Preparing for a home inspection

At The Co-operators, we are focused on working with you to provide coverage options that will fit both your needs and your budget. Part of this process involves periodic property inspections, which we conduct for several reasons: 

  • To help protect you and your family
  • To update your coverage if necessary
  • To ensure that you are receiving all available discounts
  • To help identify hazards that could lead to a loss

What to expect from an inspection

All inspections at The Co-operators are conducted by our Financial Advisors or inspectors that have been authorized by us to evaluate your property at no additional cost to you. Here’s what to expect:  

  • A representative from The Co-operators, or an authorized third-party inspector, will contact you to arrange a convenient time to conduct the inspection. Appropriate identification will be provided on the day of the appointment.
  • The representative will inspect your home’s heating system. This includes the tank, fuel line burner and any other parts that are relevant to the inspection.
  • A full evaluation of your property will be completed during the visit. This includes measuring your home, inspecting any outside buildings and assessing the electrical, heating and plumbing systems as well as any wood burning appliances. For ease of interpretation, they may take photographs.
  • If your home is heated by oil, ensure your oil tank is accessible by removing any items that may be stored near the tank. For optimal safety, proper air circulation and leak detection should be present.

Once your inspection has been completed, one of our insurance specialists will contact you to discuss the outcome and to answer any questions. Our property inspections are just one of the ways we are working to serve you better.

To learn more about property inspections, contact your Financial Advisor.

Vous préparer à une inspection de votre habitation

Chez Co-operators, nous collaborons avec vous pour vous offrir une protection qui répond à vos besoins et respecte votre budget. Une partie de ce processus consiste à effectuer des inspections périodiques pour : 

  • Assurer votre sécurité et celle de votre famille.
  • Mettre votre protection à jour, au besoin.
  • Nous assurer que vous obtenez tous les rabais auxquels vous avez droit.
  • Déterminer les risques pouvant mener à un sinistre.

Comment se déroule une inspection?

Toutes les inspections effectuées par Co-operators sont menées par nos conseillers en sécurité financière ou par des inspecteurs autorisés – sans frais supplémentaires pour vous. Voici comment une inspection se déroule :  

  • Un représentant de Co-operators ou un inspecteur autorisé communique avec vous pour convenir d’une date. Une preuve d’identité vous est fournie le jour de l’inspection.
  • Le représentant effectue l’inspection du système de chauffage de la maison – réservoir, brûleur, conduites d’alimentation et autres pièces qu’il y a lieu d’inspecter.
  • Une évaluation complète de votre maison est effectuée au cours de la visite. Ceci inclut la prise des mesures de la maison, l’inspection de tous les bâtiments extérieurs et l’évaluation des systèmes électrique, de chauffage et de plomberie, y compris les appareils de chauffage au bois, le cas échéant. Pour une question de facilité, des photos pourraient être prises.
  • Si votre maison est chauffée au mazout, assurez-vous que le réservoir est accessible en retirant tout élément rangé à proximité du réservoir. Pour une sécurité optimale, des dispositifs adéquats de circulation d’air et de détection de fuites devraient être en place.  

Une fois l’inspection terminée, l’un de nos spécialistes communique avec vous pour discuter des résultats et répondre à vos questions. Ces inspections ne sont qu’un moyen parmi tant d’autres de vous offrir un meilleur service.  

Pour en savoir plus sur les inspections, communiquez avec votre conseiller en sécurité financière.