Auto insurance for young drivers

If you have a young driver in your household, you may be wondering at what point they’ll need insurance coverage.

In most provinces, young drivers, who have completed the first stage of the licensing process, are covered free of charge under their parents’ policies, as long as they are listed as a driver. However, requirements do vary by province, so its best to call your Financial Advisor to confirm.

How to save more

Most insurance companies offer discounts for young drivers who pass an approved driver education program, after they are fully licensed. New drivers can also earn discounts as long as they don't have any at-fault accidents or chargeable convictions during their licensing process.

You may save money on premiums by encouraging your child to gain driving experience on your car before they purchase their own. Other ways to save include increasing deductibles and removing unnecessary coverage, such as collision coverage, on older vehicles.

Assurer un jeune conducteur

Si votre famille compte un jeune conducteur, vous vous demandez peut-être quand il aura besoin d’être assuré.

Dans la plupart des provinces, les jeunes conducteurs sont couverts gratuitement par la police de leurs parents lorsqu’ils franchissent le premier stade du processus d'obtention de leur permis, à condition qu'ils soient identifiés comme conducteurs. Les exigences varient d’une province à l’autre, alors communiquez avec votre assureur pour connaître tous les détails.

Pour économiser davantage

La plupart des assureurs offrent un rabais au jeune conducteur qui obtient son permis de conduire après avoir suivi un cours de conduite approuvé. S’il n’est responsable d’aucun accident et coupable d’aucune infraction pendant le processus d’obtention de son permis, le jeune conducteur peut également avoir droit à un rabais sur son assurance.

Vous pouvez économiser sur vos primes en incitant votre enfant à acquérir davantage d’expérience de conduite avec votre voiture avant d’acheter la sienne. De plus, vous épargnerez en augmentant les franchises et en éliminant le paiement de primes inutiles sur des véhicules plus âgés, comme l’assurance collision.