The simpler way to the most comprehensive water damage insurance.

For some Canadians, water is a way of life. For others, it’s changed their way of life. Over the last few years, extreme weather and flooding have become more frequent, more severe and so has the cost to homeowners. It’s a trend we expect will continue.

Prior to 2015, Canadian homeowners were unable to buy insurance to protect their home and belongings from overland flooding. There was a clear and immediate need for proper insurance coverage for all Canadians, even those most at risk.

Our Comprehensive Water coverage protects you against sudden and accidental water damage.* Available for homeowners in Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan and Yukon, it provides coverage for water damage caused by:

  • Water, septic or sewer backups
  • Flooding from an overflow of a creek, river or lake
  • Accumulation of water from heavy rainfall and extreme storms
  • Storm surge/waves from storm or hurricane

Other changes from our previous water coverage include:

  • All-in-one coverage: Consolidates all water coverage options, making it easy.
  • Personalized coverage: The amount of your coverage is tailored to your unique home.
  • Flexible deductible: Instead of paying a flat-dollar amount, your deductible will be a percentage of your claim amount from 2% to 35%, with a $1,000 minimum.
  • No obligation to rebuild in the event of total loss: If your home is damaged beyond repair, you receive the actual rebuilding cost with materials of similar quality up to your insurance limit, with no deduction for depreciation. You can also choose to rebuild at another location.
  • Landscaping coverage: Coverage to replace outdoor trees, shrubs and plants.
  • Loss prevention reimbursement: Up to $5,000 for flood prevention measures you take to protect your property if a civil authority issues an immediate flood warning.

Discounts for water loss prevention

If you have water loss prevention devices, like a backflow prevention device installed on the sewer or septic line, or a secondary sump pump with an automatic backup, you may be eligible for a discount. Before you install one, check with your city or licensed plumber to confirm which devices are recommended for your area and what would work best for your home.

Is your home at risk of water damage?

Learn more about how to stop water damage to your home by visiting water.cooperators.ca. Take a short risk assessment to determine the water risk in your area and get tips to prevent damage.

*Some conditions may apply, contact your local Financial Advisor for more details

L’assurance contre les dégâts d’eau la plus complète, en toute simplicité.

Avant 2015, les propriétaires au Canada ne pouvaient pas assurer leur maison contre les inondations terrestres. Grâce à l’avenant Eau multirisque, vous êtes couvert contre les dégâts d’eau* soudains et accidentels causés par un refoulement d’eau, d’égout ou de fosse septique, ou par l’infiltration d’eau par les portes ou les fenêtres.

Maintenant offerte aux propriétaires occupants en Alberta, en Colombie-Britannique, en Nouvelle-Écosse et en Ontario, notre assurance contre les inondations et les dégâts d’eau couvre tout le monde, même ceux qui sont exposés à des risques élevés de dégâts d’eau causés par :

  • un refoulement d’eau, d’égout ou de fosse septique;
  • une inondation résultant du débordement d’un ruisseau, d’une rivière ou d’un lac;
  • une accumulation d’eau à la suite de pluies abondantes ou d’une tempête violente;
  • une onde de tempête ou des vagues causées par une tempête ou un ouragan.

Voici certaines des caractéristiques uniques d’Eau multirisque :

  • Protection complète et tout-en-un : Eau multirisque combine toutes les options d’assurance contre les dégâts d’eau, ce qui vous simplifie la vie.
  • Protection personnalisée : votre montant d’assurance est adapté à votre maison.
  • Franchise flexible : au lieu de verser un montant fixe, vous payez une franchise qui est calculée selon l’ampleur des dommages (de 2 à 35 % de la valeur des dommages, sous réserve d’un minimum de 1 000 $).
  • Aucune obligation de reconstruire en cas de perte totale : si votre maison est endommagée au point d’être irréparable, vous recevrez un paiement correspondant au coût de reconstruction réel (avec des matériaux de qualité similaire), jusqu’à concurrence du montant d’assurance, sans déduction pour la dépréciation. Vous pouvez aussi choisir de reconstruire à un autre emplacement.
  • Protection pour l’aménagement paysager : vous bénéficiez d’une garantie pour remplacer vos arbres, arbustes et plantes extérieurs.
  • Remboursement des mesures de prévention des sinistres : vous pouvez toucher jusqu’à 5 000 $ si vous prenez des mesures de prévention pour protéger votre propriété lorsqu’un avis d’inondation imminente est émis par une autorité civile.

Rabais pour la prévention des dégâts d’eau

Si vous avez des systèmes de prévention des dégâts d’eau, comme un dispositif antirefoulement pour les égouts ou les fosses septiques, ou une pompe de puisard munie d’une source d’alimentation automatique, vous pourriez être admissible à un rabais. Avant d’installer l’un de ces dispositifs, vérifiez avec votre municipalité ou votre plombier qualifié pour confirmer lesquels sont recommandés pour votre quartier ou conviennent mieux à votre résidence.

Votre maison est-elle exposée aux dégâts d’eau?

Renseignez-vous sur la prévention des dégâts d’eau en consultant le site eau.cooperators.ca. Répondez à un court questionnaire pour déterminer le risque de dégâts d’eau dans votre secteur et obtenez des conseils pour prévenir les dommages.
*Certaines conditions s’appliquent. Communiquez avec votre représentant pour en savoir plus.