The Natural Step Canada connection

The Co-operators is proud of our ongoing relationship with The Natural Step Canada, which has been vital to our journey towards becoming a sustainable organization.

Who is The Natural Step Canada?

The Natural Step Canada is a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to education, advisory work and research in sustainable development. Since 1989, they’ve worked with thousands of corporations, municipalities, academic institutions and not-for-profit organizations that have proven that moving strategically toward sustainability leads to new opportunities, reduced costs, and dramatically reduced ecological and social impacts.

Our partnership with The Natural Step

Our strategic partnership with The Natural Step Canada began after our President and CEO Kathy Bardswick and other senior management members heard Dr. Karl-Henrik Robèrt, founder of The Natural Step, speak at the International Cooperative and Mutual Insurance Federation (ICMIF) Annual General Meeting in Singapore in 2005.

Inspired by Dr. Robèrt’s message, The Co-operators started to investigate what it would take for us to move towards sustainability.

In April 2006, The Co-operators invited Dr. Robèrt to deliver the keynote address at its annual general meeting in Montréal, Quebec. During the next year, The Co-operators continued to explore a move towards sustainability, a decision that was formally approved by the Board in June 2007.

Today, we continue to work closely with The Natural Step Canada on many initiatives, and a representative of The Co-operators sits on their board of Directors.

The Natural Step Canada

Co-operators se félicite des liens qu’elle a noués avec l’organisme The Natural Step. Ces relations se sont avérées vitales au cours de son cheminement vers son idéal en matière d’entreprise responsable.

Qu’est-ce que The Natural Step Canada?

The Natural Step Canada est un organisme sans but lucratif axé sur le travail éducatif, consultatif et la recherche dans le domaine du développement durable. Depuis 1989, The Natural Step a travaillé avec des milliers d’entreprises, de municipalités, d’institutions d’enseignement et d’organismes sans but lucratif.Tout ce travail a prouvé que faire un pas stratégique vers le développement durable permet d’attirer de nouvelles opportunités, de réduire les coûts et, à plus forte mesure, l’impact environnemental et social.

Notre partenariat avec The Natural Step

Notre partenariat stratégique avec The Natural Step Canada a pris naissance après que Kathy Bardswick, notre ancienne présidente et chef de la direction, et d’autres dirigeants de l’entreprise ont entendu le discours du Dr Karl-Henrik Robèrt, fondateur de The Natural Step, à l’occasion de l’assemblée générale annuelle de la Fédération internationale des coopératives et mutuelles d’assurance (ICMIF) à Singapour en 2005.

En avril 2006, Co-operators a invité le Dr Robèrt à prononcer le discours thème à l’occasion de son assemblée générale annuelle, qui se tenait à Montréal, au Québec. L’année suivante, Co-operators a continué d’étudier la possibilité de passer au développement durable, et en juin 2007, une décision fut officiellement approuvée par le Conseil d’administration.

Aujourd’hui encore, nous poursuivons notre étroite collaboration avec The Natural Step Canada sur de nombreux projets. De plus, un représentant de Co-operators siège à son conseil d’administration.