community advisory panel (CAP)

We began establishing a number of Community Advisory Panels (CAPs) across Canada in 2004 to create a forum where we interact with community members. The advice and recommendations we receive have a direct impact on our product and service offerings, as well as on matters relating to our community involvement. We have established CAPs in Calgary, Guelph, Ottawa and Moncton. Each CAP is comprised of 10-14 knowledgeable community members from various industry sectors such as health care, education, business, the environment and co-operatives. Each CAP meets twice a year. Some examples of topics discussed to date include:

  • insurance fraud
  • community safety
  • sustainability
  • emergency preparedness
  • reinsurance
  • affordability and availability of insurance
  • pandemics and global warming
  • mental health strategies

The goal of the CAP program is to gather outside ideas and insights to help improve how we do business; develop credible, well-informed advocates; and improve two-way communication with clients and the community.

The mission of The Co-operators CAP program is to provide a forum for community members to comment, provide advice and make recommendations to Co-operators senior management on any matter relating to the products and services of The Co-operators and on any interactions between The Co-operators, the community and consumers. For example, our Community Guard product, which provides insurance to the non-profit sector, was created to address needs identified by our Moncton CAP.

We plan on continuing to use these panels to solicit feedback from our communities on what our clients need from us.

CAP logo Fre

En 2004, nous avons commencé à mettre sur pied des comités consultatifs communautaires (CCC) aux quatre coins du pays afin de créer un cadre nous permettant d’interagir avec les membres des collectivités. Les conseils et les recommandations qui s’en dégagent ont une incidence directe sur notre offre de produits et de services, de même que sur notre engagement communautaire. Nous avons un CCC à Calgary, à Guelph, à Ottawa et à Moncton. Chaque CCC compte de 10 à 14 membres bien informés de la collectivité provenant de divers secteurs, notamment la santé, l’éducation, les affaires, l’environnement et les coopératives. Deux fois par année, chacun des CCC se réunit dans le but de recueillir les idées et perspectives d’ailleurs afin d’aider l’entreprise à améliorer ses processus et ses projets communautaires.

L’objectif des CCC consiste à recueillir des idées et des observations de l’extérieur pour améliorer notre façon de mener nos activités, former des défenseurs crédibles et bien informés, et promouvoir un dialogue ouvert avec les clients et la collectivité.

La mission des CCC de Co-operators consiste à incarner nos valeurs coopératives et notre participation à la vie de la collectivité en offrant à ses membres une tribune pour émettre ses commentaires sur nos relations publiques et nos projets dengagement communautaire, Ainsi, notre produit Garde-collectivité, qui offre de l’assurance aux organismes sans but lucratif, a été créé pour répondre à des besoins relevés par notre CCC de Moncton.

Nous comptons continuer d’utiliser ces comités pour recueillir les observations des collectivités sur les besoins de nos clients.