Investment update

Weekly insight into the marketplace.

January 16 to 20, 2023

Canadian inflation slowed in December

Gas prices fell 13.1%, mortgage-interest costs were up 18%, and grocery bills stubbornly hovered around 11%. These were the biggest factors in Statistics Canada’s latest Consumer Price Index (CPI) report, released on Tuesday. The inflation rate was 6.3% in December – down from the 6.8% increase in November, and slower than the 6.4% that economists expected. Core inflation (the Bank of Canada’s preferred inflation gauge) was 5.6%, down from 5.8% the previous month. The December report (the third straight to show slowing inflation) is unlikely to deter the Bank of Canada from raising its key interest rate by the anticipated 0.25% on January 25. Following that decision, however, it’s widely expected that the central bank will press “pause” on this current phase of monetary-policy tightening.

The Bank of Canada released two key reports

The central bank’s fourth-quarter surveys on business outlook and consumer expectations (both released Monday) provided more insights that could sway some of its high-profile decision-making. The business-outlook indicator fell to 0.7% in Q4 (down from 1.74% the previous quarter), highlighting a deterioration in business sentiment. About 70% of businesses surveyed believe that the economy is heading into a recession, and a higher number than usual expect their sales to decline, as higher interest rates and inflation hinder consumer spending. Supporting that belief, the consumer survey revealed that 87% of respondents have reduced spending on travel, accommodation, food service and recreation, while 58% cut costs on groceries. The data suggest that the bank’s outsized rate hikes over the last several months are having the desired effect; therefore, the bank may not have to raise rates much higher to restore a level of balance to supply and demand. Retail-sales data, released Friday, showed a holiday-spending bump of 0.5% in December, up from a 0.1% decline in November.

Q4 earnings, economic data and Fedspeak converged on markets

Small, broad-based gains helped Canada’s TSX stay afloat through most of the week. Activity on Wall Street was a little more tumultuous, beginning with fourth-quarter earnings reports on Tuesday (markets were closed Monday for Martin Luther King Jr. Day). JPMorgan, Bank of America, Citigroup, Wells Fargo, Morgan Stanley and Goldman Sachs all reported heavy investment-banking-fee losses, which were down by almost 50%. On Wednesday, markets opened to a trio of disappointing economic-data reports: U.S. retail sales, producer price inflation and industrial production. All of which declined at a faster pace than expected. Multiple Federal Reserve (the Fed) policy-makers also spoke last week, with opinions divided on whether the central bank should slow, or maintain, the current pace of interest-rate hikes. Adding to the week’s clouded outlook, Google, Microsoft and Amazon announced layoffs, impacting a combined 40,000 jobs. By the end of an up-and-down week, the Dow had declined -2.70%, the S&P 500 was down 0.66%, while the Nasdaq rallied to a 0.55% gain.

The stock and bond market
Index Close Week YTD
S&P/TSX Composite 20,503.21 0.70% 5.77%
Dow Jones Industrial Average 33,375.49 -2.70% 0.69%
S&P 500 Index 3,972.61 -0.66% 3.47%
NASDAQ Composite 11,140.43 0.55% 6.44%
10-year Canadian Bond Yield 2.85% -0.05% -0.45%
10year US Treasury Yield 3.48% -0.03% -0.35%
WTI Crude Oil US$/barrel $81.40 1.66% 1.11%
Canadian Dollar US$ 0.7472 0.12% 1.27%
Bank of Canada Prime Rate 6.45%

*Weekly performance ending January 20, 2023. Source: Refinitiv.


Key take-away

Interest-rate changes can impact your investments in many ways. Bonds can be particularly sensitive to interest-rate changes, as many pay a fixed rate of interest over time. Our professional fund managers know and employ strategies that can manage interest-rate risk. They can also quickly adjust allocations when market conditions change. A Co-operators financial representative would be happy to review your portfolio with you to ensure that you’re on track to reaching your goals. Talk to us today.

What’s ahead

Bank of Canada interest-rate announcement (January 25): In its last meeting of 2022, the Bank of Canada raised the overnight rate by 50 basis points to 4.25%. The central bank is widely expected to raise the key rate again, by another 25 basis points, before pausing this current cycle of monetary-policy tightening.

Circle these dates

January 31 to February 1 U.S. Federal Reserve meetings and statement

February 20 North American markets closed for holidays



The commentary in this report is based on current market conditions and market media sources available to the public and may change without prior warning at any time. The forecasts provided herein are not guarantees of future performance and include risks, uncertainty and assumptions. While Cooperators Life Insurance Company (“Cooperators”) believes these assumptions are reasonable, there is no guarantee they will be confirmed. This report is not a guarantee of future investment performance, nor should undue reliance be placed on this report. This report is provided as a general source of information for a specific point in time and should not be considered solicitation to buy or sell any investment. Nothing contained in this report constitutes investment, legal, tax or other advice. The content in this report should not be relied upon in making an investment or other decision, and individuals should obtain relevant and specific professional advice and read the terms and conditions contained in the relevant offering documents carefully before any investment decision is made. Cooperators is not responsible for any loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information contained in this report. Cooperators makes no representations or warranties as to the information contained herein and does not guarantee its accuracy, timeliness, completeness or usefulness. Cooperators is committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information it collects, uses, retains and discloses in the course of conducting business. Please visit cooperators.ca/privacy for more information. Cooperators® is a registered trademark of Cooperators Group Limited and is used with permission. Investing in your future. Together.TM is a trademark of Cooperators Group Limited. If you are a client who has received this, and you have questions or want to discuss your investments, please contact your Financial Advisor.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average and S&P 500 ("Indices") are products of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, its affiliates and/or their licensors and has been licensed for use by Cooperators Financial Services Limited. Copyright © 2022 S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, its affiliates and/or their licensors. All rights reserved. Redistribution or reproduction in whole or in part are prohibited without written permission of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC. For more information on any of S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC’s indices please visit www.spdji.com. S&P® is a registered trademark of Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC and Dow Jones® is a registered trademark of Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC. Neither S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, their affiliates nor their third party licensors make any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to the ability of any index to accurately represent the asset class or market sector that it purports to represent and neither S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, their affiliates nor their third party licensors shall have any liability for any errors, omissions, or interruptions of any index or the data included therein.

The S&P/TSX Composite is a product of TSX Inc., its affiliates and/or their licensors and has been licensed for use by Cooperators Financial Services Limited. Copyright © 2022 TSX Inc. All Rights reserved. Neither TSX Inc., their affiliates, nor their third party licensors make any representation or warranty, express or implied, as to the accuracy of market representation of any index, or the context from which they are drawn, and shall not be liable for any errors, omissions or interruptions of any index or the data included therein.

Le point sur les placements

Analyse hebdomadaire du marché

Du 16 au 20 janvier 2023

L’inflation a ralenti en décembre au Canada

Les prix de l’essence ont chuté de 13,1 %, les coûts d’intérêt hypothécaire ont augmenté de 18 % et les factures d’épicerie se sont obstinément maintenues autour de 11 %. Tels sont les principaux facteurs qui ressortent du dernier rapport sur l’indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) de Statistique Canada, publié mardi. Le taux d’inflation s’est établi à 6,3 % en décembre, en baisse par rapport à la hausse de 6,8 % enregistrée en novembre et en dessous des prévisions des économistes de 6,4 %. L’inflation de base (l’indicateur de l’inflation préféré de la Banque du Canada) était de 5,6 %, en baisse par rapport à 5,8 % le mois précédent. Le rapport de décembre (soit le troisième rapport consécutif indiquant un ralentissement de l’inflation) ne devrait pas dissuader la Banque du Canada de relever son taux directeur de 0,25 %, comme prévu, le 25 janvier. Toutefois, le consensus serait que la banque centrale mette en veilleuse la phase actuelle de resserrement de la politique monétaire après cette décision.

La Banque du Canada a publié deux rapports importants

Les enquêtes de la banque centrale sur les perspectives des entreprises et sur les attentes des consommateurs pour le quatrième trimestre (toutes deux publiées lundi) ont procuré des données supplémentaires qui pourraient influencer certaines de ses décisions importantes. L’indicateur des perspectives des entreprises est tombé à 0,7 % au quatrième trimestre (contre 1,74 % au trimestre précédent), soulignant une détérioration du climat des affaires. Environ 70 % des entreprises interrogées pensent que l’économie se dirige vers une récession, et un nombre plus élevé qu’à l’accoutumée s’attend à voir leurs ventes baisser alors que la hausse des taux d’intérêt et l’inflation mettent un frein aux dépenses de consommation. À l’appui de cette conviction, l’enquête auprès des consommateurs révèle que 87 % des répondants et répondantes ont réduit leurs dépenses de voyage, d’hébergement, de restauration et de loisirs, tandis que 58 % ont réduit leurs dépenses d’épicerie. Les données suggèrent que les hausses de taux considérables de la banque au cours des derniers mois ont atteint l’effet escompté et que la banque pourrait ne plus avoir à augmenter les taux davantage pour rétablir l’équilibre entre l’offre et la demande. Les données sur les ventes au détail, publiées vendredi, font état d’une hausse des dépenses du temps des Fêtes de 0,5 % en décembre, contre une baisse de 0,1 % en novembre.

Les résultats du quatrième trimestre, les données économiques et le discours de la Fed ont convergé sur les marchés

Des gains modestes et généralisés ont permis au TSX canadien de se maintenir à flot pendant la majeure partie de la semaine. L’activité sur Wall Street a été un peu plus tumultueuse, à commencer par les rapports sur les résultats du quatrième trimestre publiés mardi (les marchés étaient fermés lundi pour la Journée Martin Luther King Jr.). JPMorgan, Bank of America, Citigroup, Wells Fargo, Morgan Stanley et Goldman Sachs ont toutes déclaré de lourdes pertes au titre des commissions des services bancaires d’investissement, qui ont chuté de près de 50 %. Mercredi, les marchés ont ouvert sur un trio de rapports de données économiques décevants, soit les ventes au détail, l’inflation des prix à la production et la production industrielle aux États-Unis, qui ont toutes reculé plus rapidement que prévu. Plusieurs responsables de la Réserve fédérale (la Fed) se sont également exprimés la semaine dernière, les avis étant partagés sur la question de savoir si la banque centrale devrait ralentir ou maintenir le rythme actuel des hausses de taux d’intérêt. Pour ajouter aux sombres perspectives de la semaine, Google, Microsoft et Amazon ont annoncé des licenciements, qui ont touché 40 000 emplois au total. À la fin d’une semaine en dents de scie, le Dow Jones affichait un recul de 2,70 % et le S&P 500 de 0,66 %, tandis que le Nasdaq enregistrait un gain de 0,55 %.

Marché boursier et obligataire
Indice Clôture Semaine CUMUL ANNUEL
Indice composé S&P/TSX Composite 20 503,21 0,70 % 5,77 %
Dow Jones Industrial Average 33 375,49 -2,70 % 0,69 %
Indice S&P 500 3 972,61 -0,66 % 3,47 %
Indice composé Nasdaq 11 140,43 0,55 % 6,44 %
Rendement des obligations du GdC de 10 ans 2,85 % -0,05 % -0,45 %
Rendement des bons du Trésor américain de 10 ans 3,48 % -0,03 % -0,35 %
Cours du pétrole brut WTI $ US/baril 81,40 $ 1,66 % 1,11 %
Dollar canadien 0,7472 $ US 0,12 % 1,27 %
Taux préférentiel de la Banque du Canada 6,45 %

Résultats hebdomadaires terminés le 20 janvier 2023. Sources Refinitiv.


À retenir

Les variations de taux d’intérêt peuvent entraîner diverses répercussions sur vos placements. Les obligations peuvent être particulièrement sensibles aux variations des taux d’intérêt, car bon nombre d’entre elles offrent un taux d’intérêt fixe sur une période donnée. Nos gestionnaires de fonds professionnels connaissent et utilisent des stratégies qui permettent de gérer le risque de taux d’intérêt. Ils peuvent ajuster rapidement la répartition des placements en cas de changement de la conjoncture des marchés. Un représentant ou une représentante de Co-operators se fera un plaisir de passer en revue votre portefeuille avec vous pour vérifier si vous êtes sur la bonne voie pour atteindre vos objectifs. Parlons-en dès aujourd'hui.

Ce qui nous attend

Annonce du taux directeur de la Banque du Canada (le 25 janvier) : Lors de sa dernière réunion de 2022, la Banque du Canada a augmenté son taux directeur de 50 points de base supplémentaires pour le porter à 4,25 %. La banque centrale devrait relever son taux directeur d’un autre 25 points de base avant de mettre en veilleuse son cycle actuel de resserrement de la politique monétaire.

Dates importantes

31 janvier au 1er février  Réunions et déclaration de la Réserve fédérale américaine

20 février  Fermeture des marchés boursiers nord-américains pour le jour férié



Les commentaires exprimés dans le présent rapport reposent sur les conditions actuelles du marché et les sources médiatiques accessibles au public, et peuvent changer sans préavis. Les prévisions fournies ne constituent pas une garantie de rendement futur, et comportent des risques, des incertitudes et des hypothèses. Bien que Cooperators Compagnie d’assurance-vie (« Cooperators ») considère ces hypothèses comme raisonnables, aucune garantie ne peut être donnée quant à leur réalisation. Le présent rapport ne donne aucune garantie de rendement futur et le lecteur est prié de ne pas s’y fier indûment. Ce document se veut une source d’information générale qui n’est valable qu’au moment de sa parution, et ne constitue ni une offre ni une sollicitation concernant la vente ou l’achat de produits de placement. Son contenu ne vise pas à fournir des conseils juridiques, fiscaux, de placement ou autres. Il convient de ne pas se fier aux informations contenues, qui ne sauraient se substituer à des conseils professionnels pertinents et spécifiques, et de lire attentivement les conditions décrites dans les documents de souscription avant de prendre une décision de placement. Cooperators rejette toute responsabilité quant aux pertes ou dommages découlant de l’utilisation des informations contenues dans le présent rapport, et ne fait aucune déclaration ni ne donne aucune garantie quant à leur exactitude, à leur actualité, à leur exhaustivité ou à leur fiabilité. Cooperators s’engage à protéger la vie privée de ses clients, ainsi que la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés, conservés et divulgués dans le cadre de ses affaires. Consultez la page cooperators.ca/vie-privee pour en savoir plus. CooperatorsMD est une marque déposée du Groupe Co operators limitée, utilisée avec permission. Planifier l’avenir. Ensemble.MC est une marque de commerce du Groupe Cooperators limitée. Si vous avez reçu ce courriel à titre de client et que vous avez des questions, ou si vous souhaitez discuter de vos placements, veuillez contacter votre conseiller en sécurité financière.

Les indices Dow Jones Industrial Average et S&P 500 (les « indices ») sont des produits de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, de ses sociétés affiliées ou de leurs concédants de licence, et sont utilisés sous licence par Services financiers Cooperators limitée. © S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, ses sociétés affiliées ou leurs concédants de licence, 2022. Tous droits réservés. La redistribution ou la reproduction en totalité ou en partie sont interdites sans l’autorisation écrite de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC. Pour en savoir plus sur l’un des indices de S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, veuillez consulter le site www.spdji.com. S&P® est une marque déposée de Standard & Poor’s Financial Services LLC et Dow Jones® est une marque déposée de Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC. S&P Dow Jones Indices LLC, Dow Jones Trademark Holdings LLC, leurs sociétés affiliées et leurs concédants de licence indépendants ne font aucune déclaration et ne donnent aucune garantie, expresse ou tacite, quant à la capacité d’un indice à représenter de manière fidèle la catégorie d’actifs ou le secteur du marché qu’il prétend représenter, et aucune de ces entités ne peut être tenue responsable des erreurs, omissions ou interruptions d’un indice ou des données s’y rapportant.

L’indice composé S&P/TSX est un produit de TSX Inc., de ses sociétés affiliées ou de leurs concédants de licence, et est utilisé sous licence par Services financiers Cooperators limitée. © TSX Inc., 2022. Tous droits réservés. TSX Inc., ses sociétés affiliées et leurs concédants de licence indépendants ne font aucune déclaration et ne donnent aucune garantie, expresse ou tacite, quant à l’exactitude de la représentation du marché de tout indice, ou du contexte dont ils sont tirés, et ne peuvent être tenus responsables des erreurs, omissions ou interruptions d’un indice ou des données s’y rapportant.