Segregated Funds – 4 things you need to know

Investment returns are important, but so is financial security. Whether you’re new to investing or looking to diversify your portfolio, segregated funds can help you reach your savings goals with guarantees on your principal investment.

Segregated funds are professionally managed investment funds that pool financial contributions from investors. They can be invested in a variety of products including Registered Retirement Savings Plans, Tax Free Savings Accounts and more.

Here are four things you need to know:

Help protect your money

By investing in segregated funds, you can weather the ups and downs of the financial market because your principal investment, and any other deposits you make, come with strong guarantees. Depending on the level of protection you choose, your principal investment has a guarantee at maturity or death of 75% or 100%.

The benefits of estate planning

Whether you’re getting ready to retire or you’re already there, you can protect your hard-earned money. Segregated funds feature benefits that make estate transfer seamless and easy for your beneficiaries. With segregated funds, your assets can be paid directly to a named beneficiary with no costly probate fees.*

Protection for business owners

If you’re an entrepreneur, you put incredible amounts of time and effort into growing your business. Fortunately, segregated funds may protect your personal savings from creditors.** When you invest in segregated funds through a non-registered or registered account and name a Preferred Beneficiary***, you can potentially secure everything you’ve worked so hard to earn for your family.

Easily accessible

Many Canadians think you need to be 65 years or older to buy segregated funds, but that’s not true. Segregated funds are sold exclusively through life insurance companies, or a licensed insurance advisor, and they’re available for all Canadian adults.

By investing in segregated funds, you can feel secure with powerful guarantees behind your money and take advantage of growth potential to add to your existing investments. You’ll get the capital protection, versatility and privacy that only segregated funds can provide.

What are you saving for? Watch this video to learn more.

Fonds distincts – Quatre choses à savoir

Les taux de rendement sont importants, mais votre sécurité financière l’est tout autant. Que le monde des placements soit nouveau pour vous ou que vous cherchiez à diversifier votre portefeuille, les fonds distincts peuvent vous aider à atteindre vos objectifs d’épargne grâce aux garanties qui protègent le capital investi.

Les fonds distincts sont gérés par des professionnels qui regroupent les placements d’investisseurs. Ils peuvent être investis dans divers produits, notamment les régimes enregistrés d’épargne-retraite et les comptes d’épargne libre d’impôt.

Voici quatre choses à savoir :

Protection de votre argent

En investissant dans un fonds distinct, vous pouvez surmonter les hauts et les bas du marché, puisque le capital investi et les dépôts que vous faites sont assortis de solides garanties. Selon le niveau de protection que vous choisissez, le capital investi est garanti à 75 % ou à 100 % jusqu’à l’échéance du contrat ou au décès.

Avantages de la planification successorale

Que vous prépariez votre retraite ou que vous y soyez déjà, vous pouvez protéger votre épargne durement accumulée. Les fonds distincts sont dotés de caractéristiques avantageuses qui rendent le transfert de patrimoine simple et fluide pour vos ayants droit. Ces fonds prévoient le versement direct des actifs au bénéficiaire désigné, en évitant les frais d’homologation coûteux*.

Protection pour les propriétaires d’entreprise

Si vous êtes un entrepreneur, vous consacrez énormément de temps et d’efforts à la croissance de votre entreprise. Heureusement, les fonds distincts peuvent protéger vos économies personnelles des créanciers**. Lorsque vous investissez dans des fonds distincts par l’entremise d’un compte enregistré ou non enregistré et que vous désignez un bénéficiaire privilégié***, vous pouvez potentiellement protéger ce que vous avez durement acquis pour votre famille.

Accès facile

De nombreux Canadiens croient qu’il faut avoir 65 ans ou plus pour souscrire des parts de fonds distincts, mais ce n’est pas le cas. Les parts de fonds distincts sont vendues exclusivement par les compagnies d’assurance vie ou un conseiller en assurance accrédité, et peuvent être souscrites par tous les Canadiens d’âge adulte.

En investissant dans les fonds distincts, vous avez la tranquillité d’esprit, car vous savez que de solides garanties protègent vos placements et pouvez tirer parti du potentiel de croissance pour bonifier vos placements actuels. Vous obtenez la protection du capital, la souplesse et la confidentialité que seuls les fonds distincts procurent.

Dans quel but épargnez-vous? Visionnez cette vidéo pour en savoir plus.