Ontario Auto Insurance Reform 2010
 Why the change?

On September 1, 2010, the Ontario government introduced significant changes to your auto insurance that will provide you with more choice over your coverage and the price you pay. This will allow you to customize your policy to best suit your needs.

These changes will provide you with choice to ensure that you have the coverage that is best suited to your lifestyle and the needs of your family.

Your policy now...

The Ontario government determines the standard coverage that consumers must purchase, and your policy includes the following mandatory coverage:

As a result of the recent changes, some of the features under your policy have changed. As of September 1, 2010, whether you are buying a new auto policy or renewing an existing one, you will have the option to purchase the coverage best suited to your needs and lifestyle.

 What are the benefits?

We want to keep insurance as affordable as possible for you. In the past few years, injury costs have risen. To ensure that insurance remains affordable and accident victims receive the care they need, the Ontario government implemented reforms to provide Ontario drivers with more choice.

What's new?

The new auto reforms are laying the foundation for greater price stability and greater protection for you.  Along with the Accident Benefit reforms, some of the key changes include:

  •  Using credit score continues to be prohibited when providing quotes for auto insurance.
  • Accidents where you are deemed 25% or less at fault will no longer affect your premium.
  • If your vehicle is damaged or written off, and you’re not happy with the settlement amount offered, or if you do not agree with the fault determination, you have the option to go through the Ontario Auto Policy appraisal process and we will participate in this process with you.
  • The deductible applied to court awards for fatal accidents has been eliminated.
  • Coverage will be extended on rented vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of more than 4, 500 kg,  if they are for personal use and rented for up to 7 days.
  • Minor injuries that are directly related to an automobile accident are limited to $3, 500 in medical and rehabilitation benefits, regardless of the coverage you have selected.
  • In the event of a claim, we will send you benefit statements to keep you informed of how much medical, rehabilitation and attendant care benefits you continue to be eligible for and the amount we have paid out. This will allow you to partner with your adjuster to manage your claim effectively.

You can customize your deductible when your policy renews:

  • Tort deductible – we are now giving you the option to reduce the deductible associated with the court awarded compensation for pain and suffering to $20,000 from $30,000 and for Family Act claims to $10,000 from $15,000.
  • Direct Compensation – Property Damage Coverage (DCPD) – You now have the option of $500, $300 or no deductible at all on the coverage to repair the vehicle of the driver who is not at fault.

Who pays when I am injured?

If you are injured in an automobile accident, we want to make sure that you receive the best care possible. As your insurer, we will pay for health care services necessary to effectively manage your Accident Benefit claim.

In the event that your Accident Benefits are exhausted, or if the level of service required exceeds specified maximums, the Ministry of Health may consider paying for the following services:

  • Medical costs (all physician services)
  • Hospital services
  • Mental Health Facilities
  • Air Ambulance
  • Several professional in-home health services in a range of settings including the home, school or community
  • Any other ministry funded services not covered under the Long-Term Care Act, 1994

Who pays first?

OHIP and extended health care plans are first-payers. However, automobile insurance may cover expenses over-and-above those plans. The order of payment is as follows: 

  1. Ministry Programs:
    • OHIP
    • Professional services arranged or provided through Community Care Access Centres  (CCAC)
  2. Private supplementary health and disability insurers and private employer plans.
  3. Your automobile insurer – Statutory Accident Benefits.
  4. Money awarded in a lawsuit.
  5. Provincial government plans are the last payer for:
    • Non-professional services arranged or provided through CCACs
    • All services and benefits such as vocational rehabilitation and welfare payments, administered by the Ministry of Community and Social Services.
 Providing More Choice

We are here to help you make the best choice for you and want to make the process as simple as possible.

The benefits most affected by the recent changes are the Statutory Accident Benefits. Regardless of fault, you are entitled to these benefits when you are injured in an automobile accident; however, this is subject to the terms, conditions and limitations outlined in your Ontario Automobile Policy (OAP1 Owners Policy) and the Statutory Accident Benefits Schedule.

Coverage Coverage under your existing auto insurance policy Coverage under New Standard Auto Insurance Policy Options available to increase your benefits
Medical, Rehabilitation and Attendant Care benefits for non-catastrophic injuries $100,000 for medical and rehabilitation benefits $72,000 for attendant care benefits $50,000 for medical and rehabilitation benefits, including assessment costs; $36,000 for attendant care benefits $100, 000 or $1,100,000 for medical and rehabilitation benefits including assessment costs; $72,000 or $1,072,000 for attendant care benefits
Medical, Rehabilitation and Attendant Care benefits for catastrophic injuries $1,000,000 for medical and rehabilitation benefits; $1,000,000 for attendant care benefits $1,000,000 for medical and rehabilitation benefits including assessment costs; $1,000,000 for attendant care benefits An additional $1,000,000 for medical, rehabilitation and attendant care benefits including assessment costs
Caregiver Benefit Up to $250 per week for the first dependant plus $50 for each additional dependant; available for all injuries Up to $250 per week for the first dependant plus $50 for each additional dependant; available only for catastrophic injuries Up to $250 per week for the first dependant plus $50 for each additional dependant; available for all injuries
Housekeeping and Home Maintenance expenses Up to $100 per week; available for all injuries Up to $100 per week, available only for catastrophic injuries Up to $100 per week, available for all injuries
Income Replacement Benefits 80% of net income up to $400 per week 70% of gross income up to $400 per week Weekly limit can be increased to $600, $800 or $1,000 per week
Dependant Care Benefit Not Provided Not Provided Up to $75 per week for the first dependant and $25 per week for each additional dependant to a maximum of $150 per week
Death and Funeral Benefits $25,000 lump sum to an eligible spouse; $10,000 lump sum to each dependant; maximum $6,000 funeral benefits $25,000 lump sum to an eligible spouse; $10,000 lump sum to each dependant; maximum $6,000 funeral benefits $50,000 lump sum to an eligible spouse; $20,000 lump sum to each dependant; maximum $8,000 for funeral benefits
Indexation benefit – applicable to income replacement benefit, non-earner benefit, caregiver benefit, attendant care benefit or medical and rehabilitation benefit Not provided Not provided Annual adjustment according to the Consumer Price Index for Canada

If you would like more information on purchasing these options, please contact your agent and one of our insurance specialists will be happy to assist you.

 Auto Reform 101

How is my policy affected by Ontario Auto Reform?

Ontario auto reform came into effect on September 1, 2010; therefore, your policy limits will remain unchanged until your next renewal. Along with your renewal, we will be sending the information you need to make an informed decision on the type of coverage that best suits your needs. The choice will be yours.

My policy renews after September 1, 2010 but I am interested in taking advantage of the changes now – is this possible?

Yes! Every client is entitled to change their policy. If you would like to make changes prior to your renewal, please contact your agent for a quote based on the new changes.

How will my Accident Benefits coverage be affected by the new changes?

If your policy renews prior to September 1, 2010, there will be no change to your current coverage limits. If your policy renews after September 1, 2010, the new standards, as well as any optional benefits you may have purchased, will apply.

What are the additional Accident Benefits choices? How can I customize my policy?

Every auto policy will renew with a standard limit of Accident Benefits coverage. The choices include optional coverages that you can purchase to increase the standard limit and/or add a type of coverage for Accident Benefits. You will be able to choose the type of coverage and limits that fit your situation or needs.

Where can I get more information about the new auto reform changes?

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact your agent and one of our insurance specialists will answer your all questions.

Insurance Bureau of Canada

Financial Services Commission of Ontario

 Glossary

Attendant Care Benefit: Pays for an aide or attendant to look after you if you have been seriously injured in an auto accident.

Caregiver Benefit: If you are providing full time care to dependants and can no longer provide that care as the result of an auto accident, you may be eligible for caregiver benefits to reimburse you for your expenses to hire someone to care for your dependents.

Catastrophic Injury: If you suffer an injury in an accident, you can apply for a determination of whether your injury qualifies as “catastrophic” (ie: loss of a limb, paraplegia). If the injury qualifies as being “catastrophic”, you are eligible for an increased level of benefits.

Death and Funeral Benefit: If you were to die as a result of an auto accident, the death benefit would provide a lump sum payout to your spouse and any dependents; the funeral benefit would provide a lump sum payout to cover funeral expenses.
Dependant Care Benefit: Pays for additional expenses incurred to care for your dependants if you are employed and are injured in an auto accident.

Direct Compensation – Property Damage (DC-PD): Covers damage to your vehicle or its contents if another person was at fault for the accident. For direct compensation to apply, the accident must occur in Ontario and both drivers must be insured by an insurance company licensed by the province. Any compensation would be collected directly from your own insurer.

Housekeeping and Home Maintenance Expenses: If you are unable to perform your usual duties due to your injuries, this benefit pays for reasonable and necessary additional expenses for someone to complete your usual duties.

Income Replacement Benefit: If you cannot work as the result of an auto accident, you may be eligible for basic weekly income replacement benefits of up to $400. This benefit commences after one week.

Indexation Benefit: Is the automatic adjustment of the income replacement benefit, non-earner benefit, attendant care benefit or medical and rehabilitation benefit according to the Consumer Price Index for Canada to compensate for inflation.

Medical and Rehabilitation Benefit: Covers the cost of reasonable and necessary medical and rehabilitation expenses (ie: physiotherapy, prescriptions) that are not covered by OHIP or extended health care plan.

Minor Injury: Can consist of a sprain, strain, whiplash associated disorder, contusion, abrasion, laceration and any other clinically associated symptom. This term is applied to a person who sustains any one or more of these injuries.

Third Party Liability: Claims made by a driver against another driver who causes an accident.

Tort Deductible: The amount that is deducted from a settlement or court award for pain and suffering.

Uninsured Auto Coverage: Protects you and your family if you are injured or killed by a hit and run driver or by an uninsured motorist. It also covers damage to your vehicle caused by an identified uninsured driver.

Some Information used in this article was obtained from the Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO), the Insurance Bureau of Canada (IBC) and the Ministry of Health.

Réforme de L’assurance Automobile de L'Ontario
 Pourquoi ce changement?

Le 1er septembre 2010, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a apporté des modifications importantes à votre assurance automobile pour vous offrir plus de choix quant aux garanties et aux prix. Vous pourrez ainsi adapter votre police à vos besoins.

Ces modifications vous permettront de choisir la protection qui correspond le mieux à votre style de vie et aux besoins de votre famille.

Votre police actuelle

Le gouvernement ontarien décide des garanties standard que les consommateurs doivent acheter, et votre contrat d’assurance comprend les protections obligatoires suivantes :

Avec la réforme, certaines caractéristiques de votre contrat ont été modifiées. À partir du 1er septembre 2010, que vous souscriviez une nouvelle assurance automobile ou que vous renouveliez votre police actuelle, vous pourrez choisir la garantie qui correspond le mieux à votre style de vie et aux besoins de votre famille.

 Quels sont les avantages?

Nous voulons que votre assurance reste la plus abordable possible. Ces dernières années, les coûts liés aux blessures ont augmenté. Afin que l’assurance demeure abordable et que les victimes d’accident reçoivent les soins dont ils ont besoin, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a réformé le système pour offrir plus de choix aux conducteurs ontariens. 

Quoi de neuf?

La réforme du système d'assurance automobile vise à stabiliser les prix et à mieux vous protéger.  En plus de la modification des indemnités d’accident, voici les principaux changements :

  • Il est toujours interdit de recourir à des évaluations du crédit pour donner des propositions de taux d'assurance automobile.
  • Les accidents pour lesquels vous êtes réputé être responsable à 25 % ou moins ne modifieront plus vos primes.
  • Si votre véhicule a été endommagé ou déclaré perte totale et que vous n'êtes pas d'accord avec la valeur qui vous est offerte ou votre degré de responsabilité dans l'accident, vous pouvez choisir un processus d'évaluation décrit dans les politiques d'assurance automobile de l'Ontario afin de régler votre différend, et nous y participerons avec vous.
  • La franchise qui s'applique aux indemnités octroyées par un tribunal pour des accidents mortels a été éliminée.
  • La couverture est étendue aux véhicules de location dont le poids nominal brut est supérieur 4 500 kilos, s'ils sont destinés à l'usage personnel et loués pour une période maximale de sept jours.
  • Si vous avez subi une blessure mineure dans un accident automobile, vos indemnités de frais médicaux et de frais de réadaptation sont limitées à 3 500 $, quel que soit le niveau de couverture que vous avez choisi.
  • En cas de sinistre, nous vous enverrons un relevé des prestations pour vous indiquer les montants versés à la date du relevé ainsi que les montants restants au titre des indemnités de frais médicaux et de frais de réadaptation et de frais de soins auxiliaires. Vous pourrez ainsi gérer efficacement votre déclaration de sinistre avec votre expert en sinistres.

Vous pouvez adapter votre franchise au renouvellement de votre police :

  • Franchise pour responsabilité délictuelle – Vous avez l'option de réduire la franchise liée à une indemnité pour souffrances et douleur octroyée par le tribunal de 30 000 $ à 20 000 $ et, pour les réclamations en vertu de la Loi sur le droit de la famille, de 15 000 $ à 10 000 $.
  • Indemnisation directe des dommages matériels – Vous avez l'option d'une franchise de 500 $, de 300 $ ou pas de franchise du tout pour la garantie de réparation de l'automobile du conducteur qui n'était pas fautif.

Qui paie si je suis blessé?

Si vous êtes blessé dans un accident automobile, nous voulons nous assurer que vous recevez les meilleurs soins possible. Comme nous sommes votre assureur, nous paierons les services de soins de santé dont vous avez besoin afin de gérer efficacement votre demande d’indemnités d’accident.

Si vos indemnités d’accident sont épuisées, ou si le niveau de service excède les limites prévues, il se peut que le ministère de la Santé assure le paiement des services suivants :

  • Les frais médicaux (tous les services des médecins);
  • Les services hospitaliers;
  • Les établissements de santé mentale;
  • Les services d’ambulance aérienne;
  • Plusieurs services professionnels de santé offerts à domicile, à l’école ou dans la collectivité;
  • Tous les autres services financés par le ministère, qui ne sont pas couverts en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur les services de soins à domicile et les services communautaires.

Qui paie en premier?

Le régime d’assurance-santé de l’Ontario et les régimes d’assurance maladie complémentaire sont les premiers payeurs. Cependant, l’assurance automobile peut couvrir des dépenses en sus de ces régimes. L’ordre de paiement s’établit comme suit :

  1. Les programmes du ministère :
    • Le régime d’assurance-santé de l’Ontario;
    • Les services professionnels administrés ou fournis par l’entremise des Centres d'accès aux soins communautaires (CASC).
  2. Les régimes privés d'assurance maladie complémentaire et d'assurance invalidité et les régimes privés d'employeurs.
  3. Votre assureur automobile (indemnités d'accidents légales).
  4. Les sommes accordées dans le cadre d'une poursuite.
  5. Les régimes gouvernementaux provinciaux sont les derniers à payer :
    • Les services non professionnels administrés ou fournis par l'entremise des CASC;
    • Tous les services et toutes les prestations comme les paiements de réadaptation professionnelle et les prestations d'aide sociale, qui sont administrés par le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires.
 Offrir plus de choix

Nous sommes là pour vous aider à faire le choix qui vous convient le mieux et nous voulons simplifier ce processus au maximum.

Les indemnités les plus touchées par les modifications sont les indemnités d'accidents légales. Sans égard à la faute, vous avez droit à ces indemnités si vous êtes blessé dans un accident automobile, sous réserve des conditions et des limites décrites dans votre Police d’assurance automobile de l’Ontario (FPO 1) et dans l’Annexe sur les indemnités d’accident légales.

Garantie

Garantie aux termes de votre police d'assurance automobile existante

Garantie aux termes de la nouvelle police type d'assurance automobile

Options offertes pour augmenter vos prestations

Frais médicaux et de réadaptation, et indemnité de soins auxiliaires pour des blessures non invalidantes

100 000 $ pour des frais médicaux et de réadaptation; 72 000 $ pour une indemnité de soins auxiliaires.

50 000 $ pour des frais médicaux et de réadaptation, y compris les frais d'évaluation; 36 000 $ pour une indemnité de soins auxiliaires

100 000 $ ou 1 100 000 $ pour des frais médicaux et de réadaptation, y compris les frais d'évaluation; 72 000 $ ou 1 072 000 $ pour une indemnité de soins auxiliaires

Frais médicaux et de réadaptation, et indemnité de soins auxiliaires pour des blessures invalidantes

1 000 000 $ pour des frais médicaux et de réadaptation; 1 000 000 $ pour une indemnité de soins auxiliaires

1 000 000 $ pour des frais médicaux et de réadaptation, y compris les frais d'évaluation; 1 000 000 $ pour une indemnité de soins auxiliaires

1 000 000 $ de plus pour des frais médicaux et de réadaptation et une indemnité de soins auxiliaires, y compris les frais d'évaluation

Indemnité de soignant

Jusqu'à 250 $ par semaine pour la première personne à charge plus 50 $ pour chaque personne à charge additionnelle; pour toutes les blessures

Jusqu'à 250 $ par semaine pour la première personne à charge plus 50 $ pour chaque personne à charge additionnelle; seulement pour les blessures invalidantes

Jusqu'à 250 $ par semaine pour la première personne à charge plus 50 $ pour chaque personne à charge additionnelle; pour toutes les blessures

Indemnité pour travaux ménagers et entretien du domicile

Jusqu'à 100 $ par semaine, pour toutes les blessures

Jusqu'à 100 $ par semaine, seulement pour les blessures invalidantes

Jusqu'à 100 $ par semaine, pour toutes les blessures

Indemnité de remplacement de revenu

80 % du revenu net à concurrence de 400 $ par semaine

70 % du revenu brut à concurrence de 400 $ par semaine

La limite hebdomadaire peut être augmentée à 600 $, 800 $ ou 1 000 $ par semaine

Indemnité pour personne à charge

Non prévue

Non prévue

Jusqu'à 75 $ par semaine pour la première personne à charge et 25 $ par semaine pour chaque personne à charge additionnelle jusqu'à concurrence de 150 $ par semaine

Prestations de décès et indemnité pour frais funéraires

Indemnité forfaitaire de 25 000 $ au conjoint admissible; indemnité forfaitaire de 10 000 $ à chaque personne à charge; prestations maximales de 6 000 $ pour frais funéraires

Indemnité forfaitaire de 25 000 $ au conjoint admissible; indemnité forfaitaire de 10 000 $ à chaque personne à charge; prestations maximales de 6 000 $ pour frais funéraires

Indemnité forfaitaire de 50 000 $ au conjoint admissible; indemnité forfaitaire de 20 000 $ à chaque personne à charge; prestations maximales de 8 000 $ pour frais funéraires

Indexation des prestations – applicable à l'indemnité de remplacement de revenu, à l'indemnité de personne sans revenu d'emploi, à l'indemnité de soignant, à l'indemnité pour frais de soins auxiliaires ou frais médicaux et de réadaptation

Non prévue

Non prévue

Rajustement annuel selon l'Indice des prix à la consommation pour le Canada

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la souscription de ces options, communiquez avec votre agent; un de nos spécialistes de l’assurance vous aidera avec plaisir.

 Information/Faq

Comment la Réforme de l’assurance automobile de l’Ontario touche-t-elle ma police?

La Réforme de l’assurance automobile de l’Ontario est entrée en vigueur le 1er septembre 2010. Votre police ne sera donc pas concernée jusqu'à votre prochain renouvellement. À ce moment, vous recevrez tous les renseignements nécessaires pour prendre une décision éclairée sur le type de garantie qui correspond le mieux à vos besoins.  Ce sera à vous de faire le choix.

Le renouvellement de ma police aura lieu après le 1er septembre 2010, mais je veux profiter des modifications maintenant, est-ce possible?

Oui! Tous nos clients peuvent changer leur police. Si vous désirez faire des changements avant votre renouvellement, communiquez avec votre agent pour obtenir une soumission prenant en compte les modifications.

En quoi les modifications toucheront-elles ma garantie d’indemnités d’accident?

Si le renouvellement de votre police a lieu avant le 1er septembre 2010, vos limites de garantie ne seront pas modifiées. Si le renouvellement de votre police a lieu après le 1er septembre 2010, les nouvelles indemnités standards et toutes indemnités optionnelles que vous aurez souscrites s’appliqueront.

Quels sont les autres choix en matière d'indemnités d'accident? Comment puis-je personnaliser mon contrat?

Chaque contrat d'assurance automobile comportera les limites d’indemnités d'accident standard au renouvellement.
Vous pouvez souscrire des garanties optionnelles pour augmenter la limite standard ou ajouter un type de garantie pour les indemnités d’accident. Vous pourrez ainsi choisir le type de garantie et les montants adaptés à votre situation ou à vos besoins. Veuillez consulter le tableau ci-dessus (lien vers le tableau?)

Où puis-je obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la réforme de l'assurance automobile?

Pour toute question, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec votre agent; un de nos spécialistes de l’assurance vous répondra avec plaisir.

Vous pouvez également consulter les sites Web suivants :

Bureau d'assurance du Canada

La Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario

 Glossaire

Indemnité de soins auxiliaires : Paie les frais d'une personne qui s'occupe de vous si vous avez été grièvement blessé dans un accident automobile.

Indemnité de soignant : Si vous fournissez à temps plein des soins à des personnes à charge et que vous ne pouvez plus le faire à cause de votre accident automobile, vous pouvez avoir droit à une indemnité de soignant qui vous remboursera les dépenses que vous avez engagées pour engager quelqu'un afin de s'occuper de vos personnes à charge.

Blessure invalidante : Si vous subissez une blessure dans un accident, vous pouvez demander de déterminer si votre blessure est considérée comme « invalidante » (p. ex., perte d'un membre, paraplégie). Si la blessure est « invalidante », vous êtes admissible à un niveau d'indemnité plus élevé.

Prestations de décès et indemnités pour frais funéraires : Si vous décédez à la suite de l'accident automobile, les prestations de décès constituent un paiement forfaitaire en faveur de votre conjoint et de vos personnes à charge; l'indemnité pour frais funéraires constitue un paiement forfaitaire pour couvrir les frais funéraires.
Indemnité pour soins à personne à charge : Couvre les dépenses additionnelles que vous avez engagées pour prendre soin de vos personnes à charge si vous êtes employé et que vous êtes blessé dans un accident automobile.

Indemnisation directe des dommages matériels : Couvre les dommages causés à votre véhicule ou à son contenu si une autre personne est responsable de l'accident. L'accident doit s'être produit en Ontario et les deux conducteurs doivent être assurés par une compagnie d'assurances autorisée à exercer ses activités dans la province. Vous obtenez l'indemnité directement de votre assureur.

Indemnité pour travaux ménagers et entretien du domicile : Si vous êtes incapable d'exécuter vos tâches habituelles à cause de vos blessures, cette indemnité couvre les dépenses additionnelles raisonnables et nécessaires engagées pour que quelqu'un exécute vos tâches habituelles.

Indemnité de remplacement de revenu : Si vous ne pouvez pas travailler à la suite d'un accident automobile, vous pouvez avoir droit à une indemnité hebdomadaire de base de remplacement de revenu jusqu'à concurrence de 400 $. Cette prestation commence après une semaine.

Indexation des prestations : Le rajustement automatique de l'indemnité de remplacement du revenu, de l'indemnité de personne sans revenu d'emploi, de l'indemnité de soins auxiliaires ou de l'indemnité pour frais médicaux et de réadaptation selon l'Indice des prix à la consommation pour le Canada afin de contrebalancer l'inflation.

Indemnité pour frais médicaux et de réadaptation : Couvre les frais médicaux et de réadaptation raisonnables et nécessaires (p. ex., physiothérapie, médicaments sur ordonnance) qui ne sont pas couverts par le régime d’assurance-santé de l’Ontario ou votre régime d’assurance maladie complémentaire.

Blessure mineure : Par exemple : entorse, foulure, contusion, excoriation, lacération ou coup de fouet cervical et tout symptôme s’y rattachant sur le plan clinique. Ce terme s’applique à une personne qui subit une ou plusieurs de ces blessures.

Responsabilité civile : Demande d'indemnité présentée par un conducteur contre un autre conducteur qui cause un accident.

Franchise pour responsabilité délictuelle : Le montant qui est déduit d'un règlement ou d’une indemnité octroyée par un tribunal pour les souffrances et la douleur.

Couverture de l’automobile non assurée : Vous protège, vous et votre famille, si vous êtes blessé ou tué par un conducteur qui a pris la fuite ou par un automobiliste non assuré. La garantie couvre aussi les dommages causés à votre véhicule par un conducteur identifié non assuré.

Certains renseignements présentés dans cet article ont été obtenus auprès de la Commission des services financiers de l’Ontario, du Bureau d'assurance du Canada et du ministère de la Santé.