Winterize your home in 6 easy steps

Preparing your home for winter is something every homeowner should consider before the season really takes hold. Here are six quick and easy jobs you can do to help winterize your home.

  1. 1. Clear your eaves

    Clogged eavestroughs can lead to the formation of ice dams, which can tear off gutters, loosen shingles and leave your roof vulnerable to leaks.

    Use a ladder to carefully climb to the edge of your roof and dig out the debris. It’s not necessary to remove every small item. The main purpose is to make sure nothing restricts the flow of water, and that no stagnant water remains in the gutters.

  2. 2. Shut off exterior faucets

    Cold temperatures can cause pipes inside your home to freeze and burst, which can result in major water damage.

    Locate and close any shut-off valves that lead to outside faucets and drain any excess water inside the lines. It’s also a good idea to drain any interior pipes in unheated areas of your home, such as your attic.

  3. 3. Test smoke and CO2 detectors

    Regardless of the time of year, it’s always a good idea to test your smoke and carbon monoxide detectors to make sure they’re functioning. Detectors lose their effectiveness over time, so replace old products after five years of use.

  4. 4. Inspect all weather stripping

    Cracks or openings around doors and caulking around windows can lead to heat loss and cost you money on your utility bill. If you find any problem areas, hire a professional to help, or make the necessary repairs if you have the expertise.

  5. 5. Have your chimney inspected and cleaned

    If you have a wood-burning heating appliance or fireplace, have it inspected and cleaned by a certified chimney inspector to reduce your risk of a fire.

  6. 6. Prevent slips and falls

    You have certain legal responsibilities to ensure that anyone on your property is reasonably safe. Inspect your property regularly and keep up with snow and ice removal on and around your property, including your roof.

    To learn more about liability insurance and other ways you can protect your home and family, contact your local Financial Advisor.

Préparez votre maison pour l’hiver en posant six gestes simples

Tout propriétaire devrait préparer sa maison pour l’hiver avant que la saison froide ne commence vraiment. Voici six travaux simples et rapides que vous pouvez effectuer afin de préparer votre maison pour l’hiver.

  1. 1. Nettoyez vos gouttières

    L’obstruction des gouttières favorise la formation de barrières de glace qui peuvent endommager les gouttières et les bardeaux et exposer votre toit aux fuites d’eau.

    Utilisez une échelle pour monter prudemment jusqu’à hauteur du toit et enlevez les débris. Il n’est pas nécessaire de ramasser toutes les fines particules. L’important, c’est de vous assurer que rien n’empêche l’écoulement de l’eau et qu’il n’y a pas d’eau stagnante dans les gouttières.

  2. 2. Fermez les robinets extérieurs

    Les températures froides peuvent faire en sorte que les tuyaux à l’intérieur de votre maison gèlent et éclatent, entraînant d’importants dégâts d’eau.

    Repérez et fermez tout robinet d’arrêt menant aux robinets extérieurs et laissez l’eau s’écouler. C’est aussi une bonne idée de vider les tuyaux intérieurs dans les pièces non chauffées de votre maison, comme le grenier.

  3. 3. Testez vos détecteurs de fumée et de monoxyde de carbone

    Peu importe le temps de l’année, il est toujours judicieux de tester vos détecteurs de fumée et de monoxyde de carbone pour vous assurer que les piles fonctionnent. L’efficacité des détecteurs diminue au fil du temps; il faut donc les remplacer après cinq ans d’utilisation.

  4. 4. Inspectez les coupe-froids

    Des fissures ou des ouvertures autour des portes et le calfeutrage autour des fenêtres peuvent causer la perte de chaleur et entraîner la hausse de la facture d’électricité. Si vous constatez des problèmes, engagez un professionnel ou effectuez les réparations nécessaires si vous en avez l’expertise.

  5. 5. Faites inspecter et nettoyer votre cheminée

    Si vous avez un appareil de chauffage au bois ou un foyer, faites-le inspecter et nettoyer par un inspecteur agréé pour réduire les risques d’incendie.

  6. 6. Prévenez les glissades et les chutes

    Vous avez certaines obligations légales, dont celle d’assurer raisonnablement la sécurité des personnes qui se trouvent sur votre propriété. Inspectez régulièrement votre propriété et assurez le déneigement et le déglaçage des lieux, y compris votre toiture.

    Pour en savoir plus sur l’assurance de la responsabilité civile et sur d’autres moyens de protéger votre maison et votre famille, communiquez avec votre représentant.