Why is auto insurance regulated by provincial governments?

The purpose of insurance is to help cover the costs of unpredictable losses. Every year, Canadian insurers pay more than $20 billion for home, auto and commercial claims. The federal government monitors insurance companies to ensure they can cover costs if a disaster were to strike.

This is done through the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI). OSFI administers the Minimum Capital Test, which requires companies to have a certain amount of money or capital on hand for every insurance policy they sell. Like a casino that must cover every chip played on its floor, an insurance company must prove that it can cover every potential claim on its books.

Auto benefits vary across Canada

Auto insurance is mandatory in Canada and closely regulated, particularly in provinces where car insurance is sold by private companies. Every province and territory has its own insurance legislation.

Setting auto rates

Depending on the province, regulators may oversee how insurance companies assess risk, determine prices and handle claims. In provinces without government auto insurance, provincial agencies regulate auto insurance prices.

Provinces and territories determine which factors insurers can and cannot use when setting auto insurance rates. A driver’s age and gender may be considered in certain provinces but not in others. Not only do regulators decide which factors may be used, but also how. Insurers must have their rating rules (systems for classifying risk) approved by regulators and must also receive government approval any time they want to change their rates.

Government regulators approve auto insurance rates

In British Columbia and Manitoba, automobile insurance is provided through government owned corporations. In Saskatchewan, the government insurer provides compulsory auto insurance and private companies are permitted to offer additional extension coverage. In Quebec, the government administers insurance covering minimum limits for bodily injury while property damage coverage is provided by private insurers.

Because each province has its own rules, auto insurance differs from one province to the next. Provincial governments play a major role in determining not only the level of benefits injured motorists may receive through insurance claims, but also what benefits they may purchase outside of the insurance contract. Some provinces allow people to sue for pain and suffering and for economic loss above and beyond their insurance benefits but set limits on these payments. The government also oversees the wording used in auto insurance policies to ensure that standard terminology is used throughout the industry.

Pourquoi l’assurance automobile est-elle réglementée par les gouvernements provinciaux?

L’assurance a pour but d’aider à couvrir les frais liés aux événements imprévisibles. Chaque année, les assureurs canadiens paient plus de 20 milliards de dollars en réclamations d’assurance habitation, automobile et entreprise. Le gouvernement fédéral s’assure que les compagnies d’assurances canadiennes respectent leurs engagements en cas de catastrophe.

Cette supervision incombe au Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF). Le BSIF fait passer le test de capital minimum, qui exige des sociétés d’assurances qu’elles aient à leur disposition une certaine somme d’argent (ou capital) pour chaque police vendue. Tout comme le casino doit couvrir chaque jeton de jeu utilisé, la compagnie d’assurances doit prouver qu’elle est en mesure de couvrir toute réclamation éventuelle.

Les indemnités automobiles varient au Canada

Parce qu’elle est obligatoire au Canada, l’assurance automobile est sévèrement réglementée, surtout dans les provinces où elle est vendue par des sociétés privées. Chaque province et chaque territoire possède ses propres lois en matière d’assurance.

Établissement des primes d’assurance automobile

Dans certaines provinces, des organismes de réglementation supervisent la façon dont les sociétés d’assurances évaluent les risques, déterminent les primes et traitent les réclamations. Dans les provinces dépourvues d’un tel régime, des organismes provinciaux réglementent les primes d’assurance automobile.

Les provinces et les territoires déterminent les facteurs que les assureurs peuvent et ne peuvent pas utiliser pour établir les primes d’assurance automobile. Par exemple, l’âge et le sexe du conducteur sont pris en compte dans certaines provinces uniquement. Les organismes de réglementation décident non seulement des facteurs qui peuvent être utilisés, mais aussi de la façon dont ils le seront. Les assureurs doivent faire approuver leurs règles de tarification (système de classification des risques) auprès des organismes de réglementation et doivent également obtenir l’approbation du gouvernement chaque fois qu’ils souhaitent modifier leurs tarifs.

Les organismes gouvernementaux de réglementation approuvent les primes d’assurance automobile

En Colombie-Britannique et au Manitoba, l’assurance automobile est offerte par des entreprises publiques. En Saskatchewan, l’assureur public se charge de l’assurance auto obligatoire et les entreprises privées peuvent offrir des garanties facultatives. Au Québec, l’assureur public gère l’assurance minimale pour les dommages corporels, tandis que les assureurs privés offrent des produits d’assurance de dommages.

Comme chaque province a ses propres règles, l’assurance automobile diffère d’un endroit à l’autre. Les gouvernements provinciaux jouent un rôle majeur en déterminant les prestations que les conducteurs blessés peuvent toucher grâce à une déclaration de sinistre, mais aussi en déterminant les prestations qu’ils peuvent demander hors de leur contrat d’assurance. Certaines provinces autorisent les particuliers à engager des poursuites pour souffrances et douleurs et pour préjudice financier pour compléter leurs indemnités d’assurance, mais elles établissent la limite de ces versements. Le gouvernement supervise également le libellé des polices d’assurance automobile pour s’assurer que l’ensemble du secteur utilise la même terminologie.