Rob Wesseling

Rob Wesseling

President and Chief Executive OfficerCEO

The Co-operators Group Limited
Guelph, Ontario

Since joining The Co-operators in 1997, Rob has held increasingly senior leadership roles within the group of companies, culminating with his appointment as President and Chief Executive Officer of The Co-operators Group Limited on December 1, 2016. From 2007 until 2016, he was Chief Operating Officer of The Sovereign General and, in November 2011, assumed the additional role of Executive Vice President, National Property and Casualty (P&C) for all P&C operations across The Co-operators group of companies.

Rob has been instrumental in leading flood resiliency efforts in Canada and engaging all levels of government, the academic community and various industries, to develop a complete solution for Canadians. In this capacity, Rob is a founding director and member of Partners for Action Advisory Board and a board member of the Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction.

Rob is also a board member of the International Cooperative and Mutual Insurance Federation, where he sits on the Executive Committee, and is a member of the Insurance Development Forum Steering Committee. He is also a member of the Business Council of Canada and a board member of the Canadian Co-operative Investment Fund. Rob holds a B.A. with distinction in Theoretical Mathematics and MSc. of Applied Statistics from the University of Guelph where he graduated in 1996. He obtained a Chartered Insurance Professional designation in 1999.

Rob lives with his family in Guelph, Ontario and is an active volunteer in the local community, coaching youth sport and mentoring young athletes.

Rob Wesseling

Rob Wesseling

Président et chef de la direction

Groupe Co-operators limitée
Guelph, Ontario

Depuis qu’il s’est joint à Co-operators en 1997, M. Wesseling a progressivement gravi les échelons au sein du groupe de sociétés avant d’être nommé président et chef de la direction du Groupe Co-operators limitée le 1er décembre 2016. Il a occupé le poste de chef de l’exploitation de La Souveraine de 2007 à 2016. En novembre 2011, il s’est également vu confier le rôle de premier vice-président, Assurance IARD à l’échelle nationale pour l’ensemble des activités d’assurance de dommages du groupe de sociétés Co-operators.

M. Wesseling a joué un rôle déterminant dans la promotion de la résilience contre les inondations au pays en mobilisant tous les paliers de gouvernement, la communauté universitaire et divers secteurs d’activité pour mettre au point une solution exhaustive pour les Canadiens. Il est directeur fondateur et membre du conseil consultatif du réseau Partenaires pour l’action et est membre de l’Institut de prévention des sinistres catastrophiques.

Par ailleurs, M. Wesseling est également membre du conseil d’administration de la Fédération internationale des coopératives et mutuelles d’assurance, où il siège au comité de direction, et fait partie du comité directeur de l’Insurance Development Forum. Il est aussi membre du Conseil canadien des affaires et du Fonds canadien d’investissement coopératif. M. Wesseling est titulaire d’un baccalauréat (avec distinction) en mathématiques théoriques et d’une maîtrise en statistiques appliquées de l’Université de Guelph, où il a été diplômé en 1996. De même, il a obtenu le titre de Professionnel d’assurance agréé (PAA) en 1999.

M. Wesseling vit avec sa famille à Guelph, en Ontario, où il agit à titre de bénévole dans la collectivité comme entraîneur sportif et mentor de jeunes athlètes.