Financial security for both you and The Co-operators

Over the past few years, we’ve all seen countless news items about the negative state of the economy. There seems to be little consensus on how much longer the downturn will last, and how serious the long-term impacts will be.

Despite the industry-wide challenges caused by unprecedented low interest rates and volatile markets, The Co-operators is managing to balance the risk in the global economic environment and take steps towards growth. We’re committed to finding long-term, innovative solutions so we can continue to meet the needs of Canadian communities.

We’re in the business of risk management.

As an insurance company, we are in the business of responding to our clients’ needs and staying strong during times of crisis. Always looking ahead, we started to move our investments to more stable markets long before other companies. We also invest in more conservative investment choices to ensure that we remain financially sound in times of market downturns. As a result, we have remained financially strong during this difficult time.

We have safer investment options.

If you’re thinking about your own investments and financially stability, contact your Financial Advisor and ask about our guaranteed investment products.

We’re Canadian.

As a Canadian-owned company, we’re held to higher standards than insurers in most other parts of the world. Canadian financial regulations are relatively strict in nature; as a result, we aren’t as vulnerable to government deficits or the mortgage crisis affecting foreign-owned insurance companies operating in Canada.

We’re part of a co-op.

Our co-operative values guide the way we do business. Our decisions are based on what’s right and what’s healthy for our clients and communities. We strive to stay in challenging geographic areas, even when our competitors leave, and we work with all levels of government to help create a sustainable operating environment that is beneficial to our clients, our communities and our business.

We’re committed to remaining a stable and dependable source of investment knowledge and insurance products to the Canadian market. Talk to us today or visit our website to read more in our Annual Report.

Sécurité financière pour vous et Co-operators

Au cours des dernières années, la situation difficile de notre économie a régulièrement fait les manchettes. Personne ne peut prédire la durée ou l’impact à long terme de ce ralentissement.

Malgré les défis posés à l’ensemble de l’industrie par la faiblesse sans précédent des taux d’intérêt et par la volatilité des marchés, Co-operators arrive à équilibrer le risque que présente la situation économique mondiale et à prendre de l’expansion. Nous nous engageons à trouver des solutions innovatrices à long terme, de sorte à toujours répondre aux besoins des collectivités canadiennes.

La gestion du risque, on s’y connaît

En tant que compagnie d’assurance, notre raison d’être consiste à répondre aux besoins de notre clientèle et de préserver notre solidité en période de crise. Parce que nous sommes orientés vers l’avenir, nous avons commencé à transférer nos placements dans des marchés plus stables bien avant les autres assureurs. De plus, nous faisons des choix de placement plus prudents pour assurer la stabilité financière de notre entreprise en période de repli. C’est pourquoi nous sommes demeurés solides financièrement malgré ces circonstances difficiles.

Des options de placement plus sûres

Si vous recherchez la stabilité financière pour vos placements, communiquez avec votre conseiller financier pour discuter de nos produits de placement garanti.

Une entreprise canadienne

À titre d’entreprise canadienne, nous sommes tenus de respecter des normes plus sévères que les assureurs établis dans la plupart des autres régions du monde. La réglementation financière canadienne est relativement rigoureuse de nature. Par conséquent, nous sommes moins vulnérables que les compagnies d’assurance étrangères faisant affaire au Canada, qui sont confrontées à des déficits publics ou à une crise hypothécaire.

Une coopérative dont nous faisons partie

Nos valeurs coopératives sont à la base de nos procédés d’affaires. Nos décisions reposent sur le bien-être de nos clients et des collectivités. Nous nous efforçons de demeurer dans les régions difficiles, même lorsque nos concurrents s’en retirent, et nous collaborons avec tous les paliers gouvernementaux afin de créer un contexte d’exploitation durable, et bénéfique pour notre clientèle, nos collectivités et nos activités.

Nous nous engageons à demeurer une source stable et fiable en matière de produits d’assurance et de connaissances sur les placements, pour le marché canadien. Communiquez avec nous dès aujourd’hui ou visitez notre site Web pour lire la suite dans notre rapport annuel.