How does an at-fault accident affect my coverage?

If you get into a car accident and you are found to be the one at fault, there are usually repercussions for your insurance. Here are some options to minimize the damage to your insurance record.

At the accident scene

When you are at the accident scene, it’s typical to want to admit fault even if you are unsure, especially if the other driver is distressed and you want to comfort them. Let the professionals in law enforcement determine if charges will be laid and let your insurance company handle fault determination; a false implication of yourself could needlessly hurt your insurance premiums.

If the other driver is acting abusive or is pestering you for an admission of fault, keep your distance from them until the authorities arrive. Never drive away from the scene of an accident without getting insurance and contact information from the other driver and ensuring that the authorities have been alerted if the situation requires it. If the other driver leaves, write down their licence plate so the authorities can locate them.

How do I know if I am at fault?

Insurance companies assign different levels of fault to each driver involved in the accident. Many times, both drivers are somewhat at fault for the accident, so the insurance companies need to know how to divide the risk. You will get a detailed explanation of the insurance company’s findings.

In Ontario, fault determination is covered by a very detailed set of fault determination rules.

How it affects your premiums

If you are determined to be at fault, you will see a premium increase at renewal, unless you have accident forgiveness on your policy. How much it goes up depends on the situation. You will be informed of these changes once the renewal term is available.

Accident forgiveness

Accident forgiveness is additional coverage you can purchase to protect yourself against premium increases in the event of an at-fault accident. If you have been accident free and licensed for six years, your accident will be forgiven if you have this optional coverage. Accident forgiveness insurance cannot be purchased after an accident has occurred. Some restrictions apply. Must meet eligibility requirements. Not available for all vehicle types.

Quels sont les effets d’un accident avec responsabilité sur mon assurance?

Tout accident d’automobile dont vous êtes jugé responsable a généralement des incidences sur votre assurance. Voici quelques façons de réduire ces incidences sur votre dossier d’assurance.

Sur les lieux de l’accident

Sur les lieux de l’accident, il est fréquent d’admettre sa responsabilité, même si on n’en est pas certain, surtout si l’autre conducteur est bouleversé et qu’on cherche à le réconforter. Laissez les membres des services policiers et votre compagnie d’assurance déterminer qui est responsable; un aveu de responsabilité indu pourrait avoir une incidence négative sur vos primes d’assurance.

Si l’autre conducteur est violent ou vous harcèle pour que vous admettiez que vous êtes responsable de l’accident, gardez vos distances jusqu’à l’arrivée des autorités policières. Ne quittez jamais les lieux de l’accident sans avoir obtenu au préalable les coordonnées et les renseignements d’assurance de l’autre conducteur et sans vous être assuré que les autorités ont été prévenues si la situation l’exige. Si l’autre conducteur quitte les lieux, notez le numéro de sa plaque d’immatriculation, de façon à ce que les autorités puissent le retrouver.

Comment savoir si je suis responsable?

Les compagnies d’assurance accordent un degré de responsabilité différent à chacun des conducteurs impliqués dans l’accident. Très souvent, les deux conducteurs ont chacun leur part de responsabilité dans l’accident; les compagnies d’assurance doivent par conséquent savoir comment se répartir le risque. Vous obtiendrez une explication détaillée des conclusions de l’assureur.

En Ontario, la détermination de la responsabilité est régie par un ensemble de règles très précises.

Quel est l’effet de la responsabilité sur vos primes?

Si vous êtes jugé responsable, la prime de votre police augmentera au prochain renouvellement sauf si elle contient la garantie Amnistie en cas d'accident. L’importance de la hausse varie selon la situation.  Vous serez informé du changement du montant de votre prime dès que la responsabilité sera déterminée.

Pardon en cas d’accident

Le Pardon en cas d’accident est une garantie complémentaire que vous pouvez souscrire pour vous protéger contre les hausses de prime consécutives à des accidents avec responsabilité. Si vous avez cette garantie, détenez votre permis de conduire depuis six ans et n’avez eu aucun accident durant cette période, nous ne tiendrons pas compte de votre accident. La garantie de pardon en cas d’accident ne peut être souscrite après la survenance d’un accident. Certaines restrictions s’appliquent et il y a des critères d’admissibilité à respecter. Ajoutons que cette garantie n’est pas disponible pour tous les types de véhicules.