Benefits of segregated funds

Guarantee on principal investment
We know that investment returns are important, but so is your financial security. After all, nobody wants to lose money. With segregated funds you can reduce the effects of losses associated with market fluctuations because your principal investment, as well as any additional deposits, have a guarantee.

Leave a legacy to your family

After someone dies, their estate may be subject to probate or legal validation of the will. Probate and estate administration fees can be as much as 1.5% of the estate in some provinces. During probate, assets are frozen and the will is public property for all to view.
When you name a beneficiary, you bypass probate and save up to 1.5% of your assets. You also relieve your family of the potential burden of a lengthy and complicated process involving lawyers and government red tape just to access funds.

Protection from creditors

When you name a family member as a beneficiary, you have potential creditor protection in the case of unforeseen bankruptcy or litigation. This makes segregated funds especially attractive to a small business owner.

Lifetime income

You have the option of converting your accumulated funds into a lifetime annuity, which would guarantee you an income for as long as you live.

Avantages des fonds distincts

Garantie du capital investi
Le rendement des placements est important, mais votre sécurité financière l’est également. Après tout, personne n’a envie de perdre de l’argent. Grâce aux fonds distincts, vous pouvez atténuer l’effet des pertes liées aux fluctuations du marché parce que votre capital investi et tous vos dépôts supplémentaires sont visés par une garantie.

Léguer un héritage à votre famille
Après un décès, la succession d’une personne peut être soumise à des frais d’homologation, qui sert à déterminer la validité du testament. Dans certaines provinces, les frais d’homologation ou d’administration d’une succession peuvent facilement s’élever à 1,5 % de la valeur de la succession. Durant le processus d’homologation, les actifs sont immobilisés. De plus, le testament est du domaine public.
Quand vous désignez un bénéficiaire, vous évitez la procédure d’homologation et épargnez jusqu’à concurrence de 1,5 % de vos actifs. Vous libérez également la famille du fardeau que représente le processus long et complexe qui met en cause des avocats et la bureaucratie gouvernementale à la seule fin d’accéder aux fonds.

Protection contre les créanciers
Quand vous désignez un membre de votre famille comme bénéficiaire, vous bénéficiez d’une protection contre des créanciers potentiels en cas de faillite ou de litige. Les fonds distincts sont de ce fait particulièrement attrayants pour les propriétaires de PME.

Revenu viager
Vous pouvez convertir les fonds en une rente viagère, ce qui vous garantit un revenu pour le reste de votre vie.