Prepare for travel emergencies

If you get sick or injured while travelling outside of Canada, government health insurance plans will only pay a fraction of your medical expenses. Travel insurance is an affordable way to make the situation manageable.

Some hospitals charge thousands of dollars a day, not including doctors' fees or diagnostic services. Without emergency health and medical insurance, you’re responsible for those expenses. Make sure you have the coverage you need before you leave home.

Keep in mind that travel insurance doesn't cover everything; there are certain conditions, exclusions and limitations. Talk to your Financial Advisor if you have questions and read over your insurance policy carefully before you travel.

How to prepare for and handle a travel emergency

Before you leave, it’s a good idea to have a plan.

  1. Program the contact information for the destination country’s Canadian embassy into your phone and bookmark the Government of Canada’s emergency assistance webpage. If there’s a political upheaval or a natural disaster in the country you’re visiting, contact the embassy to get instructions on what you should do.
  2. If you’re travelling alone and have a medical emergency, contact your travel insurance provider and inform them immediately.
  3. If you lose your passport or other crucial travel documents, contact the Canadian embassy. If your credit cards are lost or stolen, contact your bank immediately to deactivate your cards.

For more information on travel insurance, talk to your Financial Advisor.

Travel insurance does not cover everything. For complete terms, conditions, limitations and exclusions, please refer to the policy. Travel insurance is underwritten by CUMIS General Insurance Company, a member of the Co-operators group of companies and administered by Allianz Global Assistance, which is a registered business name of AZGA Service Canada Inc.

Se préparer aux urgences à l’étranger

Si vous tombez malade ou que vous vous blessez à l'étranger, votre régime public d’assurance maladie ne vous remboursera qu’une infime partie des frais médicaux. L’assurance voyage est donc un moyen abordable pour gérer facilement la situation.

Certains hôpitaux facturent des milliers de dollars par jour, excluant les honoraires des médecins ou les frais des services de diagnostic. Sans l’assurance soins de santé et médicaux d’urgence, vous devrez payer vous-même ces frais. Pour avoir l’esprit tranquille, assurez-vous d’être bien protégé avant de quitter la maison.

N’oubliez pas toutefois que l’assurance voyage ne couvre pas tout; certaines conditions, exclusions et limitations s’appliquent. Lisez attentivement votre police d’assurance avant de partir et communiquez avec votre représentant si vous avez des questions.

Comment se préparer et quoi faire en cas d’urgence

Avant de partir, établissez votre plan d’action en cas d’urgence.

  1. Avant de quitter le pays, profitez du service gratuit d’Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger, qui vous permettra d’être avisé en cas d’urgence à l’étranger ou à la maison, une catastrophe naturelle ou des troubles civils par exemple.
  2. Enregistrez dans votre téléphone le numéro de l’ambassade du Canada dans le pays que vous visitez et ajoutez la page Web du service d’aide d’urgence du gouvernement du Canada dans vos favoris.
  3. S’il y a une crise politique ou une catastrophe naturelle dans le pays, ou si vous perdez des documents de voyage importants, communiquez avec l’ambassade pour demander conseil.
  4. En cas de perte ou de vol de vos cartes de crédit, communiquez immédiatement avec votre banque pour les désactiver.
  5. Advenant une urgence médicale, communiquez avec votre fournisseur d’assurance voyage immédiatement.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’assurance voyage, communiquez avec votre représentant.

L’assurance voyage ne couvre pas tout. Pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur les modalités, les conditions, les restrictions et les exclusions, veuillez consulter votre police d’assurance. L’assurance voyage est souscrite par La Compagnie d’Assurance Générale CUMIS, qui fait partie du groupe de sociétés Co-operators, et administrée par Assistance globale Allianz, dénomination commerciale enregistrée d’AZGA Service Canada Inc.