Simple ways to travel safer

Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, remember to take a few safety tips with you.

Immunizations

If you are going to an exotic location to unwind, minimize the chance of illness in advance by going to your family doctor and asking them for the necessary immunizations. For information on what you could expect, the Canadian government regularly posts health and safety warnings for locations around the globe.

Required immunizations

Some countries require that you have certain immunizations before they will allow you in the country. Check the country's official website for travelers to make sure that you are up to date with your shots, and find out what documentation you need to provide when entering the country as proof of immunization. You can also check the Government of Canada’s recommendations for travel vaccinations.

Travel documents

Canadians now require a passport for travel to most countries, including the United States. To accommodate the increased demand for passports, Passport Canada has relaxed the rules on who can be a guarantor. They now can be a Canadian citizen who holds a passport who has known you for two years. For more information on how to apply for a passport, visit the Passport Canada website.

While a passport is sufficient to guarantee entry to most countries, others will also require a visa, especially if you are travelling for an extended period of time. Visas are only available from the country you are travelling to and may be applied for through their government websites.

For a full list of travel documents in Canada, visit the Passport Canada website.

Check your travel coverage

Learn more about the wide range of comprehensive travel-related coverage we offer, including:

  • Emergency Hospital & Medical
  • Multi-trip Plans for frequent travellers
  • Trip Cancellation & Interruption coverage
  • Flight Accident
  • Lost, stolen or damaged baggage
  • Accidental Death & Dismemberment

Astuces simples pour voyager en sécurité

Que vous voyagiez pour les affaires ou l’agrément, n’oubliez pas d’apporter ces quelques conseils de sécurité.

Immunisation

Si vous partez pour une destination exotique afin de vous détendre, réduisez les risques de maladie en questionnant d’avance votre médecin de famille sur l’immunisation nécessaire. Pour savoir à quoi vous attendre, lisez les Conseils de santé aux voyageurs que le gouvernement canadien publie régulièrement sur diverses destinations mondiales.

Vaccins exigés

Certains pays exigent que les voyageurs aient reçu certains vaccins avant d’autoriser leur entrée au pays. Visitez le site officiel de voyage du pays pour vous assurer d’avoir reçu tous les vaccins exigés et savoir quels documents vous devrez présenter à votre entrée au pays pour prouver votre immunisation. Vous pouvez également lire les recommandations du gouvernement canadien en matière de vaccination de voyage.

Documents de voyage

Les Canadiens doivent maintenant présenter un passeport dans la plupart des pays qu’ils visitent, dont les États-Unis. En réponse à la demande accrue de passeports, Passeport Canada a assoupli les règles relatives aux répondants. Le répondant peut désormais être un citoyen canadien détenteur de passeport qui vous connaît depuis au moins deux ans. Pour en savoir davantage sur la demande de passeport, rendez-vous sur le site Web de Passeport Canada.

Bien que le passeport suffise pour garantir votre entrée dans la plupart des pays, d’autres exigent également un visa, surtout si vous y faites un long voyage. Un visa ne peut être obtenu que du pays de destination. Pour en faire la demande, rendez-vous dans le site Web gouvernemental de ce pays.

Pour connaître tous les documents de voyage canadiens, visitez le site Web de Passeport Canada.

Assurance voyage

Découvrez la vaste gamme de garanties d’assurance voyage que nous offrons, notamment :

  • Hospitalisation et services médicaux d’urgence
  • Régimes pour voyages multiples à l’intention des grands voyageurs
  • Annulation et interruption de voyage
  • Accident d’avion
  • Bagages volés, perdus ou endommagés
  • Décès et mutilation par accident