Insuring a home-based business

Many Canadians operate businesses from their homes. What they may not know is how this affects their home insurance. If employees or clients are coming into the home for business purposes, the business owner may not be covered under their standard home insurance policy for liability.

Even if you have a part-time home business, you should consider home-based business insurance to make sure you and your business property are covered.

How do I insure my home-based business?

Home-based business coverage is available as an extension of your home insurance. If your business is larger than the typical one to two-person home-based business operation, you may need to consider standard business insurance. Your Financial Advisor will be able to advise you as to what you need for your particular situation.

Benefits of a home-based business insurance plan

home-based business insurance plan will cover your office equipment, business inventory on and off-premise and business interruption insurance if anything were to happen to your home because of an insured loss. Most importantly, it will cover you for additional liability for clients, delivery personnel and employees.

Should I insure my home-based business?

This really depends on what your business activities are. If you have a lot of high-value equipment and no clients or employees coming to your house, it may be less expensive for you to add your equipment to your existing home coverage as an additional endorsement.

If you do work for the government or other high-profile agencies such as working as an author, event organizer, HR consultant, marketing consultant, translator or for a non-profit organization, you may want to consider Errors & Omissions insurance, which is required for some contracts.

If you have visitors to your home for business purposes, or you have to cover business inventory, you’ll want home-based business coverage. If you don’t have these added risks, you probably don’t need it. Your Financial Advisor will be able to advise you on the best course of action.

Home business resources

Assurance pour entreprise à domicile

De nombreux Canadiens exploitent une entreprise à domicile. Ils ne connaissent pas toujours l’incidence de telles activités sur leur assurance habitation. Notamment, il se peut que la police d’assurance habitation standard ne procure pas l’assurance responsabilité nécessaire pour recevoir des employés et des clients à domicile dans le cadre des activités de l’entreprise.

Même si vous n’exploitez votre entreprise qu’à temps partiel, vous devriez considérer l’assurance pour entreprise à domicile pour vous protéger, vous et votre entreprise.

Comment puis-je assurer mon entreprise à domicile?

L’assurance pour entreprise à domicile est offerte comme complément de votre assurance habitation. Si votre entreprise est plus grande que l’entreprise à domicile habituelle, ne comptant généralement qu’un ou deux employés, vous devrez peut-être considérer l’assurance d’entreprise standardVotre représentant de Co-operators pourra vous recommander la protection qui vous convient le mieux.

Avantages de l’assurance pour entreprise à domicile

L’assurance pour entreprise à domicile protège votre matériel de bureau et les stocks entreposés sur les lieux et ailleurs, et comporte l’assurance contre les pertes d’exploitation, qui vous protégera si un sinistre assuré survient à votre domicile Mais avant tout, elle offre une assurance responsabilité complémentaire pour vos clients, les livreurs et vos employés.

Devrais-je assurer mon entreprise à domicile?

Cela dépend entièrement de vos activités commerciales. Si vous avez beaucoup de matériel de valeur, mais que vous ne recevez pas de clients ni d’employés, il peut être plus avantageux pour vous de souscrire un avenant pour faire ajouter le matériel à votre assurance habitation en vigueur.

Si vous faites affaire avec l’État ou d’autres clients de prestige à titre professionnel, notamment comme auteur, organisateur, conseiller en RH, conseiller en marketing, traducteur, ou que vous travaillez pour un organisme à but non lucratif, vous devriez considérer l’assurance responsabilité professionnelle qui est exigée dans certains contrats.

Si vous recevez des visiteurs chez vous dans le cadre de vos activités professionnelles, ou si vous avez des stocks à assurer, vous devriez vous procurer l’assurance pour entreprise à domicile. Si vous n’êtes pas exposé à ces risques, vous n’en avez sans doute pas besoin. Votre représentant d’assurance pourra vous recommander la solution appropriée.