Why join a group retirement savings plan?

Group savings plans are one of the best ways to save for your retirement. Registered plans, such as Group RRSPs and pension plans, enable you to save consistent amounts over a long period of time, a technique known as dollar-cost averaging. Along with the same tax advantages as a personal RRSP, group retirement plans offer the following benefits:

  • Payroll deductions for immediate tax benefits
  • Employer contributions enhance your personal contribution amounts
  • Preferred management fees on pooled funds
  • Online account access
  • Friendly toll-free call centre
  • Educational sessions

Contributions are tax deductible and instant

If you are contributing to a registered plan by payroll deductions, you can arrange with your employer to have the contributions invested on a before-tax basis; the contribution amount will be deducted from your gross pay before tax is calculated. This allows you to receive immediate tax relief, so you don’t have to wait until you file your tax return to receive a tax benefit. Payroll deduction also provides the benefits of dollar-cost-averaging.

Low minimum contribution

The sooner you start saving, and the more often you save, the better. Time works to your advantage, which is why we have low minimum contribution amounts. You should, of course, set goals and save as much as you can, but starting as soon as possible is the key! Paying yourself first through payroll deductions is an easy, painless way to save conveniently and quickly.

Professional investment management

The investment funds available through your plan are managed by experienced, professional investment managers. They understand and manage the bonds and stocks so you don’t have to. Some of these elite money managers are only available through a group plan arrangement.

Strength in numbers

Interest rates and investment management fees are based on the combined purchasing power of your group plan. You are ensured competitive rates that are almost always better than when you purchase them on your own. These benefits are passed directly to you and can have an impressive impact on your long-term growth.

Other benefits

You can name a beneficiary to receive your group plan assets in the event of your death. This provides for the assets to pass directly to your beneficiary, thus bypassing the probate process and fees that might otherwise apply.

Group plans may also offer creditor protection. This means that your group plan assets may be protected from anyone bringing a legal claim against you for money you owe. Owners, entrepreneurs, professionals or others who have concerns about the personal liability might welcome the creditor protection offered by a group plan contract.

Access at any time

You have 24-hour access to your group plan account through our secure Web services. After you enrol in the plan, you will receive a letter outlining how to use our Web services, and your password will be mailed separately. You’ll receive statements at least annually, depending on your plan, and you always have access to our customer contact centre.

Your rights and responsibilities

As a plan member, you have the right to access information about the nature and features of the plan.

You are also responsible for:

Avantages du régime d’épargne-retraite collectif

Le régime d’épargne collectif est l’un des meilleurs moyens d’épargner en vue de la retraite. Les régimes enregistrés, comme les REER collectifs et les régimes de retraite, vous permettent de verser régulièrement des cotisations sur une longue période, et de profiter ainsi de la méthode des achats périodiques par sommes fixes. En plus des avantages fiscaux que procure le REER personnel, le régime d’épargne-retraite collectif offre les avantages suivants :

  • Avantages fiscaux immédiats, grâce aux retenues salariales
  • Cotisations patronales s’ajoutant à vos cotisations personnelles
  • Frais de gestion préférentiels
  • Accès en ligne à votre compte
  • Centre d’appel courtois et numéro sans frais
  • Séances d’information

Cotisations libres d’impôt immédiatement

Lorsque vous cotisez à un régime enregistré au moyen de retenues salariales, vous pouvez demander à votre employeur d’effectuer la retenue avant déduction de l’impôt; le montant de la cotisation est déduit de la paie brute, avant que l’impôt ne s’applique. Ainsi, vous n’aurez pas à attendre votre prochaine déclaration de revenus pour profiter de l’avantage fiscal. Les retenues salariales permettent également de tirer parti des achats périodiques.

Cotisations minimales peu élevées

Il est avantageux de commencer à épargner dès que possible et de verser des cotisations le plus souvent possible. Le temps est votre meilleur allié, c’est pourquoi nos cotisations minimales sont peu élevées. Bien sûr, vous devez vous fixer des objectifs et épargner le plus possible, mais l’important, c’est de commencer dès que vous le pouvez! Les cotisations versées par retenues salariales constituent un moyen simple et sans souci d’épargner rapidement.

Gestion professionnelle des placements

Les fonds de placement offerts dans le cadre de votre régime sont gérés par des gestionnaires professionnels et chevronnés. Ils comprennent et gèrent efficacement l’achat et la vente des obligations et des actions, pour que vous n’ayez pas à vous en soucier. Certains de ces gestionnaires prestigieux n’offrent leurs services que dans le cadre d’ententes conclues avec des régimes collectifs.

La force du nombre

Les taux d’intérêt et les frais de gestion sont établis en fonction du pouvoir d’achat de votre régime collectif. Vous êtes donc assuré de jouir de taux concurrentiels qui sont presque toujours plus avantageux que ceux offerts aux épargnants individuels. Vous profitez directement de ces réductions et celles-ci peuvent avoir des retombées importantes sur la croissance de vos placements à long terme.

Autres avantages

Vous pouvez désigner le bénéficiaire de vos avoirs détenus dans le régime collectif, dans l’éventualité de votre décès. Au titre de cette désignation, la totalité de l’actif est versée directement à votre bénéficiaire, ce qui permet d’éviter le processus et les frais d’homologation.

Les régimes collectifs peuvent également offrir une protection contre les créanciers. L’actif que vous détenez dans le régime collectif peut ainsi être protégé contre toute poursuite judiciaire intentée par un créancier afin de recouvrer les sommes que vous lui devez. Les propriétaires d’entreprise, entrepreneurs, professionnels ou autres personnes préoccupées par leur responsabilité civile seront heureux de bénéficier de la protection contre les créanciers offerte au titre du régime collectif.

Accès facile aux données

Grâce à nos services en ligne sécurisés, vous pouvez accéder à votre compte du régime collectif 24 heures sur 24. Après votre adhésion au régime, vous recevrez une lettre vous expliquant comment utiliser nos services en ligne; votre mot de passe sera envoyé par la poste séparément. Vous recevrez des relevés une fois l’an ou plus souvent, selon le régime, et pourrez adresser en tout temps vos questions à notre centre de service à la clientèle.

Vos droits et obligations

À titre de participant du régime, vous avez le droit d’accéder à l’information sur la nature et les caractéristiques du régime.

Vos obligations sont les suivantes :