Planning your retirement investments

During retirement, most people need about 60% to 80% of their pre-retirement earnings to maintain their current lifestyle. Although you may want to retire at age 55, the average age of voluntary retirement is about 62. The average life expectancy in Canada is about age 78, with more and more individuals living well beyond 90. Based on these numbers, after you receive your last regular paycheque, you are still going to need a source of income for at least 20 more years.

You need to save enough money during your working years to create an annual income stream in retirement. You are more likely to achieve your preferred retirement lifestyle if you take the time to set your goals, make a plan and commit to regular deposits. Before you can determine how much extra you need to save, you need to consider the sources of income that will be available to you in retirement.

Three possible sources of retirement income are:

  • Government plans including the Canada/Quebec Pension Plan (C/QPP) and Old Age Security (OAS)
  • Company plans such as your Group Retirement Savings Plan
  • Personal savings including your Registered Retirement Savings Plans (RRSPs), Tax-Free Savings Accounts (TFSAs) and other non-registered personal investments

An ideal asset mix will consist of your group plan, personal RRSPs and TFSAs, plus other income. Your group plan could make an important contribution to your retirement income; the size of that contribution is up to you.

Planification des placements en vue de la retraite

La plupart des retraités doivent pouvoir compter sur environ 60 à 80 % de leur revenu de préretraite afin de maintenir leur mode de vie. Vous rêvez peut-être de partir à la retraite à 55 ans, mais l’âge moyen du départ volontaire à la retraite est de 62 ans. L’espérance de vie moyenne au Canada est d’environ 78 ans, mais de plus en plus de gens vivent plus de 90 ans. C’est donc dire qu’après avoir reçu votre dernier chèque de paie, vous aurez encore besoin d’un revenu pendant au moins 20 ans.

Vous devez épargner suffisamment pendant vos années actives pour générer chaque année des revenus de retraite. Vous aurez plus de chances de goûter à la retraite dont vous rêvez si vous prenez le temps d’établir vos objectifs, de préparer un plan et de vous engager à verser régulièrement des cotisations. Avant de fixer le montant des économies nécessaires, considérez d’abord les sources de revenu dont vous disposerez à la retraite.

Il y a trois sources de revenu de retraite :

  • Les régimes publics, comme le Régime de pension du Canada (RPC), le Régime de rentes du Québec (RRQ) et la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV)
  • Les régimes de retraite offerts par les entreprises, comme votre régime de retraite collectif
  • Les régimes d’épargne personnelle, notamment le régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite (REER), le compte d’épargne libre d’impôt (CELI) et les autres placements personnels non enregistrés.

Idéalement, vos revenus de retraite devraient provenir d’un régime collectif, de votre REER personnel, de votre CELI et d’autres sources de revenu. Votre régime collectif pourrait constituer une part importante de vos revenus de retraite; le montant en question ne dépend que de vous.