high. Released Monday, the “energy, oil and gas price” forecast underlined the ongoing war in Ukraine, and China’s balancing of new COVID-19 cases and efforts to reopen, as major factors weighing on supply and demand. The report’s author, Andrew Botterill, did note that demand for North American oil and natural gas could benefit Canadian energy companies. Last week, oil prices edged higher, with the price per barrel of West Texas Intermediate reaching US$80. This was following a strong import quota from China as well as Thursday’s positive inflation report. The commodity-heavy TSX rode the energy-sector gains to a five-day win streak.

The stock and bond market
Index Close Week YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 20,360.1 2.75% 5.03%
Dow Jones Industrial Average 34,302.61 2.00% 3.49%
S&P 500 Index 3,999.09 2.67% 4.16%
NASDAQ Composite 11,079.16 4.82% 5.85%
10-year Canadian Bond Yield 2.90% -0.19% -0.39%
10year US Treasury Yield 3.51% -0.06% -0.32%
WTI Crude Oil US$/barrel $80.07 8.60% -0.55%
Canadian Dollar US$ 0.7463 0.35% 1.15%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 6.45%

*Weekly performance ending January 13, 2023. Source: Refinitiv.


Key take-away

Review your time horizon and your risk tolerance. No one can predict when the markets will rise or fall, or by how much. This makes timing the market a risky approach. That’s why your investment strategy, from the outset, should be based on your goals, your risk tolerance and your time horizon – not the market’s. If you have questions, a Co-operators financial representative is always ready to help.

What’s ahead

Canadian inflation data (January 17): In November, Canadian inflation cooled to 6.8% – slightly down from the previous month’s 6.9% annual rate, but above economists’ expectations of 6.7%. Tuesday’s data will be closey watched, given Bank of Canada Governor Tiff Macklem’s final speech of 2022. In it, he said that “decisions to raise the rate or to pause and assess the impact of past rate increases will depend on incoming data and our judgments about the outlook for inflation.”

Circle these dates

January 25 Bank of Canada interest-rate announcement

January 31 to February 1 U.S. Federal Reserve meetings and statement

February 20 North American markets closed for holidays



The commentary in this report is based on current market conditions and market media sources available to the public and may change without prior warning at any time. The forecasts provided herein are not guarantees of future performance and include risks, uncertainty and assumptions. While Cooperators Life Insurance Company (“Cooperators”) believes these assumptions are reasonable, there is no guarantee they will be confirmed. This report is not a guarantee of future investment performance, nor should undue reliance be placed on this report. This report is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this report constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice. The content in this report should not be relied upon in making an investment or other decision, and individuals should obtain relevant and specific professional advice and read the terms and conditions contained in the relevant offering documents carefully before any investment decision is made. Cooperators is not responsible for any loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information contained in this report. Cooperators makes no representations or warranties as to the information contained herein and does not guarantee its accuracy, timeliness, completeness or usefulness. Cooperators is committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information it collects, uses, retains and discloses in the course of conducting business. Please visit cooperators.ca/privacy for more information. Cooperators® is a registered trademark of Cooperators Group Limited and is used with permission. Investing in your future. Together.TM is a trademark of Cooperators Group Limited. If you are a client who has received this, and you have questions or want to discuss your investments, please contact your Financial Advisor.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average and S&P 500 ("Indices") are products of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, its affiliates and/or their licensors and has been licensed for use by Cooperators Financial Services Limited. Copyright © 2022 S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, its affiliates and/or their licensors. All rights reserved. Redistribution or reproduction in whole or in part are prohibited without written permission of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC. For more information on any of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC’s indices please visit www.spdji.com. S&P® is a registered trademark of Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC and Dow Jones® is a registered trademark of Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC. Neither S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, their affiliates nor their third party licensors make any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to the ability of any index to accurately represent the asset class or market sector that it purports to represent and neither S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, their affiliates nor their third party licensors shall have any liability for any errors, omissions, or interruptions of any index or the data included therein.

The S&P/TSX Composite is a product of TSX Inc., its affiliates and/or their licensors and has been licensed for use by Cooperators Financial Services Limited. Copyright © 2022 TSX Inc. All Rights reserved. Neither TSX Inc., their affiliates, nor their third party licensors make any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to the accuracy of market representation of any index, or the context from which they are drawn, and shall not be liable for any errors, omissions or interruptions of any index or the data included therein.

Le point sur les placements

Analyse hebdomadaire du marché

Du 9 au 13 janvier 2023

L’inflation aux États-Unis a ralenti pour un sixième mois consécutif

Après un début d’année 2023 positif, les principaux marchés boursiers américains ont poursuivi leur ascension par rapport à la semaine précédente. Ce mouvement de hausse, amorcé le 6 janvier grâce aux données solides sur l’emploi et les services, a suscité l’optimisme que la Réserve fédérale américaine (la Fed) pourrait modérer ses prochaines décisions en matière de taux d’intérêt. Le départ sur les chapeaux de roue de lundi s’est toutefois essoufflé avant la clôture des marchés, après que la présidente de la Fed de San Francisco, Mary Daly, et son homologue d’Atlanta, Raphael Bostic, ont déclaré s’attendre à ce que la banque centrale américaine relève les taux d’intérêt de plus de 5 % d’ici le deuxième trimestre. Malgré ces nouvelles, les investisseuses et investisseurs ont gardé leur optimisme en attendant les données sur l’inflation publiées jeudi. Le rapport sur l’indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) indiquait un recul de l’inflation annuelle à 6,5 % en décembre, contre 7,1 % en novembre (et un pic de 9 % atteint en juin dernier). L’inflation de base, qui exclut les coûts volatils des aliments et de l’énergie, a augmenté de 5,71 % par an, soit la plus faible hausse depuis décembre 2021. Même si le rapport sur l’inflation était conforme aux attentes des économistes, cela a suffi à continuer d’alimenter les espoirs que la Fed réduise ses plans de relever les taux d’intérêt. Le Dow Jones a terminé la semaine en hausse de 2 %, le S&P 500 juste en dessous de la barre des 4 000 points pour une augmentation de 2,67 %, tandis que le NASDAQ a progressé de 4,82 %.

La Banque mondiale a abaissé ses prévisions de croissance mondiale

Dans son rapport annuel, la Banque mondiale – qui accorde des prêts et des subventions aux gouvernements des pays à revenu faible et intermédiaire pour des projets de développement – a réduit de près de moitié ses prévisions de croissance mondiale, de 3 % en juin dernier à 1,7 %. Si ces chiffres s’avèrent exacts, il s’agirait de la troisième plus faible expansion du produit intérieur brut (PIB) de ces 30 dernières années, après la crise financière de 2008 et le début de la pandémie de COVID-19 en 2020. La banque, qui a également revu à la baisse ses prévisions pour 2024 et averti que l’économie mondiale présentait des signes avant-coureurs de récession, a invoqué l’inflation persistante et la hausse des taux d’intérêt parmi plusieurs facteurs défavorables à l’économie. « L’invasion de l’Ukraine par la Russie a ajouté de nouveaux coûts majeurs, a déclaré aux journalistes le président de la Banque mondiale, David Malpass. Les perspectives sont particulièrement dévastatrices pour bon nombre des économies les plus pauvres, où la réduction de la pauvreté est déjà au point mort et où l’accès à l’électricité, aux engrais, aux denrées alimentaires et aux capitaux risque de rester limité pendant une période prolongée. Pour relever l’ampleur de ces défis, il faudra consacrer beaucoup plus de ressources au développement et aux biens publics mondiaux. »

Les prix du pétrole sont en hausse, malgré des perspectives incertaines au premier trimestre

Une prévision publiée par Deloitte a souligné la volatilité continue du secteur de l’énergie pendant le premier trimestre de 2023 dans la mesure où les risques géopolitiques restent élevés. Publiées lundi, les prévisions relatives aux prix de l’énergie, du pétrole et du gaz ont souligné que les principaux facteurs pesant sur l’offre et la demande étaient la guerre en Ukraine, ainsi que les efforts de la Chine pour concilier les nouveaux cas de COVID 19 et les déconfinements. L’auteur du rapport, Andrew Botterill, a toutefois noté que la demande de pétrole et de gaz naturel nord-américains pourrait bénéficier aux entreprises énergétiques canadiennes. La semaine dernière, les prix du pétrole ont légèrement augmenté, portant le prix du baril de West Texas Intermediate à 80 $ US, dans le sillage d’un quota d’importation solide de la Chine et du rapport positif sur l’inflation publié jeudi. Le TSX riche en matières premières a profité de l’élan du secteur de l’énergie pour engranger cinq jours de gains consécutifs.

Marché boursier et obligataire
Indice Clôture Semaine CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S&P/TSX Composite 20 360,1 2,75 % 5,03 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 34 302,61 2,00 % 3,49 %
Indice S&P 500 3 999,09 2,67 % 4,16 %
Indice composé Nasdaq 11 079,16 4,82 % 5,85 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 2,90 % -0,19 % -0,39 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 3,51 % -0,06 % -0,32 %
Cours du pétrole brut WTI $ US/baril 80,07 $ 8,60 % -0,55 %
Dollar canadien 0,7463 $ US 0,35 % 1,15 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada 6,45 %

Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 13 janvier 2023. Sources Refinitiv.


À retenir

Revoyez votre horizon de placement et votre tolérance au risque. Personne ne peut prévoir à quel moment et dans quelle mesure les marchés fluctueront. Il est donc risqué d’en anticiper les hausses et les baisses. C’est pourquoi votre stratégie de placement devrait dès le départ reposer sur vos objectifs, votre tolérance au risque et votre horizon de placement, et non sur le marché. Si vous avez des questions, les représentants et représentantes de Co-operators sont toujours à votre disposition pour vous aider.

Ce qui nous attend

Données sur l’inflation au Canada (17 janvier) : En novembre, l’inflation au Canada a ralenti pour atteindre 6,8 %. Ce taux marque une légère baisse par rapport au taux annuel de 6,9 % du mois précédent, mais reste néanmoins supérieur aux attentes des économistes (6,7 %). Les données de mardi seront suivies de près, compte tenu du dernier discours du gouverneur de la Banque du Canada, Tiff Macklem, en 2022, dans lequel il avait déclaré que « la décision d’augmenter le taux ou de le maintenir pour évaluer les effets des hausses passées dépendra des nouvelles données disponibles et des conclusions que nous tirerons au sujet des perspectives d’inflation. »

Dates importantes

25 janvier  Annonce du taux directeur de la Banque du Canada

31 janvier au 1er février  Réunions et déclaration de la Réserve fédérale américaine

20 février  Fermeture des marchés boursiers nord-américains pour le jour férié



Les commentaires exprimés dans le présent rapport reposent sur les conditions actuelles du marché et les sources médiatiques accessibles au public, et peuvent changer sans préavis. Les prévisions fournies ne constituent pas une garantie de rendement futur, et comportent des risques, des incertitudes et des hypothèses. Bien que Cooperators Compagnie d’assurance-vie (« Cooperators ») considère ces hypothèses comme raisonnables, aucune garantie ne peut être donnée quant à leur réalisation. Le présent rapport ne donne aucune garantie de rendement futur et le lecteur est prié de ne pas s’y fier indûment. Ce document se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres. Il convient de ne pas se fier aux informations contenues, qui ne sauraient se substituer à des conseils professionnels pertinents et spécifiques, et de lire attentivement les conditions décrites dans les documents de souscription avant de prendre une décision de placement. Cooperators rejette toute responsabilité quant aux pertes ou dommages découlant de l’utilisation des informations contenues dans le présent rapport, et ne fait aucune déclaration ni ne donne aucune garantie quant à leur exactitude, à leur actualité, à leur exhaustivité ou à leur fiabilité. Cooperators s’engage à protéger la vie privée de ses clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de ses affaires. Consultez la page cooperators.ca/vie-privee pour en savoir plus. CooperatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co operators limitée, utilisée avec permission. Planifier l’avenir. Ensemble.MC est une marque de commerce du Groupe Cooperators limitée. Si vous avez reçu ce courriel à titre de client et que vous avez des questions, ou si vous souhaitez discuter de vos placements, veuillez contacter votre conseiller en sécurité financière.

Les indices Dow Jones Industrial Average et S&P 500 (les « indices ») sont des produits de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, de ses sociétés affiliées ou de leurs concédants de licence, et sont utilisés sous licence par Services financiers Cooperators limitée. © S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, ses sociétés affiliées ou leurs concédants de licence, 2022. Tous droits réservés. La redistribution ou la reproduction en totalité ou en partie sont interdites sans l’autorisation écrite de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC. Pour en savoir plus sur l’un des indices de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, veuillez consulter le site www.spdji.com. S&P® est une marque déposée de Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC et Dow Jones® est une marque déposée de Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC. S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, leurs sociétés affiliées et leurs concédants de licence indépendants ne font aucune déclaration et ne donnent aucune garantie, expresse ou tacite, quant à la capacité d’un indice à représenter de manière fidèle la catégorie d’actifs ou le secteur du marché qu’il prétend représenter, et aucune de ces entités ne peut être tenue responsable des erreurs, omissions ou interruptions d’un indice ou des données s’y rapportant.

L’indice composé S&P/TSX est un produit de TSX Inc., de ses sociétés affiliées ou de leurs concédants de licence, et est utilisé sous licence par Services financiers Cooperators limitée. © TSX Inc., 2022. Tous droits réservés. TSX Inc., ses sociétés affiliées et leurs concédants de licence indépendants ne font aucune déclaration et ne donnent aucune garantie, expresse ou tacite, quant à l’exactitude de la représentation du marché de tout indice, ou du contexte dont ils sont tirés, et ne peuvent être tenus responsables des erreurs, omissions ou interruptions d’un indice ou des données s’y rapportant.