Co-operators General Insurance Company

Complaint resolution process – Atlantic and Alberta

Step 1: Let us know

Talk to your Financial Advisor or a representative from your Financial Advisor’s office. They know you best and can often resolve issues quickly. You may also reach out to our Client Care Team for further assistance.

Email: complaints@cooperators.ca
Phone: 1-833-320-3210

Step 2: Escalate your concern

If your concern is not resolved to your satisfaction following a discussion with your advisor’s office or a representative from our Client Care Team, please ask to have your concerns referred to our Client Advocate team.

Step 3: Contact the Ombuds Office

If your concern remains unresolved after speaking with our Client Advocate team, you may contact the Ombuds Office for further assistance.

Mail: Ombuds Office
The Co-operators Group Limited
130 Macdonell Street
Guelph, ON N1H 6P8
Email: ombuds@cooperators.ca
Phone: 1-877-720-6733

After the Ombuds Office review, you’ll receive a written response, except in the case where a simple complaint or concern can be cleared up over the phone. We complete most investigations within 30 business days of receiving your complaint and all supporting documentation. If we can’t meet this deadline, we will contact you and let you know why we need extra time and when you can expect a response.

The written response from the Ombuds Office is considered the company’s final position.

Depending on your situation, you may be referred to The Co-operators Service Review Panel, a unique service that provides a forum for the resolution of client concerns. The Service Review Panel is made up of volunteer clients who look at complaints to work towards a solution that’s fair to both you and The Co-operators.

Independent assistance

If we are not able to resolve your concerns to your satisfaction and you want to pursue the matter further, you may contact the General Insurance OmbudService (GIO). The GIO is an independent service that offers recourse to consumers who have not been able to resolve their complaint by dealing with their insurance company.

Regulation of complaint handling procedures

We have filed our complaint handling procedures with the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC), an independent government body that regulates consumer provisions relating to financial services, including insurance. If you have a specific concern regarding our complaint process or a specific consumer provision, you may raise these concerns with the FCAC. The FCAC can provide tips on how to make a complaint; however, they do not get involved in individual disputes.

La Compagnie d’assurance générale Co-operators

Processus de résolution des plaintes – Atlantique, Alberta, Ontario, Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Yukon

Étape 1 : Informez-nous du problème

Communiquez avec votre représentant représentant ou une personne de son agence. Ils vous connaissent bien et peuvent souvent résoudre rapidement les problèmes.

Étape 2 : Adressez-vous aux échelons supérieurs

Si vous demeurez insatisfait à la suite des explications que vous avez reçues, vous pouvez communiquer avec notre équipe de conseillers aux relations avec la clientèle.

Courriel : client_relations@cooperators.ca
Téléphone : 1-833-320-3210

Étape 3 : Communiquez avec le bureau de l’ombudsman

Si le problème n’est pas résolu malgré ces démarches, vous pouvez communiquer avec le bureau de médiation pour obtenir de l’aide.

Adresse : Bureau de l’ombudsman
Groupe Co-operators limitée
130 Macdonell Street
Guelph (Ontario) N1H 6P8
Courriel : ombuds@cooperators.ca
Téléphone : 1-877-720-6733

Après l’étude de la plainte, le bureau de l’ombudsman vous fera parvenir une réponse écrite, sauf si la plainte ou le problème peut être réglé par téléphone. Nous réalisons la plupart des enquêtes dans les 30 jours ouvrables suivant la réception de la plainte et de tous les documents justificatifs. Si nous ne pouvons pas respecter cette échéance, nous communiquerons avec vous pour vous indiquer la raison du délai et la date prévue de la réponse.

La réponse rédigée par le bureau de l’ombudsman présente la position définitive de la société.

Selon la situation, vous pourriez être invité à faire appel au Comité de révision du service de Co-operators, un service unique qui offre aux clients une tribune pour la résolution de problèmes. Ce comité est composé de clients qui, de façon bénévole, examinent les plaintes dans le but d’offrir une solution équitable à la fois pour le client et pour Co-operators.

Recours externe

Si nous ne sommes pas en mesure de résoudre votre problème à votre entière satisfaction et que vous voulez poursuivre l’affaire, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Service de conciliation en assurance de dommages (SCAD). Le SCAD est un organisme indépendant qui offre des recours aux consommateurs qui n’ont pas réussi à résoudre leur plainte en traitant directement avec leur compagnie d’assurance.

Réglementation des procédures de traitement des plaintes

Nous avons soumis nos procédures de traitement des plaintes à Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC), un organisme gouvernemental indépendant qui réglemente les dispositions liées aux services financiers qui visent les consommateurs, y compris l’assurance. Si vous avez une préoccupation concernant notre processus de traitement des plaintes ou une disposition visant les consommateurs, vous pouvez vous adresser à l’ACFC. L’ACFC peut vous donner des conseils sur la façon de déposer une plainte. Toutefois, elle ne s’implique pas dans les différends individuels.