Annuities: guaranteed income

An annuity provides you with a regular, fixed income payment for life or a set term of your choice, usually paid monthly. Annuities are granted at a minimum age of 50 and a maximum age of 90. You may purchase an annuity using funds you’ve accumulated in most savings plans.

There are several types of annuities available, but in most cases, your income payment amount is based on:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Life expectancy
  • Interest rates
  • Funding amount
  • Type of guarantee

Annuities are a simple option that frees you from having to make difficult investment decisions. And, best of all, you can have a guaranteed income for the rest of your life.

Types of annuities

Single life annuity

This annuity provides fixed regular payments for as long as you live with payments stopping upon your death. While this annuity provides the maximum income, it may not be suitable for individuals who want payments to continue to a spouse or beneficiary.

Joint and last survivor life annuity

This joint and last survivor life annuity is based on two lives. It will provide income for your lifetime and, upon your death, your spouse’s lifetime.

Normally, pension plans are set up to provide a retirement income to both the employee and the spouse. Therefore, a joint life annuity must be selected unless the spouse (and the employee in certain provinces) signs a spousal waiver. This is also the case for locked-in RRSP funds.

Life with guarantee period annuity

A guarantee period of 5, 10 or 15 years is available for both single life, joint- and last-survivor annuities. This option provides a guaranteed income for the longer of either your lifetime or the guarantee period.

Term Certain Annuity

This annuity provides fixed regular payments for the period you select, for a minimum of five years.

While this annuity provides stable income for a guaranteed period, it may not be suitable for individuals who will live a long time or want to continue payments to a spouse.

Rentes: revenu garanti

Une rente vous assure un revenu régulier et fixe toute votre vie durant ou pendant la période de votre choix, en général sur une base mensuelle. Vous pouvez bénéficier des rentes si vous avez entre 50 et 90 ans. Vous pouvez souscrire une rente au moyen des fonds que vous avez cumulés dans la plupart des régimes d’épargne.

Il existe plusieurs types de rentes, mais dans la plupart des cas, le montant des versements que vous toucherez est établi en fonction des éléments suivants :

  • Âge
  • Sexe
  • Espérance de vie
  • Taux d’intérêt
  • Capital constitutif
  • Type de garantie

Une rente constitue une option simple qui vous permet de ne pas avoir à prendre de décisions difficiles en matière de placement. De plus, cette formule vous assure de toucher un revenu garanti pour le reste de votre vie.

 

Types de rentes

Rente viagère unique

Cette forme de rente procure des versements fixes et réguliers votre vie durant et prend fin le jour de votre décès. Bien que cette formule de rente procure le revenu le plus élevé, elle ne convient pas forcément aux personnes qui veulent que leur conjoint ou leur bénéficiaire touche les versements après leur décès.

Rente viagère réversible

Ce contrat de rente est fondé sur deux têtes. Il vous procure un revenu votre vie durant, puis, à votre décès, les paiements continuent d’être versés à votre conjoint jusqu’à son décès.

Normalement, les régimes de retraite sont constitués de façon à fournir un revenu de retraite à l’employé et à son conjoint. Ainsi, c’est la rente viagère réversible qui doit être privilégiée, à moins que le conjoint (et l’employé dans certaines provinces) ne signe la renonciation du conjoint. Il en est de même dans le cas des fonds REER immobilisés.

Rente viagère assortie d’une période de garantie

La rente viagère unique ou réversible peut être assortie d’une période garantie de 5, 10 ou 15 ans. Ainsi, grâce à cette option, la rente vous fournit un revenu garanti votre vie durant ou pendant la période garantie, selon la plus longue des deux éventualités.

Rente certaine

La rente certaine prévoit des versements fixes et réguliers pendant une période déterminée d’au moins cinq ans.

Bien qu’elle procure un revenu stable pendant une période garantie, elle pourrait ne pas convenir au rentier qui vivra longtemps ou qui souhaite que la rente continue d’être versée à son conjoint après son décès.