Answer Centre

Travel emergencies

No one wants to have a medical emergency while on vacation or a business trip, but travel insurance can help make the situation easier to manage.

These days, travel insurance is essential. If you get sick or injured while travelling abroad, government health insurance plans pay only a small fraction of your medical expenses.

Some hospitals may charge thousands of dollars a day, not including doctors' fees or diagnostic services. Without emergency health and medical insurance, you would be responsible for these expenses, so make sure you have the coverage you need before you leave home.

Also, keep in mind that travel insurance does not cover everything; there are certain conditions, exclusions and limitations. Make sure your read over your insurance policy carefully before you travel and talk to your Financial Advisor if you have any questions.

What to do in a travel emergency

Before you leave, it’s a good idea to have a plan laid out as to what you can do.

  1. Program the contact information for the country’s Canadian embassy into your phone. If there is a political upheaval or a natural disaster in the country you’re visiting, contact the embassy to get instructions on what you should do.
  2. If you are travelling alone and have a medical emergency, contact your travel insurance provider and inform them immediately. If you do not have travel insurance for medical expenses, negotiate with the medical facility as to what you can do to get temporary treatment and continue your care in Canada.
  3. If you lose your passport or other crucial travel documents, contact the Canadian embassy.

For more information on travel insurance, talk to your Financial Advisor.

Urgences à l’étranger

Personne ne souhaite composer avec une urgence médicale au cours d’un voyage d’agrément ou d’affaires, mais le cas échéant, l’assurance voyage vous aidera à gérer plus facilement la situation.

De nos jours, l’assurance voyage est essentielle. Si vous tombez malade ou vous vous blessez à l’étranger, votre régime public d’assurance maladie ne vous remboursera qu’une infime partie des frais médicaux.

Or, dans certains hôpitaux, ces frais peuvent atteindre des milliers de dollars par jour, sans compter les honoraires des médecins et les services de diagnostic. Sans l’assurance soins médicaux d’urgence, vous devrez payer vous-même ces frais. Pour avoir l’esprit tranquille, assurez-vous d’être bien protégé avant de quitter la maison.

N’oubliez pas toutefois que l’assurance voyage ne couvre pas tout; certaines conditions, exclusions et limitations s’appliquent. Lisez attentivement votre police d’assurance avant de partir et communiquez avec votre représentant si vous avez des questions.

Que faire en cas d’urgence

Avant de partir, établissez votre plan d’action en cas d’urgence.

  1. Enregistrez dans votre téléphone le numéro de l’ambassade du Canada dans le pays. En cas de troubles politiques ou de catastrophe naturelle dans le pays que vous visitez, communiquez avec l’ambassade pour savoir quoi faire.
  2. Si vous voyagez seul et que vous avez une urgence médicale, communiquez avec votre fournisseur d’assurance voyage et informez-le immédiatement de la situation. Si vous n’avez pas d’assurance voyage couvrant les soins médicaux, demandez à l’établissement de santé de vous donner un traitement temporaire, et poursuivez le traitement au Canada.
  3. Si vous perdez votre passeport ou tout autre document de voyage essentiel, communiquez avec l’ambassade du Canada.

Pour plus de renseignements sur l’assurance voyage, communiquez avec votre représentant.