What is the difference between term and permanent life insurance?

When it comes to life insurance, there are two basic choices: term life or permanent life. Consider some of the differences before you decide which is right for you.

Length of coverage

Term insurance provides coverage for a specific period, such as 10, 15, 20, 25 or 30 years, and is renewable after those terms are up. Permanent insurance, which includes Whole Life and Universal Life, is designed to provide lifelong financial protection as long as the policy is in force.

Insurance cost

Initially, term life premiums are generally lower than permanent life premiums. However, term life premiums typically increase upon each renewal, while permanent life premiums stay the same.

Cash value

With most types of permanent insurance, there is a savings component known as cash value; the longer you pay into your policy, the more its cash value grows. You can choose to cash in or borrow against your permanent life policy and use the funds as needed. Term insurance does not accumulate cash value because it doesn’t have a savings component.

Convertible policies

If you have a term insurance policy, you can convert it to a permanent policy. Permanent policies are not convertible.

Death benefits

Both types of insurance provide life insurance protection and pay out for death claims made by beneficiaries. In cases where the policy term expires before the insured person dies, a claim would not be paid. There is lifelong financial protection with permanent life insurance, so beneficiaries will receive the death benefit as long as the policy was in force when the insured person passed away.

Which is best for me?

If you are willing to forego the long-term benefits of building up a cash value in your policy to save on premiums, term insurance is for you. If you want cash value and the other benefits, go with permanent.

Quelle est la différence entre l’assurance vie temporaire et l’assurance vie permanente?

L’assurance vie est offerte sous deux formes : l’assurance vie temporaire et l’assurance vie permanente. Vous devez considérer les différences entre ces deux types d’assurance pour savoir laquelle vous convient.

Durée de l’assurance

L’assurance temporaire procure une protection d’une durée précise, souvent 10, 15, 20, 25 ou 30 ans, et peut être renouvelée à l’échéance. L’assurance permanente, qui comprend l’assurance Vie entièreMC et l’assurance Vie universelleMC, procure une protection financière la vie durant, à condition que la police demeure en vigueur.

Coût de l’assurance

Généralement, les primes d’assurance vie temporaire sont initialement moins élevées que celles de l’assurance vie permanente. Toutefois, les primes d’assurance vie temporaire augmentent habituellement lors de chaque renouvellement, tandis que les primes d’assurance vie permanente demeurent les mêmes.

Valeur de rachat

La plupart des formules d’assurance permanente comportent une composante d’épargne appelée « valeur de rachat »; plus vous payez de primes, plus la valeur de rachat de la police augmente. Vous pouvez racheter la police d’assurance vie permanente ou demander une avance sur police et utiliser les fonds comme bon vous semble. L’assurance vie temporaire n’a pas de valeur de rachat, puisqu’elle ne comporte pas de composante d’épargne.

Polices transformables

Vous pouvez transformer votre police d’assurance temporaire en assurance permanente. Les polices d’assurance permanente ne sont pas transformables.

Capital-décès

Les deux types d’assurance procurent une protection d’assurance vie sous forme de paiement du capital-décès aux bénéficiaires. Si l’échéance de la police précède le décès de l’assuré, aucun capital-décès n’est versé. L’assurance vie permanente procure une protection financière viagère, donc les bénéficiaires touchent le capital-décès si la police est en vigueur au décès de l’assuré.

Quelle formule me convient le mieux?

Si vous êtes prêt à renoncer à l’avantage de la capitalisation de la valeur de rachat pour réaliser des économies sur les primes, l’assurance temporaire répondra à vos besoins. Si vous voulez profiter des avantages de l’assurance permanente, notamment l’accumulation de la valeur de rachat, optez pour l’assurance vie permanente.