Co-operators Life Insurance Company

Complaint resolution process

Step 1: Let us know

Talk to your financial advisor or a representative from your advisor’s office. They know you best and can often resolve issues quickly.

Or, you may contact the appropriate client service team:

Group Benefits
(Health, Dental and Disability)
1-800-667-8164 Group_client_services@cooperators.ca
Group Retirement Services 1-866-469-2643 Coop@acs-hro.com
Individual Life Insurance 1-800-454-8061 Phs_individual_life@cooperators.ca
Wealth Management 1-877-347-6341 Wealth_mgmt@cooperators.ca

Step 2: Escalate your complaint

If you’re not satisfied following a discussion with your advisor’s office or the client service team, ask to whom you can escalate your concern. Depending on the product or service, you may be referred to a manager or an appeals process.

Step 3: Contact the Ombuds Office

If your concern remains unresolved after speaking with a manager, you may contact the Ombuds Office:

Mail: Ombuds Office
The Co-operators Group Limited
130 Macdonell Street
Guelph, ON N1H 6P8
E-mail: ombuds@cooperators.ca
Phone: 1-877-720-6733
Fax: 1-519-823-9944

After the Ombuds Office review, you’ll receive a written response, except in the case where a simple complaint or concern can be cleared up over the phone. We complete most investigations within 30 business days of receiving your complaint and all supporting documentation. If we can’t meet this deadline, we will contact you and tell you why we need extra time and when you can expect a response.

The written response from the Ombuds Office is considered the company’s final position.

Independent assistance

If we are not able to resolve your concerns to your satisfaction and you want to pursue the matter further, you may contact the OmbudService for Life & Health Insurance (OLHI). The OLHI is an independent service that offers recourse to consumers who have not been able to resolve their complaint by dealing with their insurance company.

For clients in Quebec, the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) also provides support. The AMF is a regulatory body established by the provincial government of Quebec.

Regulation of complaint handling procedures

We have filed our complaint handling procedures with the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC), an independent government body that regulates consumer provisions relating to financial services, including insurance. If you have a specific concern regarding our complaint process or a specific consumer provision, you may raise these concerns with the FCAC. The FCAC can provide tips on how to make a complaint; however, they do not get involved in individual disputes.

Co-operators Compagnie d’assurance-vie

Processus de résolution des plaintes

Étape 1 : Informez-nous du problème

Communiquez avec votre conseiller en sécurité financière ou un représentant du bureau de votre conseiller. Il vous connaît bien et peut souvent résoudre rapidement les problèmes.

Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le service à la clientèle pertinent :

Assurance collective
(assurance maladie,
soins dentaires et invalidité)
1-800-667-8164 Group_client_services@cooperators.ca
Services collectifs de retraite 1-866-469-2643 Coop@acs-hro.com
Assurance vie individuelle 1-800-454-8061 Phs_individual_life@cooperators.ca
Gestion de patrimoine 1-877-347-6341 Wealth_mgmt@cooperators.ca

Étape 2 : Adressez-vous aux échelons supérieurs

Si vous n’êtes pas satisfait à la suite de l’entretien avec votre conseiller ou avec le service à la clientèle, demandez à qui vous pouvez vous adresser. Selon le produit ou le service en cause, votre dossier pourrait être soumis à un directeur ou acheminé vers le processus d’appel.

Étape 3 : Communiquez avec le bureau de l’ombudsman

Si votre problème n’est toujours pas résolu après l’entretien avec un directeur, vous pouvez communiquer avec le bureau de l’ombudsman.

Adresse : Bureau de l’ombudsman
Groupe Co-operators limitée
130 Macdonell Street
Guelph, ON N1H 6P8
Courriel : ombuds@cooperators.ca
Téléphone : 1-877-720-6733
Télécopieur : 1-519-823-9944

Après l’étude de la plainte, le bureau de l’ombudsman vous fera parvenir une réponse écrite, sauf si la plainte ou le problème peut être réglé par téléphone. Nous réalisons la plupart des enquêtes dans les 30 jours ouvrables suivant la réception de la plainte et de tous les documents justificatifs. Si nous ne pouvons pas respecter cette échéance, nous communiquerons avec vous pour vous indiquer la raison du délai et la date prévue de la réponse.

La réponse rédigée par le bureau de l’ombudsman présente la position définitive de la société.

Recours externe

Si nous ne sommes pas en mesure de résoudre votre problème à votre entière satisfaction et que vous voulez poursuivre l’affaire, vous pouvez communiquer avec l’ Ombudsman des assurances de personnes (OAP). L’OAP, un organisme indépendant, offre des recours aux consommateurs qui n’ont pas réussi à résoudre leur plainte en traitant directement avec leur compagnie d’assurance.

L'Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) offre aussi du soutien aux clients du Québec. L’AMF est un organisme de contrôle établi par le gouvernement du Québec.

Réglementation des procédures de traitement des plaintes

Nous avons soumis nos procédures de traitement des plaintes à l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC), un organisme gouvernemental indépendant qui réglemente les dispositions liées aux services financiers qui visent les consommateurs, y compris l’assurance. Si vous avez une préoccupation concernant notre processus de traitement des plaintes ou une disposition visant les consommateurs, vous pouvez vous adresser à l’ACFC. L’ACFC peut vous donner des conseils sur la façon de déposer une plainte. Toutefois, elle ne s’implique pas dans les différends individuels.